We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value - fabulous service!”
Review of Melting Wok Warung

Melting Wok Warung
Ranked #16 of 746 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: New restaurant on busy road, just out of Ubud Centre. Small menu with excellent Indonesian food, cooked with a slight European twist.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent value - fabulous service!”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My husband and I ate at the Melting Wok on our last night in Ubud - we managed to get a 6.30pm booking having attempted the 7pm slot but this was already taken...as we watched during our meal it appears that they stagger arrivals so that the small kitchen can manage the meals.

The delightful welcome was much appreciated - staff and management are just lovely. As others have mentioned a very small menu - but at a very small price! Very good food - but not great. I asked for Medium heat in my chicken curry with rice and maybe could have gone Medium-Hot. The creme brule was a real highlight! Would recommend this place and will visit again if I ever get the chance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Talk61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,622
    670
    168
    43
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Especially good cooking and flavours with high quality/local produce. Nice touches like homemade bread & fresh greens.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, well-priced, fantastic food + atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Lovely, fresh food. Really good value for money - would be worth it at double the price! Restaurant atmosphere and decor at warung prices. Great central location, super friendly staff that will accommodate changes to food if you want or need them.

Food is Indonesian style (though run by lovely French lady) with chicken/beef/pork/marlin currys with noodles or rice (Rp30,000-40,000), as well as a daily special (around Rp50,000).

Well worth a visit :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank freekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fine dining for next to nothing !!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The food was AMAZING fresh simple beautiful ideas the owner is french and so are the deserts YUMMMMMMM so so cheap and so deliscous definately deserves its rating make sure you book if its for dinner they are always BUSY !!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SaMGtheArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb!!!!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Our driver had trouble finding this gem of a place but I was determined and boy was I glad we did. Genevieve the owner was lovely and the restaurant had a very warm ambience about it. The chicken curry was delicious and the Creme caramel was the icing on the cake. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Melting Wok Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing