We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it! Ubud is fabulous.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #38 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Ribeirao Preto/SP
Level Contributor
204 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Loved it! Ubud is fabulous.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

This is one of the great hidden treasuries in Ubud. It's a resort located near the center of Ubud. You'll have to take a 15 minutes free shuttle to get there, but the place compensates it.
We had free upgrades to a pool room, which was AWESOME. A very nice bathroom, integrated to the room and garden. Good quality of sleeping and great shower. The breakfast is good, but not buffet. You have to choose a menu and them they will serve you. The staff is very friendly, helpfull and warm. Very nice. The pool is very beautiful. Internet free, with average quality. I'll sure be back!

Room Tip: The rooms with pool are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leandrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest, we sincere thank you for your review. We glad to hear that you enjoyed our room, products and services. We also happy our resort became your favorite place to spend your holiday during in Bali. We will keep that by our best and we wish to welcoming you back in near future to our peaceful home. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    187
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
168
572
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yankee in the South
Level Contributor
213 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

After a prearranged pickup from our Nusa Dua hotel and a beautiful drive to Ubud, we were warmly greeted and surprised with an upgrade to a totally private villa with it's own pool. Beautifully decorated room and exotic bathroom. Comfortable bed with very nice linens. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel and enjoyed every dish. We really loved sitting at the front of the restaurant to watch the locals walking and riding past the hotel and the beautiful rice paddy across the road. Service is amazing. Love the staff. Be sure to take the guided walk to nearby villages and through the rice paddies - that was the best thing we did in Bali. Gorgeous scenery and you'll learn so much about the Balinese culture. The shuttle to Ubud was convenient and always on time. Ubud sure has changed a lot since we first visited over 25 years ago but still interesting if not awfully commercial. If you like to shop - this place is for you. But treat yourself to the peace and beauty of staying at Puri Sunia.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the 3 private villas with private pool and a bubbling stream. Totally private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank divezuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your review and we glad to hear that you enjoyed our products and services during your time at our resort. I will share it to all staff members and trust that they will be happy too hearing it and wish to welcoming you again in near future to our peaceful home. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirlingshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed for 4 days and had a really pleasant stay, which I feel offered great value for money with the package that we booked.
There was an unfortunate mixup with our reservation, due to us having booked for 2 adults and 1 child, but there not being an extra bed in the room - so please be sure to contact reception in advance and make them aware you are taking children, if you do travel as a family and would rather not have your child sharing your bed. However, this was very quickly resolved and the manager was extremely courteous and professional in his handling of the situation (thank you).
Shuttle service to Ubud centre is very efficient; restaurant service and quality of food was fantastic (we had dinner there on 3 of the 4 nights we stayed, it was so tasty); pool area nice, although does tend to get shaded in the afternoon; spa area very pretty; Julie who does yoga and jungle trekking, really friendly; and rooms very spacious with great storage.

Only downside for me is how far out the hotel is (which is made clear in the descriptions, just didn't appreciate it fully until we got there) - for many people this is probably one of the main attractions of staying here (particularly as the shuttle service is, as I said earlier, really efficient), but for us, we have realised now that we do like to be a little closer to the centre.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms seem to get the sun on the balcony in the afternoon, where the terraces on downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We sincere thank you for your review on the trip advisor. We glad that our resort now became your favorite place for spending your holiday in Bali. We are happy that you enjoyed our products and services. We will share it to all staff members and sure they will happy too to hear and wish to welcoming you back at our peaceful home. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I, my wife and our ten year old son spent two nights in Puri Sunia and we experienced nothing but great ones. The staffs were friendly and helpful. We were picked up at the airport in the evening and arrived quite late at the beautiful resort. The food was superb. We had great breakfast and evening teabreak. The excursion to puddy field and local village was another great experience we had with tourists from different countries. And having massage after the excursion was relieving.

If one looks for nice getaway from busy life, I certainly recommend to stay at Puri Sunia Resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mediko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We glad that you enjoyed your time at our resort, especially our foods and services. I will share it with to all staff member and sure they will be happy to hear and wish able to welcoming your return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Really lovely spot. Rooms are great and personally i appreciated the recycled glass water bottles that are refilled in room each day instead of adding to horrendous plastic water bottle issue in Bali. Also no plastic bags in room bins. Apart from nice enviro touches, this is just a great place to stay. Staff are lovely, Breakfast is tasty and pool is great. Smallish resort which was busy when we stayed but still felt like there was hardly anyone there. Out of town but regular shuttle makes the distance a bonus rather than hindrance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to express our sincere thanks for your review. We glad our resort now became your favorite place. I will share it with to all staff member and sure they will be happy and wish able to welcoming your return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We have spent a wonderful week in th Puri Sunia "hotel house" with a discrete and high quality level of service, a typical and warm design, and a very good restaurant.
Located in the rice countryside part of Ubud, this place has been the favorite ones of all our family, included our teen agers !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorinneM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We glad our resort became your favorite 'home' to spend your holiday in Bali. We also happy you enjoyed our foods, services and products. We do hope able to extend all of them to welcoming you back in near future at our peaceful in Ubud-Bali. Suksma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

What an exquisite place. In every way we loved our stay at Puri Sunia. I wish there were places like this in the US. I would check in once a month for 3 nights. The premises were tranquil, impeccably tidy. It was heaven on Earth. The service was outstanding. Such lovely and thoughtful people. The food was ambrosia. I would love to return to stay there someday. It can't be too soon!

Room Tip: I think they'd all be equally wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for your review on the trip advisor. We do happy that you enjoyed your holiday in our peaceful home, especially our resort, services and staff. We will share its to all member in Puri Sunia Resort and wish to welcoming you back in near future. Suksma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#32 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing