We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average.”
Review of Jangkrik Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jangkrik Homestay
Ranked #106 of 654 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Its a tidy guest house in a nice location, but the dog is very angry and you have to walk past it everytime you go in and out!
The landlord i observed one afternoon to take too much interest in a young lady travelling on her own. He was looking at her for far too long, she moved inside her room to get away from him and left the next day maybe just coincidence she left next day, i don't know.
Strange place after reading what everyone else wrote about the place our experience was different to others who went there.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good upstairs with a nice view over the rooftops. The wifi did not work in our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

This homestay is a little gem in a local compound off Hanoman Street. It is very clean (staff clean the balconies every day and your room every other day), the rooms are attractive (the hostess has an eye for décor), each with private bathroom. Every room has an outside area with table and chairs where you have breakfast, 4 of these on the balconies with a lovely view of the rooftops of Ubud, and 2-3 downstairs in the courtyard with a view of the family’s new gazebo & Shiva fountain, Ganesha statue, and greenery. The breakfasts (tea/coffee and fruit pancake or fruit toasted sandwich or vegetable omelette with bread & butter) are well above average, especially the banana pancake (with caramel sauce & coconut shavings) and are always served with a lovely plate of tropical fruit – I got very attached to that! The wifi works really well and we made the most of it sitting out on the balcony planning the next parts of our trip online & catching up with family and friends by Skype.

It is a relatively new business, about 2 years, and the local Balinese couple (Made & Kadek) running the place are very friendly and keen to achieve high standards, so if there’s anything you need or if you have any problems, talk to them about it as they will sort it out for you. We stayed 2 weeks so a few special requests cropped up. For example, we got to know them and knew we could trust them so we left quite a lot of our backpack stuff with them, so we could travel light when going to the Gili Islands & Flores, and then we came back to Ubud to pick our stuff up and stay another 2 nights with them before moving on. Their kids were very nice too & lent a hand from time to time at the homestay and they also have a clothes shop nearby.

It is reasonably priced – we paid 200 000 Rp per night in June booking in advance, including breakfast, and even though there is a lot of competition in Bali keeping prices down, I felt this was really good value for money given how attractive the accommodation was, the standard of cleanliness (if you know Indonesia you will know that you cannot assume cleanliness especially at reasonable prices!) and the quality of the breakfast.

We got really settled in and started to feel very much at home! The balcony area in particular made the homestay special, because you could sit out, enjoy the view and the breeze, check your email, and it was also sociable because if the other guests are open to meeting people it’s easy to get chatting in the outside area. We made quite a few friends who were in rooms near to us and we teamed up for joint sight-seeing or dinners many times.

Made & Kadek were very happy to fill up our water bottles for us every day for free from their big reusable drinking water container, like all the locals have, (to avoid us buying bottles all the time & generating plastic waste that Bali can’t cope with…), but you need to make the effort to ask because the water distributor is in their kitchen and you can’t see it. Made mentioned he had a spare distributor and I suggested they make it available for guests to use so he was looking for it, but it had not appeared yet during our stay.

They have a dog and a couple of cute cats that were friendly and occasionally tried to join breakfast! We found them fun but thought I'd mention it for any travellers with allergies.

Made & Kadek organized us our transfer to the Gilis and also our transfer onto Candidasa efficiently with only a day's notice and with a competitive price, but if you want to buy activities or packages from them and price is important, shop around too because it’s not their main business and there are so many different offers competing for tourists in Ubud (for example you can get a taxi & driver for a day for 300 000 – 350 000 Rp if you bargain well).

I have one improvement to suggest: put fly screens over the traditional Balinese carved stones that provide ventilation above the windows and doorways in the room and the bathroom. Currently they are (very pretty, but) completely open, which lets mosquitos fly in. There were not many mosquitos compared to other places, but there were some, and although locals don’t care, I’m sure some of the guests (including myself – mosquitos love me!!!) could do without this. This would make the accommodation even better.

Just beware of their neighbours! When you arrive and enter the compound from Hanoman street, make sure you walk right to the back, and don’t believe you are at Jangkrik until you actually see the sign for “Jangkrik Homestay”, because their neighbours also have a homestay that you have to walk past on your way in, and apparently they quite often try to divert people who have reserved at Jangkrik by telling them they are already at Jangkrik when they are not…..

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. The rooms downstairs have terraces that are nice too, but the balcony space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParisTraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Great location! Made and kadek are absolutely lovely and made me feel so welcome again! Great value and would highly recommend for backpackers or even travellers who want a homestay experience rather than a western hotel. It has everything you need and the owners make your stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcbcacsc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Made and Kadek are very caring people and will help with anything you need or want. We stayed for 3 nights the first time and when I got sick on the final morning, Made and Kadek were right there to give me medication and take me to the doctor. We didn't want to travel out of town to our next booked accommodation and they were already fully booked at Jangkrik for that night, so Made organized for us to stay right across the road with his brother, which made our day much easier. When we later returned to Ubud from other areas of Bali, we went back to Jangkrik and it was just like returning home (we even got the same room again).
I also agree with other reviewers, the location and breakfasts are excellent. I definitely recommend this place to anyone, do yourself a favour and stay with Made and Kadek while you're in Ubud.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed four nights at Jangkrik in May 2013. Of course for 200,000 rph/night including breakfast, one should not expect much.

The family was warm, friendly, helpful, and attentive (arranging and even giving us rides, helping with bug bites, warning us from overspending, etc.). The breakfast was way better than I expected (omelets with toast and fruit and coffee, for example). It is also centrally located in Ubud. The room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom.

Though it is back off the street and the street noise is not an issue, the roosters begin around 4. The family is up and moving around 6. Construction workers INSIDE THE COMPOUND start around 8. In the afternoon, it is still construction workers until 5, then music. Then there was the dog. One night there was a little girl singing upstairs at 11pm. It was not quiet. We slept with earplugs.

The fan was weak even at the highest setting, which made the room really hot at night. We bought and burned the bug coils to keep them off us at night, which did not work.

Our room was downstairs. I think the upstairs rooms might be quieter and get better airflow, but they were full when we got there.

If you can deal with the heat, sleep with earplugs, and withstand the bugs at night, the family and the breakfast will leave you feeling good about their place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs to reduce the noise and foot traffic and to increase airflow.
See more room tips
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The Jangkrik homestay is a really nice location in the middle of Ubud. Although it is very central, it's quiet (except when they are doinge maintenaince work). You don't hear anything from the street. If you wan't to, you get into the familylife of that homestayfamily.The rooms are very cozy and clean, but one day I asked to get my sheet changed and hab the impression, that they changed my sheet into a used one. But I said it to the stuff and got a new sheet. The breakfast was the best of the homestay. I got bananapancakes with coco and some special honey, fruit salat and a pot hot water, so you could make tea or coffee. I can hardly recommend it, even when you are travelling alone. Because if you don't want it you must not be alone. And if you find something that is disturbing yoz, just say it and they will help you.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balikoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

At $15/night including nice breakfast for 2, couldn't beat it. Fan and bed were a little noisy, and it does get hot even at night, but it's very quiet, central, owners are friendly and helpful. Great deal in Ubud.

Room Tip: upstairs room maybe quieter and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francoiseaccordion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1 mi away
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
#12 of 654 in Ubud
399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suparsa's Home Stay
Suparsa's Home Stay
#9 of 654 in Ubud
281 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
1 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jangkrik Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jangkrik Homestay

Address: Jalan Hanoman 60, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 654 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £9 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jangkrik Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search on Google for "jangkrik ubud". Jangkrik Homestay is a family guesthouse in the center of Ubud on the 2nd largest shopping street of Ubud. You will find us behind our clothing shop named CITADO. We started in June 2011 with 2 rooms and now we have 6 rooms with all modern amenities; good WiFi, hot water in a private bathroom, super-clean rooms with double beds and excellent mattresses, free breakfast. We are within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, cafes and supermarkets and the famous Yoga Barn is just around the corner. Despite all the buzz around our homestay, you will enjoy tranquility and peaceful life the Balinese way on our grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Jangkrik Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jangkrik Homestay Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing