We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private villa in the middle of paddy fields”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gusde House & Villa
Ranked #170 of 622 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had an amazing stay at Gusde House where we stayed at the villa with private pool, with paddy fields view. Gusde and his family's warmth welcome and helpful services gave us a memorable stay in Ubud.

Pros:
- Very quiet and private.
- Clean room, hot shower, comfortable beds and amazing pool!
- Free shuttle service to Ubud town, specifically to their restaurant. Last pickup is 10 PM.
- There's a pantry next to the pool that was well-equipped. Aside from the water filter, we could also boil hot water.
- Breakfast is sent to your doorstep daily.
- Attentive, polite and friendly staff :)

Cons:
- Complimentary breakfast was limited to American, Continental & Indonesian breakfast. I found them too oily for my liking.
- The AC wasn't working very well .. it was very warm during the day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

You can stay in a hotel, or you can stay with Gusde and his family. They treated us like old friends who were visiting from afar. Such gracious hosts, you cannot imagine!

The house is incredibly beautiful and Gusde showed us the significance of every detail -- and every detail had a significance!

They were happy to drive us in and out of town on our own schedules.

Gusde's wife was so hospitable. She took us to yoga with her and didn't even make fun of how much we struggled. Be warned that you may have a few more sun salutations than you expect, and the air is hot and humid; but the setting is far more like a temple than a studio!

The room was large, clean, comfortable and just like the pictures. It was heaven.

One warning. Gusde has two roosters and they begin crowing at first light and keep going all day. Bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Gusde's beautifully-maintained traditional Balinese house for 7 days and had a great time! They made us feel very much at home with their friendly hospitality. The room has a wonderful view of the rice paddies from the back patio. The complementary breakfast was delicious and ample.
Although it's slightly outside of Ubud itself, the free shuttle service into town was very regular, so no problem there. Set in the harmonious family compound, the room was clean, comfortable and quite private. The staff were also very helpful, professional and attentive. Thank you again Gusde and family for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LighthouseHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed three nights in this hotel. The room is very beautiful having the rustic Bali village house with modern facilities. The room was large, and had a nice balcony overlooking rice fields, which I enjoyed a lot. Good quality soap and shampoo was provided. Beautiful ward robe, in room safe box, bed net are all provided. Breakfast is very good and you can chose local or American and the time to be served. Bed and linen were comfortable and AC was sufficient. Room was super clean, so were the towels and sheets. Since the location is about 5 minutes drive to downtown Ubud, the hotel provide a courtesy ride back and forth to downtown. Since we took room (not villa) we didn't have pool, but they would let know if any villa with pool is empty and let us use the pool facility. The owner Mr. Gusde, is a real gentlemen, speaks well English, and is very generous and attentive to the guest needs. He does a hands on management and he personally made sure we had no issue and have a happy and comfortable stay. All other staff are very nice, polite and attentive too.

We had a great stay at a bargain price. So, we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rad_Cyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at gusde house in October.  When we arrived (at 9 pm) only the security guard was there to show us to our room, which was fine.  However,  as we had booked on agoda for a room with a kitchenette we thought at first that we were in the wrong room type.  We figured out that the downstairs area which contained the "kichenette" (gas burner, table, sink and sofa) was private and part of our room.  The room however had no microwave and fridge as advertised on agoda.  The staff at this hotel was amazing though,  the next morning we asked for a fridge and they got us one same day, so no issue.  The agoda ad also shows pictures of a pool.  The pool was only for the use of the people in the villa, so if you don't book the villa that means no pool,  just something to keep in mind.  The owner was very nice and helped us with travel plans, also they were able to arrange a scooter rental for 50K. The cook was also really friendly and he comes to your kichenette every morning at a time you pick to cook you breakfast.  The food was amazing, the first day he cooked us "American style" breakfast, but after speaking with him we told him we wanted to try Balinese breakfast.  After trying it we had it the rest of our stay! The hotel is also a little ways outside of Ubud in a place called "mas". The distance is not an issue as they operate a shuttle to and from town,  it will drop you at the restaurant that they also own.  We ate there twice and the food was good.  The third day of our stay they offered to drop and collect us from th elephant cave which was awesome.  Just one more thing,  if you are coming from the airport we paid 300,000 IR which they told me was because gusde is outside of Ubud (which is a 250K flat rate.  If you check a map the town of Mas is actually closer to the airport than Ubud.  If I was doing that journey again I would argue to only pay 250K.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pantera623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Our stay was wonderful. It is just outside of Ubud though so most taxi drivers do not know the hotel. Our driver from the airport had a very difficult time finding it, though he managed. Upon arriving, we were disappointed since on here it says "bathtub, refrigerator, microwave, kitchenette, coffee/tea maker, fan". None of those were in the room. Since we arrived late at night, the man at the gate did not speak much english and did not know what we were asking. We ended up just going to bed and said we would deal with it in the morning. The next day, we met Gusde who is the owner. We then realized that the whole little villa was ours - upstairs and downstairs, with the kitchenette area. We did not have a fridge, but they had one there by the time we returned later in the afternoon. We also did not have a microwave, but I am pretty sure they would have got us one if we needed one (which we did not!)
The free shuttle to downtown Ubud was great and we were able to take it there and back. The following day, the staff was nice enough to drive us to Elephant Cave and again, pick us up at no additional cost.
The breakfast was the best. Each day we got a LOT of food. Always had a huge plate of fresh fruit, along with fresh juice, coffee and/or tea. Then you would also have either a western breakfast or the Balinese breakfast, which we definitely preferred since it was different and delicious! The chef was the nicest man!
The room was huge and clean with a big balcony overlooking the rice field. Bathroom was also large with a rain shower. Bedroom had mosquito net and a locking closet with huge high ceilings. The downstairs area had a kitchen table and chairs, kitchenette area, wooden couch with cushions and the fridge. Pool was private but we were told we could use it since the villa was unoccupied. Wifi worked well for our whole stay, as did the hot water.
We had a great stay here and would definitely go back if we were to visit the Ubud area again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tata54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I don't know where to start cause there is just so much thing I would like to say about our wonderful experience at the Gusde House & Villa in Ubud.

First, the villa was very beautiful and clean. The bed was very comfy and huge. It is located 5 minutes outside of Ubud in the rice fields so the view from the villa is amazing and it is very quiet. The free breakfast were just delicious. There is also a free shuttle to go in town so it is the best way to enjoy the backcountry and the life in the center of the city.

Second, the host and his wife were just amazing, and so were all the staff. They helped us with so many things and gave us a lot of helpful advices. They also helped us to book a motorcycle at a very good price. Through them and with them, we had the chance to discover the amazing Balinese culture.

We loved that place and we will go back anytime for sure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing but the villa with the private pool is just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pouff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.9 mi away
Loka Pala Villa
Loka Pala Villa
#133 of 622 in Ubud
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kakul Villa Ubud
Kakul Villa Ubud
#105 of 622 in Ubud
67 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chili Cottage
Chili Cottage
#55 of 622 in Ubud
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Asri Sari Villas
Asri Sari Villas
#437 of 622 in Ubud
22 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dupa Ubud Villa
Dupa Ubud Villa
#58 of 622 in Ubud
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Umaya Ubud Villa
Umaya Ubud Villa
#33 of 622 in Ubud
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gusde House & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gusde House & Villa

Address: Jl.Cempaka, Banjar Kumbuh, Mas, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 622 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £14 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gusde House & Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Masvillage of the famous wood carver and only 10 minutes from center of the culture Ubud. Our cottage and villa was built in Balinese modern architecture touch and was designed for relaxing and enjoying the village atmosphere.we provide free shuttle to Ubud at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gusde House & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gusde House & Villa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing