We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again in a flash”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #38 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would stay again in a flash”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

The location is perfect. Ubud has become uncomfortably busy and far less appealing than when I first visited more than 15 years ago. But the Puri Sunia nestled in a little village surrounded by ricefields is a perfect antidote and we found it hard to leave the premises, which you could easily do as the shuttle service is very well organised and the drive into Ubud fascinating enough to always be stimulating. We had one of the least desirable rooms: a downstairs double and it was still great. The lush perfectly landscaped surrounds made us feel we were in paradise and not missing out on a thing. The rooms are elegantly furnished with a very natural feel and the resort has a sustainable agenda, alongside several other premises owned by a local group.The yoga pavilion overlooking the forest is a delight and we enjoyed the class abley instructed by the delightful Jules. All of the staff are charming, friendly, interested in the guests, try very hard to please and seem to come from the surrounding villages. It was hard not to eat at the restaurant because the food is very good, well priced but not budget. My 13 year old daughter immensley enjoyed the breakfast especially the delicate strawberry pancakes. The pork spare ribs on the dinner menu are to die for and so juicy and fresh you had to think you were eating one of the pigs you can see in the farms when you take walk or go on the organized trek. The pool is excellent just big enough, in a beautiful setting with nice poolside furniture and fresh towels. I cannot fault this resort and would stay again in a flash.

across from a rice field which we watched being harvested every day at brea

Room Tip: They seem to be all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gallina63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest, we would like to express our sincere thank you for your review and compliment. We really happy that our resort now became your favorite place to spend your holiday in Bali. We glad you enjoyed our products and services, especially our Yoga and foods. We will do our best to keep them up and really hope to welcoming you return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    187
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
168
572
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

The rooms are beautiful with big terrazzo overlooking the mountains. Everything in the rooms are clean and nice. Great bathroom to!!
Food is alright, maybe the menu is a littlebit small for a long stay but for 4-5 days it's more than adicuat. I especially loved the breakfast!
They also have free yoga everyday and we went there 5 times during our stay. The teacher is great and gentle, perfect for someone like me who never tried yoga before.
The rest of the staff is so wonderful and helps you with whatever you may want.
I recommend everyone to stay here a few days if wisiting Ubud!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missen_Mina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest. We would like to thank you for your review and compliments. We glad that you enjoyed your staying with us, specially our yoga class, services and products. We will consider with our chef in particular creating some new dishes for long staying guest. And we do hope able to serving you back to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

You get what you pay!!
We stayed for two nights in a pool villa it was fantastic. The front desk were happy to help with any request, the food in the restaurant breakfast lunch and dinner were great. And the pamper package in the day spa was to die for!!! The only fault was that the plunge pool and the main pool weren't heated they were freezing cold. Fortunately the weather in ubud is cooler and the use if the pool wasn't necessary.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkwarneford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to express our thanks for your review and compliments. We really happy that you enjoyed your holiday at our resort. We are sorry the hot water at our plunge pool in pool villa just been fixed since we had to wait the spare part from Jakarta quite long. And in near future we do hope to welcoming you back at our peaceful home. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel is situated 15 mins from town by regular hotel shuttle in the middle of rice fields.Walk out the front door and across the road is a rice paddy.The rooms are big and well appointed especially the room we had on the first floor with a balcony with views over the resort

The staff are so friendly and helpful and nothing is a problem.The transfer from the airport went smoothly and the driver was very careful on the 1.5 hour night trip to the hotel

We walked to local traditional restaurants for dinner at night - try the "Happy Warung" 400m on the left from the hotel on the way to Ubud,The food is good (English menu) and the people are so friendly.Another very small restaurant is up the hill from the turn off to the hotel (300m from hotel)- great Nasi Goreng as reccomended by a local
We also walked the other way by turning right out of the entrance of the hotel and found a little shop about a kilometre down the road through the rice fields and had a beer with very friendly locals
Make sure you do the rice fields walking tour with the hotel as it is great wandering through the area with the lady guide, Jule and a man climbs a coconut tree to pick a coconut to give you a fresh drink!
The only thing I can think of for improvement is the unreliable internet in the rooms, but who cares!!
We left a good tip for the staff which I hope finds it's way to them
If we come back to Ubud we will deffinately be staying at this hotel and anyone who stays here will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: First floor rooms with balcony away from restaurant and the road will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchie0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to say thank you for your review on tripadvisor and your compliments. We glad that you enjoyed your staying at our resort, especially our products and service. We tried to upgrade our internet connection in the room and hope all rooms can access the internet easier now. And we wish to welcoming you return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribeirao Preto/SP
Level Contributor
204 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

This is one of the great hidden treasuries in Ubud. It's a resort located near the center of Ubud. You'll have to take a 15 minutes free shuttle to get there, but the place compensates it.
We had free upgrades to a pool room, which was AWESOME. A very nice bathroom, integrated to the room and garden. Good quality of sleeping and great shower. The breakfast is good, but not buffet. You have to choose a menu and them they will serve you. The staff is very friendly, helpfull and warm. Very nice. The pool is very beautiful. Internet free, with average quality. I'll sure be back!

Room Tip: The rooms with pool are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leandrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest, we sincere thank you for your review. We glad to hear that you enjoyed our room, products and services. We also happy our resort became your favorite place to spend your holiday during in Bali. We will keep that by our best and we wish to welcoming you back in near future to our peaceful home. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankee in the South
Level Contributor
213 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

After a prearranged pickup from our Nusa Dua hotel and a beautiful drive to Ubud, we were warmly greeted and surprised with an upgrade to a totally private villa with it's own pool. Beautifully decorated room and exotic bathroom. Comfortable bed with very nice linens. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel and enjoyed every dish. We really loved sitting at the front of the restaurant to watch the locals walking and riding past the hotel and the beautiful rice paddy across the road. Service is amazing. Love the staff. Be sure to take the guided walk to nearby villages and through the rice paddies - that was the best thing we did in Bali. Gorgeous scenery and you'll learn so much about the Balinese culture. The shuttle to Ubud was convenient and always on time. Ubud sure has changed a lot since we first visited over 25 years ago but still interesting if not awfully commercial. If you like to shop - this place is for you. But treat yourself to the peace and beauty of staying at Puri Sunia.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the 3 private villas with private pool and a bubbling stream. Totally private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank divezuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your review and we glad to hear that you enjoyed our products and services during your time at our resort. I will share it to all staff members and trust that they will be happy too hearing it and wish to welcoming you again in near future to our peaceful home. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirlingshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed for 4 days and had a really pleasant stay, which I feel offered great value for money with the package that we booked.
There was an unfortunate mixup with our reservation, due to us having booked for 2 adults and 1 child, but there not being an extra bed in the room - so please be sure to contact reception in advance and make them aware you are taking children, if you do travel as a family and would rather not have your child sharing your bed. However, this was very quickly resolved and the manager was extremely courteous and professional in his handling of the situation (thank you).
Shuttle service to Ubud centre is very efficient; restaurant service and quality of food was fantastic (we had dinner there on 3 of the 4 nights we stayed, it was so tasty); pool area nice, although does tend to get shaded in the afternoon; spa area very pretty; Julie who does yoga and jungle trekking, really friendly; and rooms very spacious with great storage.

Only downside for me is how far out the hotel is (which is made clear in the descriptions, just didn't appreciate it fully until we got there) - for many people this is probably one of the main attractions of staying here (particularly as the shuttle service is, as I said earlier, really efficient), but for us, we have realised now that we do like to be a little closer to the centre.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms seem to get the sun on the balcony in the afternoon, where the terraces on downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We sincere thank you for your review on the trip advisor. We glad that our resort now became your favorite place for spending your holiday in Bali. We are happy that you enjoyed our products and services. We will share it to all staff members and sure they will happy too to hear and wish to welcoming you back at our peaceful home. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#32 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing