We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel in the Ubud Area! Great Honeymoon experience.”
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #41 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and I just finished celebrating our honeymoon in Bali. We decided to stay centrally in the Ubud area for the entire time rather than go through the trouble of booking multiple hotels in multiple cities, and based on previous TripAdvisor reviews, booked with Puri Sunia for the entire 8 day trip. Looking back, this was the perfect spot for us.

LOCATION - the location is very close to central Ubud, but far away enough to avoid all the noise. It's just a 10 minute free shuttle from the hotel to central Ubud and the shuttle conveniently leaves on the hour every hour with the last shuttle at 10pm. If you did want to stay out later, there are plenty of cab drivers in Ubud. We spent about a couple mornings and a couple afternoons in Ubud doing shopping, sight-seeing, getting massages, eating and just taking in the cultural experience. Ubud was definitely our favorite city. Being centrally located, it's also pretty easy to hire drivers and take day trips from the hotel. One day, we did a day trip that lead us through the Bukit Peninsula (Nusa Dua, Padang Padang Beach, Ulu Watu temple, and finished with Jimbaran beach for dinner). The trip was from 10am to 9pm and we reached the first site within 1.5 hours so not too bad. Another day, we took a trip north to Gunung Kawi temple, Tirta Empul temple, Mt. Batur, a traditional village, and then headed east to Kusamba. Again, the first destination was reached in less than an hour and we were back at our hotel by 5pm. It's pretty easy to visit most of the island.

STAFF - The most outstanding thing about the resort is the friendliness of the staff! Everyone is always stopping to greet you by name, wish you good morning, and have a short chat. Never met such a nice group of people before in my life. Aka, Darma, Gusti, Buda, Suria are just a few of the warm staff members that come to mind at the moment but everyone really is very caring and helpful. Everyone speaks English well enough.

FACILITIES - the resort itself is beautifully decorated and constantly cleaned. The resort is just small enough to get a nice personal feeling - perfect for our honeymoon. We decided to stick with a Deluxe Room since we knew we wouldn't be spending much time at the resort during the day and the room met all of our needs - very clean, nicely decorated with a modern feel, cool A/C, stocked daily with free water bottles and exotic fruit, TV (not that we ever used it), very clean bathroom with shower and a large marble tub, and large windows with nice views of the resort and surrounding rice fields. Wish we took more advantage of some of the free amenities like tours of the surrounding rice fields and an adjacent village, a traditional dance by locals, and daily afternoon tea and snacks just to name a few. We did do the free 7am yoga on an outdoor covered rooftop which was a cool experience.

FOOD - the food here is the some of the best we had during the entire trip and this was totally unexpected. For the daily included breakfast, you get a choice of four 3-course menus (American, Continental, Puria Sunia, or Indonesian) and each comes with coffee or an assortment of tea. Since we were there for 8 days, we tried every possible combination. These are gourmet type dishes they are serving - I was taking photos of all my food - and they are all quite filling. Our last night there, we decided to stay in and eat dinner at the hotel and WOW. Wish we had known how elegant and delicious the experience was ahead of time as we would have definitely eaten there more. In addition to drinks, appetizers and desserts, my wife got the chicken curry and I got the crispy duck per recommendation from the staff and both were excellent choices. Every course we ordered for dinner was amazing. Definitely recommend eating dinner at the hotel at least once even though Ubud has a lot to offer restaurant-wise (we also ate at several spots recommended on TripAdvisor).

OTHER - the only issue my wife and I had was that the free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby and in the pool area would go in and out every now and again which was a minor hassle in planning our trips, but honestly, I wouldn't let that sway you from coming here. We were still able to do all of our planning, flight confirmations, boarding pass printing, etc. without any serious difficulty. I'd still give this place 5 stars.

DRIVER - if anyone is reading this review, you might as well learn from our experience. We tried out 3 drivers for our various day trips, and the one we liked the most was Gusti Sudiarta (www.baliubuddriver.com). He did tours for a hotel for 17 years, and then went into the business on his own like 5 years ago or something. He has lots of experience, knows all the Bali roads, knows a lot about the island and it's history and readily shared this with us, and charged us the best rate without any negotiating actually. His english is pretty good too. Of note, we also took a driver from "www.balisafestdriver.com" because of previous excellent TripAdvisor reviews and our experience was so-so...the driver did his job and took us around and waited for us in the car but that was about it.

Sorry for the length, hope this review helps.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Arvind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Srixpress,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

By this opportunity we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for having stayed with us during your holiday in Ubud, Bali and it is a pleasure to know that you had a great time staying with us.

Feel free to contact us if you need any assistance at your convenience and looking forward to have the pleasure to serve you again at Puri Sunia Resort in the future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

From the time we arrived to the time we left, service at Puri Sunia was the best I've ever experienced! The location is about 10 minutes outside of town in the middle of gorgeous rice paddies.. It is such a beautiful retreat far away from the hustle and bustle. Fresh frangipani lined the resort every day.. Since they're my favorite it was a special added touch. Would love to revisit over and over and over again. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfergie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

As others have said - 10 kms or so north of Ubud so a car useful but they do offer frequent shuttles to and from town. We had one of the bungalows with its own little splash pool, semi-outdoor bathroom etc. Very comfortable and spacious. Excellent breakfast cooked to order. Ate in their restaurant one evening and that was quite acceptable too.
They offer free morning yoga sessions, free walking tour round the local village and rice paddies and they have a spa/massage service. Staff unfailingly friendly and helpful - even washed our rental car for us without being asked.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Very romantic and peaceful resort! Huge bed I have ever seen so far, very comfortable though. Staffs there are friendly and polite...and they all remember your names. way from the hustle and bustle of Ubud central but with a free shuttle bus on the hour, this is a beautiful serene place you can't help falling in love with.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ravisingh2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for a week at Puri Sunia. The grounds of the resort are small but beautifully designed. Great care was taken to preserve existing trees and so the whole layout looks charming.

We stayed in a pool villa which is definitely worth spending a little extra on if you can. The outdoor bath tub is amazing and the setting with garden and gazebo so private that you can totally relax. The construction workers and furniture makers of Bali are artists and every detail is so beautifully looked after and well made, that it is a pleasure to the eye.

During our stay construction work was going on next to the resort. Whilst everything was done to keep the noise down, it did disturb us sometimes. However, we nevertheless decided to stay at the resort most of the time enjoying our private pool instead of doing tours.

The entire staff at Puri Sunia is exceptionally friendly and attentive. In trying their best to make your stay there unforgettable, they go above and beyond.

In our opinion food would deserve a Michelin star. We did not have a single dish which disappointed and also breakfast was fantastic. We also enjoyed the free afternoon tea with different Balinese delicacies offered every day.

Around Puri Sunia are beautiful rice paddies and villages which can easily be explored by foot or with a (complementary) guide.

For two days we rented a scooter and went to see the nearby Tegalalang rice terraces and White Heron (bird) village.
Ubud can be reached by Puri Sunia’s free hourly shuttle service which is convenient.

Complementary yoga class every morning at 7 o'clock in the beautifully set spa center is a good start to a very relaxing day. Massages are good and the spa (bath)rooms are spectacular.

Overall we would highly recommend Puri Sunia resort.

Room Tip: Puri Sunia's pool villas are fantastic, beautiful and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enna26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud central but with a free shuttle bus on the hour, this is a beautiful serene place you can't help falling in love with. The rooms are top notch and the service the same. I would recommend anyone to go here and I would love to return some day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

4 days in paradise! The staff is friendly, welcoming and helpful! Rooms are beautiful and well equiped! There is an attention to detail everywhere!
Food is really good!
Shuttles every hour to ubud!
We ll try to come back! It was a wonderful stay!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Boucle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
786 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#50 of 199 in Ubud
384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#6 of 199 in Ubud
364 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#36 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £53 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing