We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal in Bali”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melting Wok Warung

Melting Wok Warung
Ranked #13 of 723 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: New restaurant on busy road, just out of Ubud Centre. Small menu with excellent Indonesian food, cooked with a slight European twist.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best meal in Bali”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Had tofu curry and creme brûlée, both were delicious, well presented and by far the nicest meal I had in my 2 weeks. Slightly dodgy wifi, but food was perfection.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zandra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,523
    647
    161
    42
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
casa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“good food, make a stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Managed to eat a late lunch with a reservation here and was not disappointed. While I was eating many other were very lucky to also grab a table. Should you not already have a reservation, try for a late lunch or an early dinner and you just may get a table! Of course should you prefer the traditional dining times, do be sure to have a reservation!
I had the ginger chicken which was very yummy and came with a green papaya salad. The chicken was nice and moist and tasted absolutely delicious. The "medium spicy" sambal was fire-y hot and pleased my want for spice!

The caramel creme at the end was perfect.

The lovely Geraldine takes great pleasure in ensuring that all of her diners are enjoying their meal and takes time to talk to them. Do visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inasianow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just the bend we wanted after a day of out and about on the motorcycle. The service was excellent and as a gluten free family the helped in every way they could in telling us about the food and the ingredients. The food was tasty, fresh, well presented and excellent serving sizes. The best part was they had beer that wasn't just Bintang. My children enjoyed their meals and we loved the price tag at the end. Great!
The greeting and farewells were genuine. A nice personable French woman was always checking on our comfort and the staff were outstanding. One of the best places we have eaten in Ubud.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickcoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“This place woks! Wok on!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Time after time, trip after trip Melting Wok never disappoints! Soooo consistent, soooo delicious.
(I really take exception with reviewer Anitawar below describing Melting Wok - along with 3 other top Ubud restaurants including Bridges - as boring: indeed she seems to have declared war with almost every restaurant in Ubud that's she's visited) Yes Melting Wok's menu is small - but does that make it boring? Hell no! Not when everything on the menu is absolutely killer! Any day of the week I'd rather have a small menu done brilliantly, than a mediocre expansive menu with too many choices.

Incredible value for money, incredibly tasty food, incredibly friendly staff and manager - what more could you want (and anyone that can call the owner/manager of this restaurant rude must have behaved in a truly vile manner themselves - as she is one of the most polite, gregarious, genuine human beings you will encounter anywhere).

A seminal part of my Ubud experience - please just keep on keeping on - you make thousands and thousands of people so happy every year! And it's gratefully appreciated!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Fris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food with good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This restaurant is located in the heart of Ubud. It is in a very convenient place just 5 min walk away from Ubud market. The restaurant is very clean and tidy. It is located on the second floor, so you can enjoy the vista of Ubud if you sit beside the window. The food is delicious and the price is very affordable. We ordered 2 courses, 2 drinks and 1 dessert just for 150k IDR. The cream caramel with coconut milk is very tasteful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charley_zhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Melting Wok Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing