We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not work for us.”
Review of Sunset Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Hill
Ranked #84 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Did not work for us.”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Booked this property on our honeymoon. We had to leave 2 days early as they misrepresented the property online by saying they take visa. Their visa machine 'stopped working a few days ago' only stay here if you are willing to pay for your stay in cash. Also they continously unplugged the WiFi router forcing us to find staff to take the router back out to plug it in! It is a fair distance away from ubud center with no shuttles provided. Had to go in to town most nights for dinner as they only serve breakfast,which I have no complaints about. Its a nice location if you want peace and quite but it is very removed from everything. We are not a picky couple and are extremely well traveled throughout the world, this property did not work for us and we were so much happier upon finding another place to stay in ubud.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sam877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    59
    13
    12
    9
See reviews for
39
134
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Great place, highly recommended, truly balinesian atmosphere , beautiful views, great breakfast however the staff could speak better English :) rooms really clean, pool is also nice, overall value for the money spent

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akulpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Bliss spa is beautiful however I would not advise going for a massage as it is overpriced vs other beautiful spas and they employ inexperienced masseuses. I had a very disappointing massage there and it was very impersonal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My husband and I spent one week at Bliss with our 2-month old baby last December. We loved it from the moment we stepped in through the lush, green garden along rice fields. It is so wonderful you ask yourself why people would want to go anywhere else. We stayed in a brand new room with balcony facing the swimming pool (which is the best swimming pool I ever swam in) and everything was calm, peaceful, and incredibly relaxing. The rooms are simple but have everything you need. The staff is great, so friendly and always helpful. The only minus is that they don't really have a proper restaurant so they just offer very few dishes, which they bring to guests' rooms. The choice was so limited that we had to go to the neighboring restaurants to eat (by the way there is a fantastic japanese restaurant a bit further down the main road) while all we wanted to do was to stay at Bliss. It's a bit out of Ubud -perhaps 10 minutes by car with no traffic.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lighttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My partner and I spent 7 nights at Bali Bliss before moving on to Seminyak. Oh, god, leaving was a hard thing to do!
The resort location is wonderful, far enough from the business of Ubud centre, so it feels like you are in the middle of the forest. The walk down to Ubud is easy and is made pleasurable by the gorgeous scenery.
The salt water pool has an amazing, breath taking view, has no chemical added to the water, which you can feel in your skin, and makes you want to never leave.
The hotel doesn’t have a restaurant at the moment, but staff can help you organise yummy, healthy, gorgeous food from Bali Buddha, delivered to your bedroom door.
Since the moment we arrived the staff was hugely pleasant, helpful and always holding a gorgeous smile.
Kevin, the manager, is a gentle, generous and helpful person, who made our stay even smoother and more pleasant.
We were lucky enough to stay at a time when it was quiet, and it felt like we had the whole resort to ourselves.
Breakfast is served with what feels like, a lot of love. There is a selection of options and you can be assured you will never leave the table hungry.
Definitely going back!!!

Adorei a experiencia e recomendo a todos que me perguntarem!!

Room Tip: We stayed at suite 1,which had an amazing view for a beer at the end of the day... But all rooms see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerberanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

Waking up every morning to the sounds of nature. Birds calling and ducks quacking. The air is fresh and the night cool. Breakfast is served to your room, no charge.

The rooms has this romantic feeling to it.

The pool is quite deep on one end, it's a sharp drop from the shallow side. so do be careful guys.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominique1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I spent 9 days in this hotel and I liked every minute I spent there - peaceful and quiet. Though it's away from Ubud, but I liked walking down the picturesque path and I took a lot of pictures. The pool is divine and the food I ordered from Bali Biddah (no restaraunt in the hotel, they serve only breakfast) was affordable and really delicious and fresh. If u are looking for a hideaway, u are tired of people and city hustle and bustle - it's a perfect place to stay. The staff is really friendly and helpful and, what is important, not bothering. Thank you for helping me in reviving my body and soul. If I have the chance I will definetely come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vlpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#93 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.9 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#55 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#54 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.1 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill

Property: Sunset Hill
Address: Jalan Bangkiang Sidem 88 Keliki | Tegallalang 80561 Gianyar, Bali Indonesia, Ubud 80581, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#46 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#71 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on top of the Campuhan Hill in the northern part of Ubud, right on the end of the popular Campuhan Ridge Walk with splendid view of the west Woss river valley, Sunset Hill Boutique Bed & Breakfast was designed as a restful retreat for the senses. Our property offers five independent villas, one suite and a smaller room, set in a lush tropical garden. The rooms and suite are generously furnished in clean contemporary style complemented with Balinese accents. They also provide modern amenities such as air-conditioning, private veranda, personal safe and mini bar. The main complex features an open-air bistro and breakfast area that offers the breathtaking view of the west Woss River valley, framed by the sacred and majestic Mount Batukaru. A multi-level water feature leads down to our 20-meter infinity pool, perfect place to enjoy the cool air, warm sun and the view. To complete the experience, a beautiful spa villa set amidst flowers and water provides a serene backdrop for traditional Balinese massage treatments. We are facing the best view of Woss Kawan river valley on the west side of Bukit Campuhan. Our friendly team is happy to assist should you stay with us or drop by for refreshments, a quick bite or a massage, when entering our small village of Bangkiang Sidem at the end of your hill trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing