We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best of Bali”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the cover of the gazebo while enjoying the natural surroundings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Enjoy the cover of the gazebo while enjoying the natural surroundings
Beyond the edge of the infinity pool is a lovely organic garden
The manicured grounds offer a sanctuary for solitude or space to spread out with family
The clean, spacious rooms offer a retreat from the outdoors
All rooms are appointed with natural materials and traditional furniture
The Balinese and Lotus Suite bathrooms offer a shower, tub and bidet
The Balinese and Lotus Suite bathrooms offer a shower, tub and bidet
Enjoy the convenience and amenities of a full kitchen
Enjoy the convenience and amenities of a full kitchen
Enjoy your meals in the open dining space
the dining and living space are open and inviting.  A screen is provided to ensure privacy if needed
A mix of modernity and tradition make this villa a unique retreat
The Villa living area can double as an extra sleeping space for more guests
The newly renovated living area features open double doors that lead to the grounds
Our living area features a beautiful screen, allowing for privacy when used as a bedroom
The Lotus Suite is pristine and features two lanais, as well as a shared bath with another suite
The Lotus Suite is pristine and features two lanais, as well as a shared bath with another suite
The Balinese and Lotus Suite bathrooms offer a shower, tub and bidet
The Balinese and Lotus Suite bathrooms offer a shower, tub and bidet
The Master Suite, decorated in contemporary Balinese style and occupies the entire upper level
The Master Suite, decorated in contemporary Balinese style and occupies the entire upper level
The Master Suite bath offers a private retreat form the outdoors
The Master Suite bath offers a private retreat form the outdoors
The Temple Suite is a separate apartment unit, located above the garage.
The Temple Suite is a separate apartment unit that features a kitchenette and bathroom with a shower
The Temple Suite is a separate apartment unit that features a kitchenette and bathroom with a shower
The Temple Suite is a separate apartment unit that features a kitchenette and bathroom with a shower
The building detail is beautiful, allowing your visit to feel special and authentic
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
AdrianLM
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best of Bali”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

It was our first time in Bali, a trip that for months seemed would be equally unpredictable and exciting. I had heard from previous visitors that the island was one of those last remaining magical havens on Earth; a true paradise where people adventured to escape the stresses of life in the concrete jungles of the world, but nonetheless a place where only a certain type of person could truly connect with the soul of the island.

I was anxious, sometimes nervous at the prospects of crossing many oceans to find myself lost in the insecurities of the foreign and unknown. Over 30 years of my life have been spent exploring distant corners of the world and yet, somehow the anticipation of arriving in Bali still seemed like a feat of its own. Then the day came, and from that moment on, life has never been the same.

Villa Tirta Indah was where it all started, and quite frankly, where a piece of my heart & soul will always reside. I wish I had the words to express the magnificence of this sacred haven on the outskirts of Ubud. The people, the place, the experience -- it's everything that's beautiful about life. From the moment we arrived and to this very day, I feel like I've finally felt what true peace can be, and for anybody out there wondering where his can be found, look no further. Villa Tirta Indah, the staff, the village, it's the kind of place that will change your life in the most beautiful of ways.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing staff!
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica Z
Portland, OR
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful House in Balinese Paradise”
Reviewed 19 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The villa is an easy drive (or scooter ride) from the heart of Ubud, taking you away from the tourism and chaos to a private, luxurious house right by the rice paddies (wow, so beautiful to walk by those rice fields!). The grounds are a Balinese paradise, with a gorgeous carved wooden entryway, a luxurious pool with comfy loungers, a traditional Balinese temple, a BIG organic garden (with a fountain and giant catfish in the pond!), and a peaceful little Indonesian-style gazebo for lounging. The inside of the house has more of a Western type of luxury feel to it - marble floors, flat screen TV, big dining room table, three big bedrooms with comfy king size beds, AC, etc. The staff are sweet and adorable, doing a nice job of taking care of you without feeling underfoot or in the way. The owners also pay attention to decadent little details, like organic, yummy-smelling soap and big, fluffy towels. I highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decadent grounds and comfortable, classy, spacious interior.
Liked least: We could hear the road from the yard (but not from inside the house)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balilight...
Nevada City, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely serene few days! Simply gorgeous and elegant villa!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Our first trip to Bali! After a very long haul to paradise (from US) I don't think we were prepared for the experience about to take place. We walked through the doors of the villa and our jaws dropped...stunning grounds, lush gardens, infinity pool, profound statues of Hindu deities, and beautifully detailed architecture! The open spaced, clean, and luxurious rooms were welcoming and as we easily settled in we could not believe our lucky stars! The food was fabulous and the staff were extremely helpful and gracious! I enjoyed visiting the temple of the grounds. This place is spiritually uplifting! A great place for families, my daughter definitely enjoyed the pool, lounging in the living room, and visiting the fish pond in the organic gardens! Truly a gem! Nothing was a disappointment, absolutely brilliant!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Balinese Suite
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M
Pioneer, California
2 reviews
“So elegant and comfortable!”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I was at Villa Tirta for two days and one night. The time I spent there was just perfect because I felt right at home. The owner, Michael, gave a personal tour of the grounds when my partner and I arrived and we were offered fresh coconut juice with a tasty snack for our welcome. We were allowed to select any room from the large and extravagant home stay, which was also a nice touch. Every room was so beautiful, it made it hard to choose:) I have to also say that the furniture was extremely comfortable and clean all the way from the living room couch, to the outdoor lounge chair cushions, and to the elegant bed! In addition, the staff were very helpful and kind. In the morning our breakfast was made to order and was delicious! I would not hesitate to return to Villa Turta anytime I am in Bali!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the length of the pool and the large tv with many of movies to choose from and the comfortable furniture
Liked least: had to get up in the middle of the night to open the window to make the room cooler
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Californi...
Pioneer, California
2 reviews
“Incredible Place to Stay”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I stayed at Villa Tirta just before i left Bali and it was the absolute best way to end my stay on the Island. The Manager and owner of the Villa, named Michael, gave my partner and myself a personal tour of the facilities. These included a beautiful infinity pool, three amazing bedrooms, and, my favorite, an entirely organic garden which the manager said supplies this villa, his other villa, and one of the local restaurants with their produce. The Villa also has a TV and DVD player which includes a huge selection of movies to watch which are on the hard drive. The staff a the Villa will make you breakfast in the morning, for us, it was a delicious Balinese pancake with Banana, honey and sugar.

After staying in Ubud for several nights, it was a relief to get away from the more populated parts of Bali and stay in a very secluded neighborhood. Even the ride to Villa Tirta was beautiful!! The villa is near to a major road, but the management has done a great job to dampen the noise by planting numerous trees, as well as installing a nice water fountain so you hear falling water, rather than traffic. The beds at the Villa were some of the most comfortable beds I have stayed in over the last five months of my travels throughout Southeast Asia. While it did get a little warm at night, after opening the windows, it cools the room down nicely and i slept great.

All in all, my stay at Villa Tirta was amazing and i would recommend it to anyone who has an opportunity to stay there. My personal thanks to the management, as well as the staff who work at Villa Tirta for making my final stay in Bali the best part of my trip to the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The best part of Villa Tirta, I believe, was the organic garden.
Liked least: The part I liked least was how hot it got at night, but it was rectified by opening the windows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caddis007
Southern Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rent this property if it's available, but be prepared to make some compensations”
Reviewed 16 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This is an exceptional rental villa and an excellent value. We lived here for 22 nights in late February and early March, 2013, so we have come to know it very well.

The villa itself is three huge bedrooms (which could use some upgraded mattresses), two bathrooms, a foodie quality kitchen, a dining room, a movie screen with a hard drive full of movies (no television or cable service) and two excellent verandas, all in stone, tile and concrete. There is a separate temple suite, which was occupied by the night watchman during our stay, with an attached temple. The grounds are completely walled, with a beautifully carved gate, and include immaculate landscaping, an utterly delightful infinity edge pool with sun deck, and an ample kitchen garden. It is quite well managed, and the staff is excellent. Putu, the cook arrives on time every morning with her helper Kadek, and they provide hot breakfast to your order, which includes beautifully carved fruit. Their demeanor is always happy and quiet and they seem to delight in pleasing the guests. Breakfast includes traditional Indonesian fare, American favorites like bacon, eggs, potatoes and toast, European offerings like crepes with bananas and maple syrup, and after our visit, possibilities also include Quiche de Fromage, fresh baked French Bread, Apple Tarts, and French Onion Soup and Banana Creme Pie. The kitchen is equipped with a five burner gas stove and oven, although the oven is a bit dodgy as to temperature. There is ample cookware, with Henkel cutlery, ample dishes and silverware, ample pots and pans, a rice cooker, a blender and a toaster oven. There is no microwave or dishwasher. The internet connection is usually sufficient to stream AlJazeera in English, but bring your extender if you want to work upstairs. The entertainment system can play BluRay disks, which may be had in Ubud for about $1.50US

The included vehicle is a fairly late model, well maintained Suzuki van like thing, Katut, our driver keeps it very clean, arrives exactly when promised, and is an extremely diligent and careful driver who has our complete confidence (reach him at 0817552145 whether you are staying at the villa or not). He is also a really nice and gentle man. Gedek is the night watchman/maintenance man, and is rarely seen, but much appreciated. He and Kadek also have a beautiful son, who we met briefly. Truly, the staff is the best feature of this property!

The pool is brand new, engineered and maintained to first world standards and is pure liquid refreshment. My suggested daily schedule is coffee, breakfast, a dip in the pool, a killer one hour massage for $15US, shower and dress, a short excursion to the market or for shopping, lunch in town, a long dip in the pool, rock ‘n roll on the headphones, cocktails, make dinner and watch a movie. Anything more than that will require a few hours in the car in miserable traffic.

So, our advice is to rent this property if it is available, but be prepared to make some compensations. There are several things you will need to deal with. First is the noise. The villa directly abuts one of the main roads to Kintamani, and the traffic noise is quite loud and incessant. The reviewer who wrote that it was “...a quiet location” must have either been deaf or someone’s brother in law! Kintamani is near one of the volcanos, and is a source of large amounts of stone and volcanic sand, which are used in just about everything here. Consequently the large trucks regularly trundle up the hill, get their cargo and return, often using engine braking. There is a constant flow of tour busses, cars, motorcycles, scooters, ambulances and the like. We are not new to Southeast Asia, and we know that it is always noisy, but this is over the top. We always travel with foam earplugs, and have found them essential to sleep here, as the villa does not have air conditioning and one must sleep with the windows open. We did find a big box (200 pairs) of foam earplugs in the bottom right of the china cabinet, so we are no anomaly. There are no screens on the windows or doors, and while it’s not particularly buggy right now, there are some bugs. We did not find the grill. The daytime traffic noise is also overpowering, so I spent a lot of time with my headphones listening to music. Traffic also causes another problem. Transportation is very slow. The vehicle and driver bear no fault for this, but any excursion beyond Ubud usually takes a couple of hours, and is, rightfully, an extra charge to you.

So, if you are coming, and we suggest you do, remember to DEET up and bring your own fly swatter (there isn’t one here), bring your music and headphones, sleep with foam earplugs or don’t sleep, and don’t plan a lot of long range excursions.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Staff and the pool, in that order. And I loved the pool.
Liked least: The noise.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2013
OWENERS RESPONSE,

Surprising and hurtfully to us and the staff this reviewer (Mr. Michael) gave our Villa three stars. We own two properties in Indonesia. Both are in Bali and in the Ubud area. Both of these properties my wife (Ketut) and I (American) lived in personally and call home! We purchased our first home together in central Ubud. This property is named Villa di Abing (www.villadiabing.com). We acquired this property just before being married. The second home is just outside Ubud, almost to Tampaksiring (subject of review), when my wife was pregnant with our daughter, Jessynta, now five years of age. I know both these properties intimately! Truthfully both of these properties have their own advantages and disadvantages. You can find both these properties listed on Tripadvisor, Flipkey, and VBRO. We have an outstanding record of quality accommodations and reviews! It is our highest intention to be sure all guests have the best experience as possible.
At the time of Mr. Michael and Mrs. Barbara stay at Villa Tirta Indah, Ketut and I were staying at our other property, Villa di Abing. We were here on our own vacation from the States. We invited Mr. Michael and Barbara over for dinner and asked them for their honest opinion of Villa Tirta Indah after opening and sharing a very nice bottle of wine from Napa, California. We felt they would have good suggestions because they were close to the end of their three week stay. They gave us four suggestions. The suggestions were; air conditioners in each room, a dining table for the outside veranda, additional hooks for hanging cloths or towels in each bathroom, and replace a fan that had some noise when running at a high speed. All of these suggestions are being implicated and will be completed before our return to the States and before the next guest checks in. Everything else they shared about their stay was very positive!!!
Mr. Michael had some very strong opinions about noise and traffic in his review. Bali is an Island with 3,500,000 people living on it. There is no doubt or disputing this exists in Bali. But, in Bali’s defense, Mr. Michael planed his vacation during a time most Balinese Hindu residents prepare and celebrate their Nyepi New Year. This celebration starts with a cleansing involving truck and bus loads of Balinese either going to the ocean or to Tirta Springs just up the road from our Villa. It seems to me everyone on the mountain goes to the ocean and everyone nearer the ocean comes to the Springs, it just depends on each Village. This celebration includes a day of silence that closes the international airport, DPS. To the best of my knowledge this only happens in one place in the world, Bali. There are also many improvements going on to the infrastructure of the road systems in Bali at this time with many detours of traffic. Suggesting a previous review was by a deaf person or someone’s brother- in- law was an unfair assessment.
Most people come to Bali to openly immerse themselves in the culture of Bali. It is probable not the best place to come for a quiet vacation.
Mr. Michael shared with us he lives on 100+ acres of land at 8000 feet of elevation in Colorado, USA and he travels with earplugs, I think these facts best sums it up.

Michael and Ketut
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indolinz
Indonesia
1 review
“Incredible house in a quiet location”
Reviewed 9 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The house was a great find with more than enough space for 9 of us. The staff was very friendly and helpful providing free transportation around Ubud and free breakfast daily. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious rooms and Balinese furniture
Liked least: The pool wasn't finished yet.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing