We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Ranked #79 of 589 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baldwin, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and design”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

What a stunning setting! Centrally located, it's very easy to get around. The rooms were clean, comfy, and big. The pool was beautiful, unfortunately we had a rainy few days and didn't get to use it. Our second time to stay in Ubud, last time we stayed just outside the city, definitely recommend this location more for exploring! No gym, but really not needed here with all the hills you will be climbing, couldn't figure out how to remove it from my rating, sorry!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_M_McGehee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    55
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
79
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The entrance to this hotel is kind of hidden off the road, but the surroundings are beautiful. We had a room at the bottom level facing the pool. The pool was lovely, and so nice to have after a hot day out and about. The room was spacious and pretty clean. However there was not a lot of natural light in this room, as it was on the bottom level. And the bathroom, although clean, was always a bit damp, as were the towels. But I guess you are in a humid forest! so not the worst. Our room did not have the wifi reception either that was advertised, but again this was due to us being the furthest from the reception. A couple in the level above us did not have this problem.

Prehaps request a room on a higher level :)

Location was great, and just a 5 min walk to the monkey forest. Also the restaurant at the front of the hotel was delicious. The grilled crab was one of the best meals we had!

There were a couple of young boys that were always around if we needed anything, and who helped with our luggage etc. Saw in a below review that they mentioned it was not a very professional run hotel. i agree slightly! Was a great stay, and we didnt have any major problems, but reception was just a desk and a phone, and it was sometimes unoccupied.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this inn for two nights. It is very convenient as it is located on a busy street with lots of restaurants and shops.
It is also a 10-minute walk to Ubud market.

We checked in at 7pm into two separate rooms, one on the ground level and the other on the second basement level. The layout of the whole inn is like a Balinese temple, and we were also told that the owners of this inn stay here.

There is also free unlimited wifi throughout the whole inn.

The interior of our suite was quite clean. However, there were many mosquitoes and we also discovered a baby lizard crawling under the bed.

Another unsatisfying factor was that the toilet was too smelly! There was a bathtub with no showering curtain so when we showered, all the water sprayed out and wet the floor around the toilet bowl, which made the floor slippery.

The hotel breakfast is alright, the restaurant has a very nice layout and the staff were pretty friendly. Perhaps they could speed up a bit when serving the breakfast :)

In the evening of our first day there, we went for a swim. The depth of the pool is nice for a good swim and I liked the fact that you could see the forest opposite the pool.



Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothypark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in the HUGE room 301, at the end of the top floor verandah. I say top floor but it is on street level, so few stairs. Levels 1&2 are down, finishing at the rather nice pool. Room was one of their supersize offerings, clean, good plumbing and plenty of hot water, comfortable mattress and pillows. A touch of luxury. Generous and tasty breakfast, very helpful staff. Closer to the Monkey Forest than the market at top of MF Road. Quiet, despite proximity to the road. Only complaint is the reading lights: one romantic but impractical lamp on one side and none on the other. If you read in bed, take your own illumination.

We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 301 is at end of verandah, so no one walks past your window and it's on street level, so go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarteB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed here on my own for 10 nights in May 2013. Absolutely loved my huge corner room (201) that overlooked the infinity pool and the lush ravine behind it. There is a marvellous sense of space in the rooms. It is very tastefully decorated with antique wooden furniture - huge bed, useful writing desk, plenty of electrical points for charging laptops, ipads, cameras etc, empty fridge (two bottles of water supplied each day), coffee/tea making facilities, safe box in the room, huge wardrobe, nice dressing area with good mirror and good light, lovely smelling toiletries provided (as well as toothbrush, shower cap etc).
The terrace has a massive sofa for lounging beneath the fruit trees. There are large French doors on all sides, but massive blackout curtains mean you won't get woken by the sun if you don't want that. The massages in the attached spa are very good and the rooms are peaceful and clean (with shower facilities) but you do need to book in advance as they don't have a huge team.
The staff are charming and not intrusive. It is is a family run place, and the family live in the compound in front of the six guest rooms (which are huge by hotel standards). This gives a nice sense of privacy as well as security when you enter. I accidentally left my door unlocked one day - with my laptop in full view, but it was still there when I got back. The room boys are there throughout the day, keeping an eye on things. I also love the wonderful carvings on the family rooms at the front and the way it was lit up at night. Very beautiful all round!
The only downside was the food. The breakfasts were not really worth bothering with. They ask you to order it the night before and in the end I found it easier to tell them not to bother and just got a pancake and juice somewhere else rather than setting a specific time to wake up.
The hotel is in a really convenient place on Monkey Forest Road so you're spoilt for choice in terms of shops and places to eat. My recommendation is to try the frozen lime and mint drink at either the Three Monkeys restaurant or the cocktail bar a few doors down from Pondok Pundi towards the Monkey Forest. Absolutely delicous!
I would definitely stay here again. It has a lovely intimate, classy feel.

Room Tip: Room 201 is the largest and has a huge terrace that sweeps around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Despite being right on Monkey Forest Road, you feel miles away from it all when you are lounging on your deck or at the pool. The property is built onto a hillside - the pool and 2 of the rooms are at the bottom of the hill, so be prepared for some steps. The few from the rooms is lovely as the back of the hotel faces the infinity pool and a little copse of trees. To reach the rooms, you walk through what I assume is the family's compound with many typical Balinese shrines and architectural features. Very unique to Bali! You order the breakfast from several options each day and can have it delivered to your room. The restaurant (Icip-Icip) also has great menu items. The rooms are big with lovely furniture and comfortable beds. We also took advantage of the spa and got massages. The prices are comparable to what you see from higher end spas, and our massages were first rate.

My only critique or suggestion would be for hotel management to provide the guests with more information about the area, tours, etc. There was absolutely nothing in the room, and in other hotels, I have found this to be a very helpful and thoughtful service.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 and 102 are the bottom of the hill but on the same level as the pool. If other guests are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trubeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, nice pool, spa & restaurant all at very reasonable price. Bit of a walk from the busy side, which makes it nice & quiet. The next time I go back to Bali i would definately go back to Ubud & stay here

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#108 of 196 in Ubud
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lumbung Sari Cottages
Lumbung Sari Cottages
#15 of 570 in Ubud
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Bumi Muwa Ubud
#63 of 589 in Ubud
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sri Bungalows
Sri Bungalows
#21 of 589 in Ubud
618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dewangga Bungalow
Dewangga Bungalow
#28 of 589 in Ubud
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa

Property: Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 589 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Zenrooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing