We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice style, good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #38 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice style, good service.”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We recommend this hotel for the good service, excellent breakfast and nice location a bit outside Ubud.

We got an upgrade to quite a big room with high ceilings and a fruit basket. Because we arrived late and the restaurant was closed already, they served us a (complimentary) chicken sandwich upon arrival. Nice gesture.
They have other complimentary offerings: 15 min foot massage, morning walk, afternoon tea.

There is a complimentary hotel shuttle to Ubud every hour. The drive from the airport takes about 1.5 hours.

We found the value of the hotel a bit low compared to what you get on Bali in general.

Room Tip: Our room (1 upstairs) was close to the road and restaurant, which was a little bit noisy sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    187
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
168
572
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed here for our first nights ever in Bali. It was a perfect introduction to the serenity, the hospitality, and the people that are Bali. Our room was perfect, (and recommended, 8B I think). From the balcony you could see the pool, and the rice fields next door. The food at the restaurant was always very good, and a nice varied menu. We took in the free yoga class every morning. Definitely don't miss the guided walks through the village next door and the rice fields. And for photographers, there is a great village about 1.5m away that has over 1000 herons that come home every night at 5:30 to roost. A great walk from the hotel through rice terraces and into a tiny village. I also recommend the spa. We had a massage , and it was so pleasant we even came back from another hotel the next week.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HubinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We had planned to stay at Puri Sunia for two nights in September but we liked this hotel so much that we changed our plans and stayed an extra night. The hotel offered to upgrade our room but we liked the location of the original room. The room was spacious and clean in a very peaceful location. I can't say enough about the friendly attitude of every staff member from the driver who picked us at the airport to restaurant staff, and particularly the front desk. The hotel is in a village right in the middle of rice paddies. We ran into some hotel staff in the neighboring village and they greeted us warmly and invited us to their temple. The hotel arranged several activities including a dance in the village and a bike tour that we really enjoyed. I recommend the bike tour (I think it was Eco bike tour) and the Balinese dance at the Palace. I would highly recommend this hotel. Our stay in Puri Sunia and the activities in Ubud was the highlight of our trip to Bali.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dav00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved every minute of it. We arrived at the resort late and starving. The hotel restaurant had already closed, however, they had a small dinner pre-made for us in lieu of the Welcome Drink awaiting our arrival. Our room was well appointed and in working order. The bed was amazingly comfortable, especially in comparison to other places in Asia. The attention to detail throughout the room and resort made our stay feel extra special.

The small resort is a 15 min drive from Ubud town center. The resort offers hourly shuttles throughout the day to take and pick up their guests. My husband took advantage of the 7 am daily yoga. We were in heaven while receiving our 15 min complimentary foot massage, had a nice time at the complimentary afternoon tea, and enjoyed nice appetizers at the Friday night cocktail hour by the pool. We also enjoyed a complimentary 2 hour morning walk through the rice fields which was amazing as well. We had dinner at the resort on one night and the food was good. Daily breakfast was included in our rate and was delicious, especially the warm pastries and latte's.

The staff were welcoming and very helpful. We would definitely stay here again. Absolutely nothing negative to say about this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkNewlyweds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. I thought that here was typical Ubud style hotel. All staffs were very polite and friendly. Customers who stayed there at that time were all adult and polite. They arrange 2 classes of yoga everyday and also have a trekking once a week. We spent great time while we stayed here. This hotel is far from the central of Ubud. So, It wasn't convenient to enjoy in the town. However, If you enjoy great nature of Ubud, this hotel would help you with it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHKRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Port Marly
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We had a very pleasant and peaceful stay in Puri Sunia, Ubud.
We stayed for 3 nights in a suite which is very confortable and well furnitured.
We enjoyed an 1h30 spa massage upon our arrival after a long flight from France.......relaxing......
The location is great (15 min from Ubud center with hourly hotel shuttle) and surrounded with Rice paddies.
Hotel crew is always availble to make your stay as best as they can.
i would recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morand78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

A warm, welcoming, exquisite hotel! The Puri Sunia was an incredible place to stay. Nestled up in the volcanic countryside above the town of Ubud it was a peaceful and spectacularly beautiful place surrounded by terraced rice fields, sounds like the crowing of roosters and the rushing water of streams from the little canals that worked their way through the terraced fields, and day to day life that carried on around you. The hotel itself was spectacular. The rooms were extremely large and well appointed. The beds were incredibly comfortable. The bathtubs were perfection… deep, stone lined, with unlimited hot water and beautiful scented bath soaps and bath salts to choose from. And the showers, with their thick glass walls were terrific as well.

Peace and beauty are very important to the designers of the Puri Sunia. We loved all the beautiful touches--- there were flowers everywhere (like on your sink drain, along the side of the bathtub, at your bedside, placed carefully on each step that led up to your room, and placed behind your ear upon arrival). The gardens of the hotel complex were lush, spectacular and ever-so cleanly maintained. The ponds, streams and the flower-filled stone bowls in the gardens were so very, very beautiful. The open air yoga studio with the forest trees and lush gardens all around forming the “walls” of the outdoor room was amazing! And the staff here were also beautiful people…. they radiated peace, happiness and serenity and went out of their way to be very friendly.

The meal preparations were exquisite! Not only was the food out of this world, fresh & incredibly tasty, but each plate was a beautiful work of art. There were fruit drinks that were heavy on the fruit and flavor, unlike the watery shakes you can get elsewhere, and beautifully garnished. The breakfast choices were varied and incredible (from warm French pastries and homemade jams to fruit-filled wonders… things like yogurt & fruit, or fruit-filled pancakes… to Indonesian choices). The chefs there had an incredible sense of food design and they mastered every detail of the meals from the menu choices, to their taste, to their artful look, to their service & delivery!

We loved it here and long to return!

Room Tip: The villas looked lovely, but were full when we booked. We had a room on the upper level, which I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheriHendsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
674 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 195 in Ubud
977 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
1,745 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 195 in Ubud
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#32 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing