We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and quite place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Ranked #78 of 513 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quite place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located in a great place close to many nice restaurants & walking distance to the monkey forest. The pool was absolutely beautiful & we spent a lot of time in there! The staff were helpful & friendly. We found it a little strange on our arrival to discover there's no reception!! We arrived & were seated at the restaurant at the front & given a welcome drink & told that they would call somebody to take us to our room. These "room boys" sleep in various places on the grounds of the hotel & are always there if you need anything. We thought this was strange (when you compare to what you're use to ie. to a normal hotel) but didn't pose any problem for us!!

The hotel is only fairly new & from my understanding it is run by the family who live there too. They are still building more rooms to the front of the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again! It is very quiet, friendly & we had a relaxing time there!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillabet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    51
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
75
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

After abandoning the next door Ubud Terrace, we stumbled onto this jewel. Its like staying in a hindu temple. Staff and office appear disorganized, but it all works seamlessly. The rooms are spacious and uber clean and the swimming pool is to die for. Nice views, very quiet, and in a great location. Breakfast in the morning is ample. Well worth the extra dollars, Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there is a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed 3 days in pondok Pundi! A wonderful place, quiet, although on the busy Monkey forest street. Wonderful new,room and the pool in front of the room. The best pool we had during our holiday in Indonesia. But a few things were strange. As we arrived we dind,t see a reception, no person who is responsible. Only, young girls with baby on there Brest looking at us, where they guests? We still don,t think so, perhaps family, so we had to search for someone, or scream! Couldn't,t find anyone. Later we noticed there were 3 very nice, polite and helpful boys.although only 7 rooms we didn,t see the owner! Then the breakfast was little bit strange on the first day there were only 2 little pieces baguette the next day there was normal toast bred. But no ham and cheese. so on 2 little pieces baguette you have to eat scrambled eggs and ham and cheese. Then a horrible coffee toebroek! Other coffee like cappuccino you had to pay extra.
It's better they would make. Little buffet, it's. nice restaurant in which you get 15% discount as. Hotel guest. They told us at our last morning. It's better to tell this at the day of arrival. You don,t now who you have to reach in case of emergency during the evening or night. If this normal things would be better the quest would have a better feeling!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at Pondok Pundi for a total of 5 nights and overall, we had a wonderful experience.
It is centrally located, and while it is on the busy Monkey Forest road, the rooms are set far back so the road noise was never an issue. The setting is magical; we were in room 301, a corner room with it's own balcony with an amazing view of the pool down below, and a glimpse of the rice fields. The intricate wood work framing the windows and the door was quite impressive. The queen bed was comfortable. It has a flat screen TV (oddly mounted above the doorway), A/C, small refrigerator, electric kettle for complimentary coffee and tea, free WiFi with a strong signal in the room.
A few minor quirks:
1. every night, a member of the staff would knock at our door to ask us to complete a breakfast selection form. The hotel's full service restaurant (called Icip Icip) where breakfast is served just opened a few weeks ago. It was really unclear why we needed to complete the breakfast form every night when could have easily placed our order when we show up at the restaurant.

2. While everyone in the staff was quite friendly, most speak very little English and communication was sometimes a challenge. There was no "reception desk" per se. The only person who had good command of English was Wayan, who really tried hard to be helpful. One time we tried to make an outside call from the telephone in our room. We could not figure out the correct prefix number to dial in order to make the call. We dialed zero for assistance. The person who answered clearly could not understand what we were asking so he simply hung up. The hotel is in the midst of expansion, adding 4 more rooms plus a spa. I just hope they devote more attention to the customer service side of the business.

Despite the (minor) quirks, I would still highly recommend Pondok Pundi as a place to stay in Ubud. It has a great deal of charm, excellent location and overall great value for the price.

Room Tip: While we enjoyed staying at room 301, I think room 201, also with its own private balcony , provides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. The hotel is nice in a lovely setting, with a view and a pool overlooking the tropical forest. The room was nice and clean.
The hotel however is quite noisy, we were woken either by neighbours or by the staff cleaning rooms almost every day...
If you order breakfast to your room please note it will come at least 30 minutes after the time you actually asked for it to come the previous night which is annoying when you have activities planned during the day...
Good location on the main street!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiemimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I've stayed in ubud two times now and this one was fantastic. You feel like you are staying in a balinese temple (the hotel is on a temple complex). Very serene setting with the back of the hotel up against a private hill. There is a little River that runs in the ravine just at the back right next to the beautiful swimming pool. The staff there are gracious and soo soo nice. The hotel is right next to monkey forest amidst a lot of restaurants and shops. The hotel is brand new but feels historic and they were adding on more rooms and a restaurant as we were there. I will definitely check there first for availability when u go back to ubud.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btravel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Pondok Pundi is absolutly beautiful, very balinese, decorations everywhere- in a fantastic blend with the sorrunding nature. Whenever you wake up in the morning you her All kind of birds, animals and palmtrees wispering at you. Your breakfeast is served at your Big balcony in front of your room. It is up to you what time it is has to be served. The pool is a bit cold, but yet refreshing. The resort is in the middel of everything in Ubud, but still very private setting behind the street (Monkey forrest Road). We stayed 2 adults and 2 children age 5 and 8 in a spacious room with wiew to the pool, great!!!! We had an ekstra bed in the room, but no problem as the room is . The bathroom is a bit dark, but no problem finding the toilet. There is a tub and that is the only showering in there, so you have to stand up in the tub for just a quick shower- but no problem. The kids love hot tubs! Very kind and great service. Overall notning to complain about. Very private feeling and i guess the prices are a bit high for rooms in the touristic areas in Bali.
We payed about 1000 Dkk.pr.Night incl. Breakfeast and ekstra bed for 4 people.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201, the room with the biggest balcony in the intire resort, and also the most pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kuglen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#107 of 193 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Bumi Muwa Ubud
#67 of 513 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indira Cottage
Indira Cottage
#79 of 513 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sri Bungalows
Sri Bungalows
#17 of 513 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lumbung Sari Cottages
Lumbung Sari Cottages
#16 of 521 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kampung Ubud Ibunda Bungalow & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa

Property: Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 513 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing