We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than we expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jangkrik Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jangkrik Homestay
Ranked #74 of 523 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“More than we expected!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

During our stay in Lombok we came across a Lonely Planet, stating the prices for staying in Bali. We were prepared to go over our low budget, but when we arrived by shuttle bus in Ubud, a man in traditional clothing picked us up. We told him our budget and he said that was his price.
We walked 5mins and arrived at a peaceful place behind 2 other homestays. The serene sound of the fountain drowned out all street noise and we directly had a good feeling. The place is beautiful and the owners are very friendly. Another guest tipped us about the breakfasts and me and my girlfriend were both very suprised at how delicious they are.
We stayed much longer than we intended, just because of the quality of the rooms, the breakfasts and most of all the family feeling.
We had an upstairs room, it was comfy with a large ceiling fan, a clean bathroom with hot water, good wifi and although I'm quite sensitive to sounds, slept very well and wasn't bothered by loud noise like some other reviews state.
The owner helped us get a good price for hiking Mount Batur, which is generally overpriced if you book it through a booking agency.
We loved our stay here!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeterStrijbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    50
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
60
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Dewa approached us on the streets when we are busy looking for a homestay. We refused to follow him at first as we thought it might be dodgy place as he looks desperate in looking for a guest. Since the homestay is quite close to where we are walking we followed him just to have a look at the room. We loved it the moment we get in...quite a modest room with baliness touched!comfy bed, fancy fan, clean and quite a space to put 2 big backpacks. It has sink and hot shower. We choosed to stayed at the top floor as we figured out it could be noisy in the morning with people and dogs around..it was good choice as the next day there are construction works to upgrade the place and quite noisy! We love to sit long in the balcony enjoying the most delicious banana pancake ever and the scented burning sticks and WiFi! Overall its a great location to stay, nice and freindly family, and dont forget to shop at their clothes store at the homestay street to get a great discount but first make friends with the family:) Oh and Dewa Ngurah is a good driver and infomartive!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I arrived here quite late after a delayed flight with their lovely driver, Dewa, and was simply shown to my room. It was really clean, comfortable and had everything a budget traveller would need (I.e. a nice big bed, toilet paper and a shower). I went out to find some dinner and within spitting distance is a large number of cafés and restaurants. It's also in the nicest shopping street in town. In the morning, breakfast (delicious! ) was served on the little table on the terrace outside my room, and the owner of the house came up for a chat. Although I was only there one night, I would have liked to have stayed longer. The one slightly negative thing I would say is that when I arrived, I was shown my room but wasn't really given any information about breakfast time, check out time etc etc. That may have been down to the late arrival time but it would have been nice to receive a bit of info. Otherwise, excellent little spot!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

i spent almost two weeks in Jangkrik homestay and i didnt mean to but it was so comfy ,great poeple and amazing breakfast that i felt like at home and stayed longer! the price is very competitive anyway its the place to be if you spend few days in Ubud

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laure d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Coming to Ubud means for me... coming to Jangkrik Homestay!. The rooms are clean and the beds are the best, and the fan is more than good,also in the night!. From Jangkrik Homestayi walk the street down and in 10 min. i am in the center off all the nice things!.
And the big surprise every morning when the breakfast is being served, one word only WAUW!!!!!
Made and Kadek have told us about the culture in Bali and where to go to undergo this the best!
So, i have a great time every year i go there, since 5 yaers now!

Room Tip: there are 7 rooms, all are very good!!!!!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AnsHendriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canary Islands, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Nice rooms, good beds, nice family and really good breakfast and nearby the monkeyforrest. Lovely people to stay a few days with. Tip, go on yoga class at yogabarn 5min walk. Take the moening class at 7am that a really good thing to start the a new day

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naomiko2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stay with friendly Balinese family. Lives with Balinese family.

Great location, 5 mis walk to supermarket, 8 mins walk to PERAMA Bus stn.

Yummy Balinese style breakfast, changes everyday.

I was there by myself and have a double bed room.

But the room is hotter than outside at night time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mARy_yjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalow 2
Merthayasa Bungalow 2
#60 of 523 in Ubud
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nick's Homestay
Nick's Homestay
#156 of 523 in Ubud
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dewi Antara Homestay
Dewi Antara Homestay
#87 of 523 in Ubud
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nyoman Murjana Homestay
Nyoman Murjana Homestay
#116 of 523 in Ubud
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rumah Ary Homestay & Spa
Rumah Ary Homestay & Spa
#115 of 526 in Ubud
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
ThreeWin Homestay
ThreeWin Homestay
#29 of 523 in Ubud
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jangkrik Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jangkrik Homestay

Property: Jangkrik Homestay
Address: Jalan Hanoman 60, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 523 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jangkrik Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search on Google for "jangkrik ubud". Jangkrik Homestay is a family guesthouse in the center of Ubud on the 2nd largest shopping street of Ubud. You will find us behind our clothing shop named CITADO. We started in June 2011 with 2 rooms and now we have 6 rooms with all modern amenities; good WiFi, hot water in a private bathroom, super-clean rooms with double beds and excellent mattresses, free breakfast. We are within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, cafes and supermarkets and the famous Yoga Barn is just around the corner. Despite all the buzz around our homestay, you will enjoy tranquility and peaceful life the Balinese way on our grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jangkrik Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jangkrik Homestay Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing