We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Peaceful Oasis of Comfort”
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #36 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Oasis of Comfort”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My two adult sons and I spent two nights at this hotel, and I could have spent at least a week. It is a small boutique hotel, located about 15 minutes from the center of Ubud. The hotels runs a very prompt shuttle service into Ubud on the hour, so getting in to town for shopping and dining is not a problem. The hotel itself is located among rice fields in a very quiet location. The guests who are attracted to this setting seem to be interested in serenity and peace, and the overall vibe is one of relaxation. The rooms are simply but very comfortably furnished, and the bathrooms are well appointed with a lovely, large tub and shower. Breakfast is ample. The gem of the hotel is the pool - cool, beautiful, with fountains along its side. The accommodating staff will bring you whatever you would like at poolside. We did not stay long enough to try out the activities - cooking classes, bike rides, morning runs and yoga. But one member of our party tried out the spa and had what he said was one of the best massages ever. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms come in three varieties - we stayed in the standard rooms and those were extremely comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCvagabond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    187
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
171
576
69
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Pros:
Nice secluded and quiet location with convenient hourly shuttle to Ubud (15min)
Some in the staff provide excellent service
Great breakfast
Lots of activities being offered

Cons:
Need to maintain rooms better ( water leaking from the roof, stained / teared curtains and mosquito nets). Rainy season tested their facilities.
Some in the staff have attitude problems / need better training to be professional
Quality of the drivers for the tours being offered very unequal. Better to book a professional service, especially if you want a guided tour. Drivers wont even warn you about scams out of some temples/ waterfalls where "guides" want to charge arguing you have to enter with a local if you want to enter at all.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eriglezv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We finished off our honeymoon at Puri Sunia and it really was a case of saving the best till last!! The hotel is located about a 15 min car journey from Ubud and is simply beautiful. We had a standard room which was huge and very clean and spent 5 nights here. The grounds are really peaceful and the swimming pool is lovely. We went in low season so had the pool to ourselves several afternoons which made it even nicer! The spa looked lovely but we spent too much time doing things to enjoy it!
The food at the hotel was very good. Breakfast was out of this world with 4 menus to choose from! Be warned though that it is a lot of food so you may want to limit the number of courses you have! We also had a couple of lunches and dinners there and thought the food was delicious. The staff were lovely and friendly and helpful in organising a days tour with a driver to see local temples which we would highly recommend.
We organised a cookery class at the Paon cookery school which was great fun and also a cycle trip with Bali Bike Baik which was one of the highlights of Ubud.
Ubud itself is interesting with lots of great craft shops but we were very glad to be staying outside of it as it isn't that pretty! The hotel organises a free shuttle service to and from Ubud throughout the day which is very handy. We ate in Ubud a few nights and would recommend Terazo and Ibu Rai.
Can't recommend Puri Sunia enough, stay and you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

If the shops in Ubud are your main reason for visiting, don't stay at the Puri Sunia. It is at least 20 minutes of windy roads away from the main stretch, and that gets to be a bit of a drag if you want to pop out for a spot of shopping, and then again later to sample fine dining elsewhere. Having said that, the grounds of the Puri Sunia, though relatively small, are lovely. Everywhere you go, there is the sound of water, and the sense that this is a place well cared for. The yoga deck is calming and a great place to practise yoga or taichi early in the morning. There's a coconut tree growing right out of one corner of the floor. The spa below the yoga deck is also delightful, but sadly, I felt that they could have employed more experienced masseuses.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The staff are really wonderful. The hotel is 10 mins from Ubud town and the shuttle is free, runs hourly and very efficient. The rooms are a good size and comfortably furnished. The food is very good. The hotel is compact and I was disappointed there wasn't much of a view seeing as it's out of town among the rice fields and in nature.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluetillew70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Before you think that I am going to give Puri Sunia a bad review, this is really not my intention. In fact, my overall rating for the resort is very good, which I must say was largely because of the staff and their services.

After reading the various comments on this site, I decided to book my stay at Puri Sunia for a relaxing holiday in Bali. Maybe its just me but I really did not expect the resort to be so small. It took us less than 5 minutes to cover the whole resort. Other than the main pool and the restaurant, you really don't have many other places to sit and relax.

We stayed in a pool villa, which is really very private. The only problem I had was that it was TOO close to nature. I saw big lizards just outside our rooms, bugs flying around and ants all over the room. Not that it's dirty. The room is in fact very clean but you just cannot avoid the bugs and ants given the surrounding. If you are scare of the creepy crawlies, maybe staying in the rooms on the 2nd level would be better rather than the villas. Otherwise, going to the toilet may become a very stressful experience since it is out in the open!

That said, if you're a nature lover and you don't think it's important for a resort to have too many facilities, this is really a nice place to stay in. We are in particular very impressed with the service staff. They were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. During our 5-day stay, the internet was down for 4 days. So I'm not sure if it is reliable.

Do try to go for the padi field trekking! It is one of the highlights of our trip! The lady staff (I forgot her name!) was very patient with everyone and made sure the pace was manageable for everyone. Just be careful, it is really not as easy as you think it is. Nonetheless fun! Try it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pageten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Located a winding, scenic 15 minute drive from the town center, this is a perfect, quiet retreat from busy Ubud. Extremely friendly service (is there any other kind in Indonesia?), simple decor, lush landscaping, and healthy, full-portioned meals. Amazing, refreshing swimming pool. Great, reliable, hourly shuttle service to/from town. One of the best massages I've had in 15+ years living in Asia!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironrooster73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#30 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#31 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing