We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #38 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed for four nights between 9th - 13th September and absolutely loved it. Firstly the service was incredible from all members of staff, nothing was too much trouble, I cannot describe how impressed we were with them. Everyone seems to want to help and are very genuine, which cannot be said for everywhere we have travelled. The hotel is a little out of the center of Ubud, which we found was a benefit as it was very relaxing, the hotel run a shuttle bus service into the centre every hour for guest FOC. The food by international standards is cheap and is too a very high standard, however there are several cheaper alternatives within Ubud to suit every budget. The room we had was a standard room I think and was great, very spacious and a lovely bathroom, the whole place was well kept and the pool is good. All in all we had a lovely time staying here.

thanks
x

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Ruth, Om Swastiastu! It is a great news to hear that you had a memorable time during your staying with us at Puri Sunia. We are happy you loved our food, services, and room. We know it is hard to maintain them but it is now became our commitment to keep and even improve them to welcome you return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    187
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
168
572
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is such a nice litte Hotel just a bit of the hassle of Ubud. There is the right amount of detail in really everything, from the shuttle service into Ubud, to the freshly made pastry in the morning, to the ylang ylang flowers everywhere, to the bag with sarongs when you go out to visit a temple. The staff is extremely helpful and attentive and the restaurant definitely deserves a praise! I've not been to Ubud before but I would definitely come back here just to stay at this hotel again for a couple of days!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris241174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Chris, Om Swastiat\stu! Let us to express our sincere thank you and appreciation to your review in trip advisor. Important that you enjoyed your time in our resort as your first trip to Ubud. We happy able to make a great memorable stay surrounding by our local culture. We wish able to keep improving them to welcome you in near future to our peaceful home. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I took our tenth anniversary celebration to Bali and started off with Ubud. Inspite of already expecting a relaxing resort, far-removed from the urban chaos we flew from, Puri Sunia in all its unassuming naturalness instantly put us to ease and floored us with an honest attention to detail.
We were offered a delicious welcome drink and and a thoroughly relaxing welcome foot-spa. I could have awarded five stars just for that!
The staff was exceptionally warm and eager to help. We are strict vegetarians, but they managed to wow us with their meals creatively beyond the printed menu.
The resort rooms were straight from “ A Midsummer Night’s Dream”; layers of cool, soft, white canopy curtains hung around the large bed and a whole bunch of fluffy pillows for those perfectly cocooning mornings when we wanted to sleep in.
Even though there was a large Plasma TV right across from the bed, not for a minute were we tempted to turn it on because the place had such gorgeous sights to soak up. In fact I didn’t even pick up the new book I had bought from the airport until we checked out.
There were thoughtful white jasmines placed in unexpected little places, delighting us each time we saw them. The bathrooms were spacious, cool and luxuriously equipped with supplies.
The trip by foot to the rice fields was quite a little adventure- our guide, very considerately had bag-packed bottles of drinking water for all of us during the trek.
The swimming pool was a cozy water body almost hidden in the lush green and the stone lily troughs that dotted the property. It was perfect to laze in, order a nice cocktail or read a book by.
The restaurant, the yoga room and the spa were all beautifully suited to the vibe of the resort- serene, lush in the aromas and the sights of nature.
All in all, we were transported to the other side of the rainbow ☺.

Room Tip: The cottage suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Hazel, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review on the trip advisor. We are really appreciate it and glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Puri Sunia Resort. We will work hard to maintain all our products and services, even to improve them to welcome you at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were there for 3 days and wanted something off the beaten track. It's a quaint little hotel with a 5 star service. We woke up to beautiful padi fields and strolled along the small streets just to explore the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeeeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your compliments. We are happy that you enjoyed your staying, loved our products and services. We will do our best to keep it up to welcoming your return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We arrived on Wednesday, 28 August 2013 it was part of our bali tour, ubud was highly recommended as a cultural city to visit and shop (it is), but the hotel was poor, the first room was awful and not fit for human use, the amount of damp was a joke how can any hotel class its self as 4 star and offer rooms like this,

Positive - as soon as we complained someone come and inspected the room and upgraded us to a deluxe room (this was better than the first but still smelt of damp),

we was lucky we only stayed here one night, I would not of stayed here more than one night, in the end we got back into the room at 12 midnight and woke up at 7 am because the room was that bad. luckily we only stayed one night, At 2 Million IDR ($180 dollars) it is a rip off I don't mind paying value for money but this is not value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charanjit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent four nights at this lovely place. The setting was just gorgeous amidst lush tropical rainforest and rice fields. Our room was great and a real bonus to be upgraded to a villa, although, I did check out the rooms and they looked lovely too. It's not a pretentious resort but maintains a high standard that makes you feel comfortable and pampered. The pool area and grounds were gorgeous- they really blended in well with the surroundings. Staff were so lovely and couldn't do enough for us- a real credit to the Balinese people. Hotel transfers and transfers in and out of Ubud were good.Yoga in the morning was great and set amidst the rainforest, then a run through the rice fields- all stunning and professionally done. The spa was a serene setting and the staff charming.We loved breakfast too- good quality and tasty food.

Room Tip: The villa was divine but the rooms were good too and spacious. There is a room on the first floor th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchBath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Bath, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your time at Puri Sunia, loved our products and services. We are sure that all the management & staff members committed to maintain them with our best and wish we will be able to serve you back in near future at our peaceful home. Suksma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Puri Sunia Resort is by far the best hotel we've ever stayed in. Everything was perfect! I am a picky traveler and we've stayed in different kind of hotels all over the world, but this one exceeded our expectations. There are many small details about this hotel, that make this hotel special and different from the others.

I want to apologize for not writing sooner, as I promised to the front desk manager. We stayed in Puri Sunia in February 2013.

We stayed in this hotel for only 5 nights, but wished it had been longer.
Right on the arrival we were welcomed with wet towels and welcome drinks to freshen up. We were upgraded to an upper suit.

The suit was spacious and very tastefully decorated with a bungalow type roof. Bathroom is all in natural stone with nice details. Very romantic stone bath and bath foam was provided as well. Always perfectly clean. Umbrellas outside the room doors are a thoughtful touch, as you never know when it might rain on Bali.

The food is delicious both during the dinner and during the breakfast. The breakfast is as in many Bali hotels a la carte. But the choice was great, food delicious and we never went hungry. Indonesian breakfast and coffee were great. An afternoon tea and cakes free of charge really came as a surprise. We were told to always ask for bottled water if we run out of it, as they will always provide it free of charge. Very thoughtful!

The hotel is not big, 18 rooms and suits and some 6 or 8 bungalows, if I am not mistaken. This is a part where I worried that this would be a minus, rather than a plus. Sometimes small hotels are not well run. But no need to worry here. Being small and set in an idyllic scenery of rice paddies and rainforest, this is a perfect romantic and relaxing get away. It truly felt as a honeymoon for us, as we celebrated our 12th anniversary. Birds singing, water running....

Pool area is very pleasant, towels provided.

For me the mind-opener was the yoga classes organised twice a day. I was participating in morning classes at 7am. There is nothing better than practicing yoga among tropical greenery with birds singing, mild morning sun shining and breeze refreshing. The teacher would always bring bottled water to all participants. I practice yoga ever since I've returned from Bali and it has become a part of my everyday life, thanks to Puri Sunia.

After breakfast there is also an option to go on a running tour around the nearby village and rice paddies. Twice a week there is a walking tour instead. We took the walking tour and it was amazing! The same yoga teacher walked us around her village, shared with us their traditions, habits and history. We had a chance to get a fresh coco to drink among the rice paddies. And again, the guide took water from the hotel for each one of us.

The hotel is set outside Ubud, but it provides regular transfers to and from Ubud. We didn't use this service, cause we had a car, but thought that this really adds the value to the hotel service.

These were hotel services provided free of charge, but they were ready to organize any tour you like around the island.

Balinese are religious and always make gifts to good and bad gods. We found it very touching that the hotel stuff thought of their guests as well in pursuit of pleasing gods. Every morning we were finding a gift to gods under our windshield wipers to keep us safe on the road.

We are active travelers and on the day of our anniversary we stayed exploring until late, just as usual. We were greatly surprised that when we arrived closer to midnight to the hotel, the hotel stuff waited for us and asked not to go to sleep straight ahead. Turned out that in 5 minutes they appeared by the door with a heart-shaped anniversary cake. They were obviously waiting for us all day! Amazing how they keep in mind all the information you share with them during the stay, and try hard to surprise you even more.

Overall, this hotel is what it is thanks to amazing people that work here. They make you feel like dear guests at all time. Thank you very much and keep up with great job!

We would come back in a heartbeat!
With best regards from Anastasia and Pedro

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastassia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Anastassia, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your compliments. We do appreciate all of them and happy to hear that you enjoyed your staying with us, enjoyed our products and services. We trust all of Puri Sunia's team committed to maintain them for welcoming you again in near future at our peaceful home. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#32 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing