We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Haven Just Minutes Away from Ubud Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #39 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Haven Just Minutes Away from Ubud Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Booked the Healing Package for my friend and I which was great as it included a lot of goodies for us to enjoy.

Pros:
- The FOOD! Absolutely delicious and 5*. Was very impressed and highly recommend. Was happy eating there for all meals if I spent all my time in the hotel.
- Great customer service. Staff is always smiling and helpful. We had a bit of an insect problem just hours after checking in and they moved us immediately into another room.
- Minutes away from Ubud centre and shuttle bus also available on the hour
- Tranquil setting amid Jungle

Cons:
- Insects in ground room. Not cool.
- Faint 'musty' smell in the rooms. Wasnt so bad in the upper level room.
- Very weak wifi. Only available in dining room and reception area.

A fantastic stay if you are looking to get away from it all but still be close enough to explore.

Room Tip: Higher floors have no problem with insects. If you are sensitive to spiders then stay away from gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank n00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    187
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
168
572
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

Yes it is 15 minutes outside of Ubud but an easy 15 minute drive with the regular hotel shuttle which leaves to hotel or Ubud once an hour. Rooms are beautifully appointed and the resort is small and intimate and the service quite and efficient. Complimentary Yoga classes each morning or a run through the rice paddies. Breakfast selections are wonderful and include American, Continental or local.

Definitely one to put on your list if you are looking for something quiet outside the heart of Ubud.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wizardinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We recently stayed at Puri Sunia Resort and enjoyed every minute of it. The day of our arrival we were met with smiles by the reception and to top it all our booked room was upgraded to a suite !
The staff were exceptional the food excellent ( chef had previously been employed on a cruise liner thus the high quality food). The free breakfast was our highlight of the day with a large menu to chose from.
We were invited one day by one of the staff Eko to see a Balinese ceremony, the cleansing of evil and the spreading of good will, prior to the ceremony we had also witness a cock fight. Eko guided us around the ceremony it was an exciting experience as we have never been to one as this is our third time in Bali. Besides relaxing the resort also provide a spa and massage and not to forget the yoga classes in the morning. The swimming pool is nicely located a midst the
beautiful greenery.
Lastly we used the free WiFi and did not encounter any problems. we will definitely be back again to this lovely and tranquil resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeJay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I recently stayed at Puri Sunia in Ubud for four nights. It was very quiet and relaxing, and the staff were excellent. There was a lot of free activities including yoga classes and treks. The spa was excellent also and reasonably priced. if you wanted to venture away from the resort a shuttle bus was available to go to Ubud.

We ate breakfast and most evening meals at the resort and found the food to be excellent..my daughter also received a surprise birthday cake which was well received!

I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for some peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second level, with a balcony which overlooked the resort. I think it was prefera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusa Dua, Indonesia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

We booked this hotel via BOOKING.COM for one night after reviewing Tripadvisor testimonials.
First disappointment, the place is impossible to find without a local driver.
Then the resort is far away from Ubud, forget about the 10mn from the website…… and there is no specific view from the room.
Third the Wifi is just a joke…..I choose also this hotel as I had skype and facetime meeting to conduct ..I had to cancel both…..
Fourth…the rooms are not sound proof, they start playing with hammer at 7.30am
Fifth…the curtains are not blind one…so wake up before the hammer CEREMONY….
Sixth.. Housekeeping.. after the insect invasion we asked for a full cleaning…just check the pics .. a disaster
Seventh… Staff attitude …..Absolutely no Customers Service Care…. Worst the answers are just terrible….No WIFI…Nothing you can complain…it’s free of charge…..and it’s like this the Wifi is not good here (again check their website)
Insect in you room…..like all the other guest…it’s normal
They are friendly but really have no customer service culture, normal if you consider the fact that it’s how the management behaves.
First time that I have to face such a disappointment following the tripadvisor reviews…maybe the fact that I booked via a third party explain partially this bad treatment
A lot of better place to stay in UBUD…..

Quality of bed is good and the massage are well executed

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank edouardgalisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We visited this luxury hotel last year in 2011. We stayed in one of the villas and it was beautiful. Balinese and japanese fusion. Pool was perfect with the staff coming and switching on the heating. Lovely private feeling yet open rooms. Staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was very good. Transfers to ubud centre was always punctual. This hotel is located amongst rice paddy fields which is tranquil and perfect for photos. Ideal for couples and honeymooners.

Room Tip: Villas with pool are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMeenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We loved our stay at Puri Sunia in Ubud, everything was perfect, from the service to food and what we enjoyed the most were the beautiful Balinese people who work at Puri Sunia and made every effort to ensure we enjoyed ourselves there doing morning yoga, walks, having beautiful breakfast and a swim in the pool. It only took us a couple of days to fully relax. it is an ideal place for anyone who wants a peaceful holiday to switch off and unwind, away from busy every day life. We will definitely be back there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KasiaOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#33 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing