We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful resort”
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #36 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Amazing: rooms, marble ensuite, staff, service, attention to details, grounds, breakfasts (4 delicious choices with some options with in each of the 4). We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was great as well. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YeviNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Ms. YeviNY,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable experience during your stay with us and it is a pleasure to know that your recent stay with us was incredible.

Looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future and please contact us should you need any assistance at your convenience.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    187
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
171
576
69
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at Puri sunia and it was absolutely fantastic! We booked a room very last minute and when we got there they upgraded us to a deluxe suite. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the food is delicious and the whole experience was above our expectations. My boyfriend's family sent a bottle of champagne to the room and two staff people came to arrange everything beautifully. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Ms. Carolina M,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

By this opportunity we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for having stayed with us during your holiday in Ubud, Bali and it is a pleasure to know that you had a great time staying with us.

Feel free to contact us if you need any assistance at your convenience and looking forward to have the pleasure to serve you again at Puri Sunia Resort in the future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Paradise. Great rooms, food and location. Complimentary shuttle bus into ubud every 30 mins. The arrival was superb with a local flower tradition presented and a drink. Would loved to have stayed longer than my three days. A must if you are going to Ubud!

Room Tip: Get there early in the day to enjoy the pool and nice lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mr. Simon C,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

We are happy to know that you had a great time staying with us and thank you for your review.

In this opportunity we would like to thank you for having stayed with us and it is a pleasure to be able to show you Puri Sunia's hospitality.

Please feel free to contact us if you wish to have any assistance at your convenience and looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again to your "peaceful home" in the near future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the beginning of our holiday in BALI in April at the Puri Sunia Resort. Loved the resort and staff - the setting was beautiful as was the morning walks and breakfast. Staff were extremely accommodating. I booked this hotel direct which was very easy and great communication. My only disappointment was when booking I was advised that I could have the interconnecting rooms as we were travelling with our 3 children. This is one of the reasons I chose this hotel as they were quite definite about that in the confirmation emails. Sadly on arrival we were not given interconnecting, in fact our rooms were no where near each other in different buildings. That was my only diappointment (a big one though) but as I said loved the hotel,staff and setting...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Di L,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable experience during your stay with us and it is a pleasure to know that you enjoy your recent stay with us.

We really appreciate your comment and input as it will contribute Puri Sunia's success and become our improvement to be able to provide better quality of service and product in the future.

Currently we have opened our new Two Bedroom Family Pool Villa and in the couple of week ahead we are going to open another new connecting room which will be suitable to accommodate you and family together if you travel again to Ubud. This new category room is also facilitated with modern convenience.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any of assistance needed at your convenience and we are looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Puri Sunia for five nights in April - unfortunately it was supposed to have been six nights but there was a mix up with our booking and they could not accommodate us on our first night. Despite being disappointed that this happened, I was impressed by the way in which they handled the matter through offering an alternative for the first night at their sister hotel (Puri Gangga) - which had originally been a consideration for us - plus an upgrade and complimentary spa treatment.

The Puri Sunia is a peaceful oasis about 15 minutes outside Ubud, and the welcome from the staff when we arrived (and indeed throughout our stay) was second to none. We were always greeted by name and everyone was happy to chat and answer any questions we had. Our room was lovely, the bed was huge and all the little touches were just wonderful. The hotel restaurant was also fantastic; four different types of breakfast - American, continental, Indonesian and the Puri Sunia - that set you up for a good day of sightseeing, complimentary afternoon tea and a good selection of evening meals, both western and Indonesian. The food was presented well and tasted just as good! We also loved the pool and more often than not, had this to ourselves.

The hourly shuttle into Ubud was great, although note that you will be asked to specify the time you wish to be picked up when you leave Puri Sunia. If you change your mind and wish to be picked up later (or earlier) then it is easy enough to call the hotel and let them know. After the trouble we had getting a taxi driver to find the hotel one night we opted for the shuttle every time!

The hotel also arranges complimentary activities although we only participated in the walk through the village and the rice paddies. This was fun, although with a large group then it is not always possible to hear what the guide is saying.

So, in summary, we loved this hotel and would highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scurfih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Scurfih,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

We are happy to know that you had a great time staying with us and thank you for your review.

In this opportunity we would like to thank you for having stayed with us and it is a pleasure to be able to show you Puri Sunia's hospitality.

Please feel free to contact us if you wish to have any assistance at your convenience and looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again to your "peaceful home" in the near future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

1. I checked out from Puri Sunia Resort a few hours ago and I am already missing it and it's entire staff. I have never in my life seen such a wonderful and a cheerful team. I was amazed by their positive attitude. They had become like a family. I am surely going to miss them. :(

2. The Balinese food is simply amazing with superb presentation. What is really touching is the way they serve you the food with love. One of The chefs, Gusti, himself served us the food and explained how he made it. What can be better than that! :) Their tea time cake is a must have. It was really sweet of them to save us some for the evening whenever we were out traveling. Thanks Dek Sri, Sri, Buda and others for making us feel so special and serving us with such affection.

3. The room was very spacious with a huuuuuge bed and a lovely balcony. I really liked the way the interiors of the room were done. Eka, had decorated the room and the bathtub so sweetly. Mika, thank you for your help.

4. The complimentary massage is one of the things that Puri Sunia gives you on your arrival and Ayu did a good job. Her 15 mins foot massage was very relaxing especially after a tiring day.

5. Have you ever seen a hotel manager and the staff coming out with you to the main entrance to see you off and wave till you disappear? It was very touching. Thank you Mr. Surya Nata, Gusti, Dek Sri...apologies for forgetting names cause there were many.

6. Thank you Surya for giving us a good room. :)

See you all soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revatipuranik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mr. Revatipuranik,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

By this opportunity on behalf of staff and management of Puri Sunia Resort would like to thank you for your review and it is a pleasure to know that you had a great time staying with us.

We are hoping to be able to have another chance to serve you again in the future and please drop us a line should you wish to have any assistance at your convenience.

Looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again to your "peaceful home" in the near future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I have just come back from Bali where i have spent 6 days in a pool villa at Puri Sunia. The resort is so beautiful and peaceful, you relax immediately. The staff is so nice, you actually get to chat to them and they go out of their way to organize your perfect time in Ubud. They organized for me a visit to one of the Bali healers and also cooked for me something special that was not on the menu just because i was curious to taste a typical Balinese dish.
If you plan to visit Ubud and want to spend some time relaxing and de-stressing in comfortable and exotic surroundings, then Puri Sunia is the place for you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank alberta3370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuriSuniaResort, General Manager at Puri Sunia Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Ms. Alberta3370,

Om swastiastu and greetings from Puri Sunia Resort, Ubud, Bali.

It's been a pleasure for us to read your review and by this opportunity on behalf of staff and management, we would like to thank you for having stayed with us during your holiday in Ubud, Bali.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you wish to have any assistance at your convenience and looking forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Surya Nata
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#30 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#31 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing