We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A(nother) Beautiful Stay”
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #40 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was my third stay at Puri Sunia, this time with a girlfriend for five nights. While all the facilities and restaurant in particular are amazing (the food is exquisite), the experience is definitely made by the outstanding staff. They cannot do enough for you and are truly the warmest, friendliest, genuine people I have ever met. They are so happy to have you there and cannot wait for you to return for your next visit. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaiaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Ms. Maia,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

By this opportunity we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for having stayed again with us during your holiday in Ubud, Bali and it is always a pleasure to having you and family at Puri Sunia Resort.

Feel free to contact us if you need any assistance at your convenience and looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Puri Sunia was the last leg on a 3 week stay in Bali. We spent 3 nights in true luxury at Puri Sunia which was a perfect wind down from Seminyak. Tucked away in the jungle of Ubud, Puri Sunia is so nice and quiet you can't help but be at peace. The grounds are amazing, the food is absolutely wonderful, but even better than that are the truly incredible staff who went above and beyond for us with birthday and honeymoon surprises every time we turned around. We couldn't believe how much they cared about making our stay as special as it could possibly be...and it was. Big Bali high five!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lowell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Lowell R,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

By this opportunity on behalf of staff and management of Puri Sunia Resort would like to thank you for your review and it is a pleasure to know that you had a great time staying with us.

We hope to be able to have another chance to serve you again in the future and please drop us a line should you wish to have any assistance at your convenience.

Looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again to your "peaceful home" in the near future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Pros - My husband and I stayed at Puri Sunia for 5 nights in March. We have never been made to feel so welcome, or been so well looked after as we were at this resort. Each time we came back from sight seeing or shopping we would be greeted by one or several staff saying" welcome back home".
Our room was huge, beautifully decorated in the modern Balinese style, and had a lovely outlook to the garden. It was very clean, with plenty of towels, bottled water, fresh fruit and flowers. Beautiful pool which we had to ourselves most of the time.
Breakfast was served each morning in the beautiful restaurant - a large selection of fresh food, so tasty, especially the banana pancakes and scrambled eggs. Great cappuccinos and freshly squeezed juices. Fabulous and friendly staff who made us laugh as they tried to teach us some Balinese sayings, and we tried to teach them some Aussie slang! We are most nights in the restaurant and could not fault the food.
The resort is approx. 20 - 15 minutes from Ubud township, but that was an advantage for us as we wanted peace and quiet, and if we wanted to go into Ubud for shopping or to eat, there was an hourly shuttle leaving the resort on the hour, and leaving Ubud at 15 minutes pass the hour.
Cons - the pillows were a bit hard, but the resort manager told us that they are currently replacing the pillows, mattresses etc so that would not stop us from going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank instyle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Instyle 11,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

It's been a pleasure for us to read your review and by this opportunity we would like to thank you for having stayed with us during your holiday in Ubud, Bali.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you wish to have any assistance at your convenience and looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I really enjoyed staying here. It was a great experience and we enjoyed it a lot. The food was nice and there were many options both Indonesian and western. The rooms were lovely though there were a few bugs. In our room there was no DVD player but there was Internet access so that was ok. This was a family trip though I think we were the only family there at the time.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room near the Yoga area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Indigo c,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

We thank you very much for your review and on behalf of staff and management of Puri Sunia Resort would like to express our sincerest gratitude for having stayed with us during your holiday in Ubud, Bali.

We are sorry to hear about the bug as it is easily found in the tropical climate like Bali, however we do have twice a week fumigation and spraying schedule to the entire resort to minimize the bug and insect in our hotel area, and since each of the room is also equipped with mosquito nett and lotion, thus this is effective way to not being bitten by the the insect.

We have not provide the DVD player in the room since we have provide the satellite TV channels but this is a very good idea to upgrade our facility in the future.

Thank you for you input and please do not hesitate to contact us if you wish to have any assistance for your next forthcoming plan to visit Bali at your convenience.
Looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hi,The staff were amazing the gardens beautiful,great food but abit far from town for me.The yoga didn't really exist.My room smelt of Mould as there was no air flow so they upgraded me without me asking.

Room Tip: Ask for a ventilated room well lite,mine was very dark and bait damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jallen729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Jallen729,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

By this opportunity on behalf of staff and management we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for having stayed with us during your holiday in Ubud, Bali.

We are sorry to hear about the yoga, our Balinese yoga instructor is available 6 days a week and this complimentary activity is start in the morning from 7am for one hour whilst arrangement on other time or privately will be at additional cost.

In regard to the damp smell in our ground floor room, we have found the solution by opening up and build a new terrace on the back side of the room to help the fresh air circulated into the room. Currently we are almost at the end of the project and by the next couple of week ahead, all of our room on the ground floor will have a new looking and free of damp smell.

Thank you for your review and please do not hesitate to contact us for any of assistance needed at your convenience, and we are looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Puri Sunia in Ubud - the room, the people, the yoga & the food were incredible! Highly recommend starting the day with their early morning yoga, going to the rice fields, leaving a good hour or so for breakfast (incredible) and enjoying the stunning pool area. We are looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jess s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Jess S,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable experience during your stay with us and it is a pleasure to know that you had a good time.

Please feel free to contact us if you wish to have any assistance at your convenience and looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again to your "peaceful home" in the near future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I just spent a few nights at the Puri Sunia Resort with my mother, and it was my best hotel experience ever. We were thrilled with the attentiveness and care shown by all the staff, and they repeatedly went out of their way to make our stay as wonderful and comfortable as possible. The rooms and facilities were beautiful and well maintained. Every need we had was addressed swiftly and with a smile. The breakfast was delicious - and huge. Afternoon tea was also a nice touch. I also loved the morning yoga, local village trekking and free hourly shuttle to Ubud. If I return to Bali I will *definitely* stay at the Puri Sunia Resort again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktinamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Ktinamg,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

Thank you for your review and we are happy to know that you had a great time staying with us.

In this opportunity we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for having stayed with us and it is a pleasure to be able to show you Puri Sunia's hospitality.

Please feel free to contact us if you wish to have any assistance at your convenience and looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again to your "peaceful home" in the near future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
809 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#5 of 199 in Ubud
371 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#45 of 199 in Ubud
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#34 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#35 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £63 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing