We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of paradise nestled in the middle of rice paddies”
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #40 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I don't need to write too much here that has not already been said! The staff are truly amazing and love to laugh with you (or in my case at my clumsy attempt to speak Indonesian and Bali). This place is fantastic but be warned it books out fast so plan your trip here early. Breakfast and dinner on site is brilliant as is te hourly shuttle service to town. The rooms are amazing with opulence and luxury. They have split system aircon and large comfy beds. Water is supplied daily along with fresh local fruit. This place is a must to visit the incredible surrounds of Ubud.

Room Tip: They are all great but ground floor for us worked the best
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_n_flip25197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Mr. Paul, Om Swastiastu! We would to thank you for your review and compliments. We are happy to know you enjoyed our resort, staff, products and services. We will share it to all staff members and sure they will so glad to hear it. We will do our best to keep all of them and wish to welcoming you return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
There are newer reviews for Puri Sunia Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

Came here as a family of 7 including a 3-month old toddler for our family getaway. Booked wholly-based on TA reviews, and did not regret it one bit. Requested for airport transfer and were greeted by two vans at the airport, equipped with cold towels and even ice-cold water which was truly appreciated especially in the sweltering Bali heat that we arrived into. Took a good one and a half hours to reach the hotel from the airport, but it was good journey nonetheless with our knowledgeable and friendly drivers entertaining us all the way. Parents started getting a little skeptical when we entered Ubud and took a right turn through a tiny single lane road which seemed like we were in the middle of nowhere with nothing around but paddy fields. Little did we know that we were headed for paradise.

When we reached the hotel, all doubts and fears were immediately vanquished; everyone was so friendly and so accommodating! We were checked in in no time and were ushered to the restaurant for welcome drinks, and as it was tea time, were also offered complimentary Balinese snacks and tea which was splendid.

We were then escorted to our rooms; we booked 3 Deluxe rooms for 3 nights and each with different configurations and needless to say, all our requests were fulfilled including a baby cot for my nephew. I shared with my sis and we had a room with twin beds; my other sis, her husband and my nephew had a room with a baby cot and the hugest king-sized bed I've ever seen in my life and my parents had a room with a generous queen-sized bed. All 3 rooms were spacious, impeccably clean (even meeting my mums impossible standards, haha) and well decorated and equipped with everything from umbrellas, to towel stands and even insect repellent and an adapter! And then we saw the bathroom, AND FELL IN LOVE. Not only did it look amazing, it even smelled amazing! There were even bath salts by the tub and its certainly somewhere you can take a good long soaking in. Also loved the fact that the rooms were on the ground floor and opened out into the gorgeous gardens and we could easily move between rooms. Some other reviewer's have mentioned that there is no privacy on the ground floor, but I say, its a pleasure sitting out on the verandah; any staff that passes by greets you and asks you if you need anything or how is your stay going or you could even strike up a conversation with them and know the little secrets of Ubud and Bali. They really are friendly without crossing the boundary into your privacy either. That being said, you really can't go wrong with any of the rooms here.

Two of best things that deserve special mention: the beds and the restaurant! At night, you get a turn-down service which was nice. But, the beds.. Those beds here were the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on and even my 3-month old nephew who usually wakes up like clockwork for his feeds slept right on through! Breakfast in the restaurant was a pleasure each morning; skip the Continental and American breakfasts (not that they weren't good or anything, its basically the repeat of bacon, sausages, eggs, etc that you get at every other hotel on the planet) and opt for the Indonesian and Puri Sunia breakfasts instead. The mee goreng was fantastic; we loved it so much that we ordered it for dinner on two other nights as well! And this too coming from a family of Malaysians, where mee goreng runs in our blood. Haha. The views from the restaurant were gorgeous. Prices at the restaurant are a little steep compared to those in Ubud town, but nonetheless worth it if you're there on a rainy night and don't feel like taking the 10-minute trip on their shuttle service to town for food.

They do not have a fitness centre, instead there was a beautiful yoga centre and which we really wanted use but simply didn't have the time for. The spa also looked amazing and our booking came with complimentary foot massages for everyone which was a nice touch.

All-in-all, we had hands down the best family holiday of our lives. Although it was a really short 4 days, everyone left well-rested, well-fed, well-taken care of and really sad as none of us wanted to leave. Needless to say, we will be back again and again. If you need a taste of paradise; Puri Sunia will give you just that.

Room Tip: Any room would be excellent, but make the extra effort and ask for one with a king bed. You will not...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SinMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu! We would like to express our sincere thank you for your review and compliments. We really appreciate it as we knew that you enjoyed your time at Puri Sunia and now our resort became your favorite place in spending holiday in Bali. We will do our best to maintain our products and service and wish to serve back at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Puri Sunia for 5 nights during our honeymoon. The staff were so welcoming and their service was friendly, superb and thoughtful. As for the breakfast, it was sublime, they offer a selection of 4 breakfasts and our personal favourites were the indonesian and puri sunia. My wife said that the strawberry pancakes she had eaten in one of the mornings was excellent. The hotel offers a shuttle service to and from Ubud running on the hour until 22:15. It is approximately a fifteen minute journey. The rooms were well kept, the staff carry out a turn down service in the evening. In closing, I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Ubud, a tranquil atmosphere and winderful customer. Thank you Dewa and the rest of the staff for making a stay a pleasant one. We would definitely stay here when we re-visit Ubud in the future. A beautiful place and a even more beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blessedarethespoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu! We would like to express our sincere thank you for your review on trip advisor. We glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon at our resort. We will share it to all staff and sure they also will be happy to hear it. We will do our best to maintain all of our products and service and wish to serve you again on your wedding anniversary in future at our peaceful home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

From the organizing our airport pickup, to a totally relaxing 10 day stay. We can't speak highly enough of the very friendly staff, the service, the beautiful meals, and the traditional surroundings. We could walk the rice fields in the morning, taking in the traditional Balinese lifestyle. Then enjoy a meal in the superb hotel restaurant. The food was always a delight, not too spicy for the uninitiated, to as spiced up as you would prefer. An excellent choice of western and local cuisine. We will definitely be returning for further stays at Puri Sunia.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Mr. Max, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review and compliments to our resort. We glad that you enjoyed your time at Puri Sunia Resort. We will share its to all our staff members. We sure that you wish to see maintaining and improvement of our product and services in the future to welcoming you return to our peaceful home. Suksma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff and perfect service. The food was very nice and not too spicy....(in beginning ;) ) Perfect for exploring the local dishes. This resort was a perfect start of our 7 day trip in Bali. worth it's 5 stars :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Mr. Dieter, Om Swastiastu! We would like to thank you for your review and compliments. We do glad that our resort became your favorite place for spending your holiday. We will keep good maintaining and improvement of our service and products to welcoming your return to our peaceful home. Suksma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I can't praise this place enough. Every 'i' was dotted and every 't' crossed. The highly praised reviews made us book here and they are so true. The staff were attentive in every way to make this place a better home away from home. The place was set in a relaxing jungle amongst the rice paddy region only 10mins north from Ubud. The room was large and such a joy to walk into every time. Relaxing is the aim of this place and they make it effortless in achieving exactly that. They have a warm genuine desire for you to feel peacefully at home. The food was great, with breakfast being an excellent start to each day. Half our lunches and dinners ended up being at the resort out of our 8 night stay. The longer we stayed the less we wanted to venture into Ubud. Once again, I can’t praise this place enough. Thanks again to Mr Dewa and his staff

Room Tip: The 'suite' rooms are above the 'deluxe' rooms and provide the highest view point of...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieV_and_SaraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Mr. Charlie and Ms Sara, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We glad to know you enjoyed your time at our resort. I will share its to all staff members here. Sure they will be happy to hear that also. Your compliments made us to commit to maintain all of our products and services and wishing your return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

A 15 minutes drive from central Ubud, this is a hidden jewel tucked away in a small village, Abangan. The unassuming entrance is misleading. Once inside, the gracious and helpful staff make the stay a memorable experience. The resort has deluxe rooms, suits and villas. We stayed one night in a deluxe room and then shifted to a villa with a private dip pool and a gazebo. The bathroom open into the private garden. Our stay was enjoyable. The resort offers free shuttle ride to and from the city center every hour. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our resort. We realized that we need to gain ideas to do improvements. We seek your suggestion on how we can improve products and services in future for welcoming you return to our peaceful home. Suksma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
767 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#14 of 199 in Ubud
404 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.9 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#34 of 199 in Ubud
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#33 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#34 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £63 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing