We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing comfort, service and attention to detail!”
Review of Villa Saraswati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Saraswati
Ranked #10 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing comfort, service and attention to detail!”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Villa Saraswati provides a quality of service and comfort that makes a holiday perfect. The Villa is set in a beautiful and tranquil location and an architectural masterpiece in itself with the rooms generously proportioned, well appointed and fully serviced with an attention to detail and quality that can't be faulted. What really makes a stay at the Villa perfect though, is the quality of service, level of attention and genuine friendliness provided by the staff. A wonderful experience and one I hope to repeat soon.

Room Tip: All rooms have an individual charm and quality. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bnorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
236
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

If i'm a selfish person, I don't want to recommend this place. Simply because I need this place to be ready for my self anytime I come to Ubud :))

I went there last May for a long weekend getaway. My comment: this place is amazing! The tranquility, the smart move that they dont place tv in the room makes me able to sleep without tv distraction. The room was clean, with very comfortable bed.

The service was great. Pak Komang and the team really treat us like a family. My favorite breakfast was always sunnyside egg with spicy soya sauce. The first time I requested to have the sauce, they made it for me, and served it for me on the next day breakfast! They just took time to remember.

Bottomline, if you look for a neat, comfort, home away from home to 'hide' from big, busy and crowded resort-like place, this is the best place. 1 thing I love: they have age limit, that you will not get awaked by child screaming in the middle of your siesta :))

Room Tip: Bring your dvd and watch it at the tv room. The movie collection is not extensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutiara507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I can't say enough good things about Villa Saraswati and its elegance, beauty, tranquility, and service. They describe themselves as a boutique bed and breakfast and they absolutely deliver! Owned by Australians but managed and staffed by local staff, Villa Saraswati was more than what we expected. Quite frankly, their website and photos don't really do it justice. Service here, led by Pak Komang, is a standout feature. Effort and attention to detail are obvious when looking at the garden, pool area, common areas, service and rooms. Outdoor showers in four out of the five rooms is an attractive feature too. Villa Saraswati is located on the fringes of Ubud, yet close enough to easily access eating holes, shops and Ubud centre. This is definitely one place we would actually come back to and stay for a relaxing, homely getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I love this place! It is gorgeous. The staff are so friendly. The breakfast is fresh and amazing (the banana pancakes are a must try. We also met the owners, who are the loveliest people. You also have an outdoor and indoor shower both with huge shower heads, great water pressure, and temperature control (which showers were a bit of a problem for us at the resorts we stayed at in Bali). I've stayed at really nice hotels and resorts, but it doesn't have the intimate feel like this place does. It's just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPalm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We traveled around for 2 weeks in Indonesia and this was our favorite place! Would really recommend Villa Saraswati. Very nice rooms, clean, good breakfast, extremely friendly and helpful staff and owners and beautiful location!

The villa is not in the center of Ubud but a bit outside. We walked and used the free shuttle service to Ubud and took taxis back (there are plenty of taxis/ppl offering you a ride and its cheep). We first thought that the location would be something negative. However, we found it extremely calming and nice not to have to stay in the center and would definitely stay at Villa Saraswati again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durban
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

What an amazing experience we encountered at Villa Saraswati. the Lotus room was out of this world my only regret is that were not able to say longer. Beautifully decorated,excellent service and fantastic hosts what more could one ask for.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great I could not fault their accomodation at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattij1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

From the moment you arrive in this beautiful, classy sanctuary you are greeted with warmth and a sense of "family" by the caring staff and owners Robyn and Dean. This group of people gently guide you through your days in Ubud, offering their expert tips on the restaurants, wine, areas to visit, art galleries, walks and people and places of interest. Their sound knowledge of the area and reassuring advice was a personal touch that as a newcomer to Ubud was paramount to me.
The villa itself offered a beautiful Balinese ambience, pristine with its open-air living space and lush surrounds. Gorgeous pool and outdoor area. Breakfast and food were of excellent quality as was the service. The shuttle service was very personalised and once again you felt very safe and secure in their hands. Everything was of high quality and nothing was too much trouble to organise.
Great for a group of friends or for first timers to Bali. You will be well looked after!! I highly recommend this quiet and peaceful sanctuary. Rose Family

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baliforever_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
2.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 196 in Ubud
1,120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 11 in Gianyar
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#23 of 196 in Ubud
738 reviews
1.6 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
2.3 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Saraswati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saraswati

Property: Villa Saraswati
Address: Jl. Rsi Markandya, Jl. Mpu Beradah, Banjar Payogan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Saraswati 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Multi Award Winning ADULT ONLY Boutique Hotel only 4 km from central Ubud in what was once a private home named Villa Saraswati. The intimacy and serenity of this Boutique Hotel offering 5 beautifully decorated bedrooms is truly what makes it a special part of your Bali holiday and why many guests return again and again. Maximum occupancy 2 Guests per room and minimum age of 17. Popular with all travelers, particularly Honeymoon Couples and Solo Travelers, this will be the highlight of your Bali Holiday. Our family of staff specialise in giving all guests personalised attention. Come as our guest at Villa Saraswati and leave as our new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Saraswati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Saraswati Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing