We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome family homestay in Ubud, Bali”
Review of Jangkrik Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jangkrik Homestay
Ranked #81 of 554 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome family homestay in Ubud, Bali”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Marde and Kadek were very friendly hosts, and the room included breakfast which had a few options - we had fresh fruit salad and vegetable omelettes which were very good.
The whole family was actively involved in the local ceremonial life... they took us to a new moon ceremony at the temple in the Monkey Forest Sanctuary, and we saw them perform singing and dancing in the temple across the street as part of the traditional Kecak and Fire dances.
The only drawback of this place is their cranky old dog who likes to bark as you come in, a bit scary if you're not confident with dogs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    50
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
60
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I came to jangkrik homestay while I was sick with Typhoid, as soon as we got here the host was so nice and happy and made us feel really welcome! As soon as she found out I was sick and I told her I was going to go to a doctor she gave me coconut water and told me that she would make me any foods I needed, she then called the doctor for me and got 2 of her employees to take me an my boyfriend down separately on the back of their motorbikes to the doctors, the employees waited for us out the front of the doctors and drove us back! Everyday the staff asked if I was ok and of I needed anything at all! Breakfast was excellent everyday we were here and the host also organised the shuttle bus to take us to the airport :)
The rooms were so nice and the beds were really comfortable!
The position of the homestay is really good as well, it is just a short walk to everything but it's a very quiet and relaxing environment just off the main roads.
I would DEFINATLY stay here again!!!
Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We recommend this place.

It is nice and clean, it has hot water, the owners are very kind and helpful and the price is great (8 euro per person per night).
The breakfast is included and it is absolutely amazing.the friendly staff bring it to you when you want. they change the breakfast menu every day with a plate of fresh fruit and coffee or tea.
The homstay is in one of the main streets, so you can walk to the touristy places easily.the only problem is the roosters that sing in the early morning but that's the situation everywhere in ubud.
You really should go there!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrencyFrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The family is great. Two lovely daughters. The father really works the getting higher on Trip Advisor thing. There are cheaper places, but this one is centrally located in the coolest part of Ubud. Everything is within walking distance. Breakfast was great. We meet some great people. You have to walk in past some other local peoples place, but once you get there it is nice, and set up in an open style where it is easy to connect with and get to know other guests. If you like that kind of thing. If you rather have more privacy that is okay, but you might want to choose another place.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy ask for the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurousSpirit88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Its a tidy guest house in a nice location, but the dog is very angry and you have to walk past it everytime you go in and out!
The landlord i observed one afternoon to take too much interest in a young lady travelling on her own. He was looking at her for far too long, she moved inside her room to get away from him and left the next day maybe just coincidence she left next day, i don't know.
Strange place after reading what everyone else wrote about the place our experience was different to others who went there.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good upstairs with a nice view over the rooftops. The wifi did not work in our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This homestay is a little gem in a local compound off Hanoman Street. It is very clean (staff clean the balconies every day and your room every other day), the rooms are attractive (the hostess has an eye for décor), each with private bathroom. Every room has an outside area with table and chairs where you have breakfast, 4 of these on the balconies with a lovely view of the rooftops of Ubud, and 2-3 downstairs in the courtyard with a view of the family’s new gazebo & Shiva fountain, Ganesha statue, and greenery. The breakfasts (tea/coffee and fruit pancake or fruit toasted sandwich or vegetable omelette with bread & butter) are well above average, especially the banana pancake (with caramel sauce & coconut shavings) and are always served with a lovely plate of tropical fruit – I got very attached to that! The wifi works really well and we made the most of it sitting out on the balcony planning the next parts of our trip online & catching up with family and friends by Skype.

It is a relatively new business, about 2 years, and the local Balinese couple (Made & Kadek) running the place are very friendly and keen to achieve high standards, so if there’s anything you need or if you have any problems, talk to them about it as they will sort it out for you. We stayed 2 weeks so a few special requests cropped up. For example, we got to know them and knew we could trust them so we left quite a lot of our backpack stuff with them, so we could travel light when going to the Gili Islands & Flores, and then we came back to Ubud to pick our stuff up and stay another 2 nights with them before moving on. Their kids were very nice too & lent a hand from time to time at the homestay and they also have a clothes shop nearby.

It is reasonably priced – we paid 200 000 Rp per night in June booking in advance, including breakfast, and even though there is a lot of competition in Bali keeping prices down, I felt this was really good value for money given how attractive the accommodation was, the standard of cleanliness (if you know Indonesia you will know that you cannot assume cleanliness especially at reasonable prices!) and the quality of the breakfast.

We got really settled in and started to feel very much at home! The balcony area in particular made the homestay special, because you could sit out, enjoy the view and the breeze, check your email, and it was also sociable because if the other guests are open to meeting people it’s easy to get chatting in the outside area. We made quite a few friends who were in rooms near to us and we teamed up for joint sight-seeing or dinners many times.

Made & Kadek were very happy to fill up our water bottles for us every day for free from their big reusable drinking water container, like all the locals have, (to avoid us buying bottles all the time & generating plastic waste that Bali can’t cope with…), but you need to make the effort to ask because the water distributor is in their kitchen and you can’t see it. Made mentioned he had a spare distributor and I suggested they make it available for guests to use so he was looking for it, but it had not appeared yet during our stay.

They have a dog and a couple of cute cats that were friendly and occasionally tried to join breakfast! We found them fun but thought I'd mention it for any travellers with allergies.

Made & Kadek organized us our transfer to the Gilis and also our transfer onto Candidasa efficiently with only a day's notice and with a competitive price, but if you want to buy activities or packages from them and price is important, shop around too because it’s not their main business and there are so many different offers competing for tourists in Ubud (for example you can get a taxi & driver for a day for 300 000 – 350 000 Rp if you bargain well).

I have one improvement to suggest: put fly screens over the traditional Balinese carved stones that provide ventilation above the windows and doorways in the room and the bathroom. Currently they are (very pretty, but) completely open, which lets mosquitos fly in. There were not many mosquitos compared to other places, but there were some, and although locals don’t care, I’m sure some of the guests (including myself – mosquitos love me!!!) could do without this. This would make the accommodation even better.

Just beware of their neighbours! When you arrive and enter the compound from Hanoman street, make sure you walk right to the back, and don’t believe you are at Jangkrik until you actually see the sign for “Jangkrik Homestay”, because their neighbours also have a homestay that you have to walk past on your way in, and apparently they quite often try to divert people who have reserved at Jangkrik by telling them they are already at Jangkrik when they are not…..

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. The rooms downstairs have terraces that are nice too, but the balcony space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisTraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Great location! Made and kadek are absolutely lovely and made me feel so welcome again! Great value and would highly recommend for backpackers or even travellers who want a homestay experience rather than a western hotel. It has everything you need and the owners make your stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcbcacsc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalow 2
Merthayasa Bungalow 2
#67 of 554 in Ubud
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dewi Antara Homestay
Dewi Antara Homestay
#70 of 554 in Ubud
87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Duana's Homestay
Duana's Homestay
#78 of 554 in Ubud
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rumah Ary Homestay & Spa
Rumah Ary Homestay & Spa
#109 of 542 in Ubud
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Depa House
Depa House
#21 of 554 in Ubud
89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
#15 of 554 in Ubud
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jangkrik Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jangkrik Homestay

Property: Jangkrik Homestay
Address: Jalan Hanoman 60, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jangkrik Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search on Google for "jangkrik ubud". Jangkrik Homestay is a family guesthouse in the center of Ubud on the 2nd largest shopping street of Ubud. You will find us behind our clothing shop named CITADO. We started in June 2011 with 2 rooms and now we have 6 rooms with all modern amenities; good WiFi, hot water in a private bathroom, super-clean rooms with double beds and excellent mattresses, free breakfast. We are within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, cafes and supermarkets and the famous Yoga Barn is just around the corner. Despite all the buzz around our homestay, you will enjoy tranquility and peaceful life the Balinese way on our grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Jangkrik Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jangkrik Homestay Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing