We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pool and convenient location - breakfast not so great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Ranked #74 of 512 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely pool and convenient location - breakfast not so great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights early September and had a great stay.

The hotel really is beautiful as you walk off of busy Monkey Forest Road and into the family’s Balinese compound complete with temple before you reach the guest accommodation.
Our room was 101 which was at the bottom of the stairs and right by the pool. During quiet times (which to be honest was each day we were there) it was like having a private pool and was great to be able to walk out of the room and straight into the amazingly clean infinity pool with jungle views.
Whilst I enjoyed the position of this pool its location and decoration did mean that it was very dark inside – at night there was only one very dim bedside light. Bathroom was fine… a little dingy but ok.

Coming back to the pool after a hot day doing stuff was absolute heaven.

My main issue was breakfast which I found to be PAINFULLY slow. They ask you to select what you want the night before…so you would think that they would be prepared, but they aren’t.
On the first morning we had arranged an 8.25am pick-up for a bike tour. We went for breakfast at 7.50am and having ordered the night before would have expected the kitchen to be ready – however by 8.25am all we had had was some fruit and tea. We had to leave hungry…and the staff never apologised.

The following morning we had another early pick up so just ordered some croissants to be brought to our room and the last morning we did manage to have a full breakfast but service was so SLOW. Each night I had ticked Coffee with MILK…. Not once did I get any milk without having to ask about 3 times (why have the option to tick MILK if they just ignore it!)

Apart from breakfast grumbles and the dark room I would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Room 101 is right by the pool but a little dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farmerdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    51
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
75
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Staff were friendly. Unfortunately our bed had bugs when we arrived but we were upgraded to a better room and that room was ok. Area surrounding is good and the pool was nice but the room needed better/more TV channels (no English) and the shower was blocked. Massage/spa was very good...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I give this serene place the best possible rewiev. It is well kept, clean and beautiful. The rooms are just a short step from the busy Jalan Monkey Forest, but you have to pass a small family/hotel temple (quite beautiful too) and - in our case - walk down a series of steps to the pool area which is totally quiet. Well, some monkeys playing in the palm trees on the other side of the pool and the small canyon... (you dont have to go to the ridges outside Ubud to have peaceful junglelike surroundings). We stayed in room 102. I highly recommend this room because the poolarea is even more secluded. Almost like we had a private pool during the stay. Attentive and friendly staff. Everything; cleaning, TV, aircon etc worked fine. Nice breakfast.
Walking distance to Ubuds attractions. Monkey forest sanctuary nearby. I recommend this small hotel to anyone and would gladly come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
old bar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Nice and quiet - great pool, nice restaurant, good breaky and lovely staff
Bathroom bit disappointing overall very good - were able to walk everywhere - great cafes and bars some with nightly music - a fair bit cooler as well also pretty much hassle free

Room Tip: Upstairs away from hot setting sun
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chilly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a lovely small hotel to stay in in Ubud. The rooms nearer the pool are more expensive but if you are on a budget they have just built some new rooms nearer the road which are 5* but only cost $50-$60 per night. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful, from the manager to the boys there at night. Great location as well as easy to walk everywhere in Ubud. While they don't have a desk offering tours, they will help you organize anything you want and do the phoning in the local language etc. I liked this place so much that I went back a second time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetravalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed for 3 days in this hotel and it was a very pleasant stay. You have to pass through a courtyard before going to the room. The courtyard is absolutely beautiful with its Balinese architecture and carving. The pavement is exquisitely decorated with colour stones.

Room: We stayed in Room 102 which is right in front of the pool. We were expecting it to be noisy and rowdy but surprisingly it wasn't. For some reason, the rest of the guests were not using the pool and we had the pool pretty much to ourselves. The room comes with an electric mosquito repellent which is very useful considering we are near the jungle. The room is simple but very cosy. I like the room for the fact that it's quiet and not close to the main road. Definitely very tranquil and peaceful.

Bathroom: Bathroom had a little weird smell damp but it was bearable. Shower curtains is missing and hence water got to everywhere in the bathroom.

Staff: Staff were very friendly and nice. Housekeeping staff are a bunch of young boys who have a good sense of humour.

Pool: Pool is nice with sun chairs around. However, water is a little cold and takes some getting used to. The pool is clean too.

Location: A short distance to the monkey forest and to the Ubud market. Good location.

Room Tip: Choose either Room 101, 102 or 201. These are rooms with good views and facilities such as sunbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank equinoxism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

What a stunning setting! Centrally located, it's very easy to get around. The rooms were clean, comfy, and big. The pool was beautiful, unfortunately we had a rainy few days and didn't get to use it. Our second time to stay in Ubud, last time we stayed just outside the city, definitely recommend this location more for exploring! No gym, but really not needed here with all the hills you will be climbing, couldn't figure out how to remove it from my rating, sorry!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_M_McGehee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#106 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Bumi Muwa Ubud
#73 of 512 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indira Cottage
Indira Cottage
#79 of 512 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sri Bungalows
Sri Bungalows
#17 of 512 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lumbung Sari Cottages
Lumbung Sari Cottages
#13 of 520 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kampung Ubud Ibunda Bungalow & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa

Property: Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 512 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing