We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #39 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Was taking 4 nights vacation by myself after 1 1/2 weeks in seminyak with my bf. After my 4th time in Bali I thought I'd be used to the service and friendliness, but what I experienced @ puri Sunia was just fabulous!
Beautiful landscape, atmospheric place, top service and food!
Will go again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Doris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Doris, Om Swastiastu! We would like to express our sincere thank you for your review and we also happy our resort now became your favorite place to spend your holiday during in Bali. We will share it to all staff members to encourage them for maintaining all our best, our services and products. We are looking forward to welcome you back at our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    185
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
168
567
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was by far the best part of our stay in Bali
5 nights at Puri Sunia, we met the loveliest staff you could ever meet, everyone so happy to help all the time, always saying hello and asking how your day was.
We were treated to a dance by the local village children on our first night.
We did nearly everything they had to offer in the hotel, from Yoga to offering making, to free afternoon tea, to the cocktail afternoon. We even took advantage of a local driver taking us out and about for the day.
There is a free shuttle every hour on the hour into Ubud, brilliant.
Some of the staff would yell out from the restaurant when we returned from Ubud to see how our day was.
Some of the staff that lived in the village invited my friend and I to come and watch the local children playing sport - apparently we were the first ones they had asked, it was amazing to really get into the culture there.
We even booked in a private walk around the village and local paddy fields with a staff member, she was awesome.
Hi to everyone at Puri Sunia from New Zealand - you will know who I am :-)
Thank you so much for the best holiday memories!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BREEONHOLIDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Breanee, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to serve you with our best, and we all are happy to know that you enjoyed our products and services. We proud now our resort became your favorite place for spending your holiday during in Bali. We trust there will be few things we need to improve for making better in future, so any advice will be much appreciated and we trust our team will do their best also to maintain and make improvement for welcoming you return in near future at our peaceful home. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Delightful in every sense-lovely surrounds beautifully maintained, clean,large luxurious rooms, delicious food and fantastic staff who make your stay very comfortable and special. I would thoroughly recommend Puri Sunia to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Linda, Om Swastiastu! Thank you for your great review on trip advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed you time in our resort. We know that it is our challenge to maintain all of our products and services, we committed on it. We believe that we will have a chance to serve and welcome you back to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent 9 days at Puri Sunia - 6 with a yoga group and 3 just relaxing. The careful attention to detail and enthusiastic attitude of all the staff are hallmarks of this delightful small resort. Every attempt is made to ensure guests are contented - even to obtaining jackfruit and green coconuts for breakfast to satisfy a whim! The service is flexible and personalized and provided in an eager and warm manner. The walk and rice paddy walk were wonderful, as were the traditional music and dancing shows performed by local villagers and our rewarding experience meeting Buda's family. The resident yoga instructor, Julie, held enjoyable classes twice a day which added to the gentle rhythm of a relaxing holiday. So too, the food was all wonderful, from the cocktail parties beside the pool to the marvelous cooking lesson and the special multiple course feasts. Overall this is a most impressive place! Thank you Dewar and Sri for such an excellently managed holiday experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Dr. Tom and Dawn, Om Swastiastu! We are really happy to hear that you had such a great time during your staying at our resort, loved our products and services. Our commitment to maintain them as we were sure it is a challenge for all us. I will share it also to Budha, Julie and Sri. They will be very proud also were able to provide their best. But the important is we will prepare and do more efforts for welcoming you at our peaceful home. Suksma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Words fail to describe how impressed I am with Puri Sunia. I have just returned home after taking a group on retreat to Ubud.
The rooms are spacious and clean, the food absolutely delicious and the spa serene with great massages. The attention to detail is everywhere, from the complimentary water at airport pick up, free yoga, rice paddy and village walks to the perfectly placed frangipani flowers. All of this is nothing though without the wonderful services you will encounter at this boutique hotel. Every single one of the staff will go out of their way to ensure your stay is wonderful and they are most genuine. I so look forward to returning again next year. Thank you Dewa and staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca-aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Rebecca, Om Swastiastu! It is our sincere thank you to choose our resort for spending a yoga retreat with us. we all were very pleasure able to serve and provide the best that we have. It is a great that you all enjoyed them. How we proud to know Puri Sunia now became your second home in Bali. We committed to improve them for making better arrangement in near future for your returning with another retreat or family. We are looking forward it as well. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at so far. I am in the hotel industry so I get to stay and fancy hotels like Ritz, W Hotels, All Marriott’s brands and Four Seasons. There is something to be said a about Puri Sunia Resort, the customer service is the best I have experienced, they take it to another level to make your stay feel like home. You can truly sense the employees working there really care about customer satisfaction and enjoy what they do.

There is a couple of employee that really stood out the General Manager, which we realized he was the GM of the hotel on our last day of the trip he was so discrete about his title and position. GM’s in the U.S.A need to sign up for customer service training with this guy, he keeps his staff well engaged with guests and the employee's truly care about the guests best interests.

Another employee that really made out Trip was Eka. He spoke English really well and really went above and beyond helping us out with everything. When you stay here ask for Eka, he gives solid advice on all the local things to do, his is also very knowledgeable about the culture and background of indonesia and Bali.

This place well deserves 6 stars if I could give it, highly recommend this hotel. I usually don’t write reviews but this place earned it.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 903 a villa, Stunning with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhaktasagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Sagar & Victoria, Om Swastiastu! We would like to express our thank you for your genuine review on trip advisor. We did all our best to ensure our customer got the things those they wish to see in visiting to Bali. And important to know that you enjoyed all of them. We are sure that we still need to do more for our better service later and wish we will able to welcoming you to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed for four nights between 9th - 13th September and absolutely loved it. Firstly the service was incredible from all members of staff, nothing was too much trouble, I cannot describe how impressed we were with them. Everyone seems to want to help and are very genuine, which cannot be said for everywhere we have travelled. The hotel is a little out of the center of Ubud, which we found was a benefit as it was very relaxing, the hotel run a shuttle bus service into the centre every hour for guest FOC. The food by international standards is cheap and is too a very high standard, however there are several cheaper alternatives within Ubud to suit every budget. The room we had was a standard room I think and was great, very spacious and a lovely bathroom, the whole place was well kept and the pool is good. All in all we had a lovely time staying here.

thanks
x

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewa D, Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Ruth, Om Swastiastu! It is a great news to hear that you had a memorable time during your staying with us at Puri Sunia. We are happy you loved our food, services, and room. We know it is hard to maintain them but it is now became our commitment to keep and even improve them to welcome you return to our peaceful home in near future. Suksma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#37 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#33 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing