We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique tranquil escape”
Review of Villa Saraswati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Saraswati
Ranked #10 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique tranquil escape”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I have stayed at Villa Saraswati twice and will never need to look elsewhere for my yearly Bali retreat. The owners of the villa have put detailed thought into every aspect of the experience; from the gardens to the breakfast and light meal menus, the shuttle service and every effort the staff will put in to ensure your comfort. I have and will continue to recommend this welcoming experience to friends, family and business associates. Thanks again team Villa Saraswati!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing but Lotus and Veena are definitely worth that little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    27
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
228
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this place for 4 nights over my birthday, and could have easily stayed here longer.
We stayed in the lovely Frangipani room - a 4 poster bed, crisp cotton sheets and sliding doors opening out to the pool. The rooms were cleaned daily and our bed turned down each evening, when a 'bedtime story' was left for us (a passage explaining local traditions).
The staff were attentive and friendly, and the food was yummy - recommmend the indonesion breakfast and banana pancakes! They even gave me a cake an sang happy birthday.
This place is slightly out of Ubud, but it's no problem as they have a free shuttle service at 10am, 1pm and 4pm, and are also happy to take you into town for dinner at 6:30pm. If these times don't suit you can catch a cab for 50000.. Just take a map!
We will definitely stay again - thank you

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucylou06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We had a chance to stay in this lovely Villa at the end of our two week roundtrip in Bali and we only hope we could have stayed there longer. We arrived late in the afternoon but the driver took us anyway to Ubud centre after the last shuttle had already gone. The Lotus room vas spacious and well equipped with both indoor and outdoor showers. The pool was great with service. The feeling was quite intimate since there are only a few rooms in the entire hotel. The breakfast was perfect and we enjoyed it enjoying of company of other guests staying at the same time. The service was excellent and discreet. Ubud itself was very interesting but unfortunately our stay was so short that we didn't actually have a chance to see enough. If we ever shall return to Bali we would most certainly return also to Villa Saraswati.

Room Tip: The Lotus room is very spacious and have plenty of room for two. It has a with walk-in wardrobe - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We just returned from Ubud and can't stop thinking about our next stay at Villa Saraswati!
This majestic villa feel like a home away from home. We really didn't want to leave. Dean and Robyn (and of course Komang and staff) made us feel welcomed and relaxed. The villa is spotless, the rooms amazing and service was above and beyond our expectations. I've never written a tripadvisor review but I felt compelled to recommend. Don't let the short distance from Ubud center deter you. If anything, it makes this stay even more magical.

Thanks You Robyn and Dean and staff for making our short stay so amazing. We can't wait to see you again!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. It really doesn't matter. You can't miss out. We stayed at the Lotus wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AU3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Spent 4 glorious nights in this beautiful spacious villa. The location is magical in the village of Payagon. Staff are delightful, breakfast was awesome and Dean and Robin are great hosts. Saraswati is a gem!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukijb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Our stay was, in many respect, akin to staying with friends at their villa... except we had to pay for the privilege! (LoL).
Seriously though, Dean & Robyn (supported by their staff) did their very best to meet our needs and wishes. Above all, they were a very pleasant, sociable and approachable couple who enjoyed interacting with their guests. The service from the staff was attentive, discreet and courteous.
The setting was rather enchanting, tranquil and secluded and the whole place felt very spacious and elegant.
We slept in the 'Peacock' which we were quite happy with.
'Saraswati' is indeed a boutique gem with genuine 5 star quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ton_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Villa Saraswati is a place where you can really get a taste of Bali in the most luxurious surroundings. The Villa is in the wonderful village of Payagon, 14 Minutes by car from Ubud centre. We were lucky enought to be there when Dean & Robyn where there, they, with the wonderful staff are only too happy to tell you all the best things to do in Ubud. The breakfast is amazing as is the attention to detail that is Villa Saraswati. Every time we sat by the pool the staff were there asking us if we need a cup of tea coffee or drink, the tea would arrive in the most beautiful bone china, I abousoulty loved our stay, and would recommend the Villa to anyone, Robyn & Dean are the most generous of hosts, Thanks for a wonderful stay, Tess & Leigh Sydney

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tess57sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
2.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.5 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Purist Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Saraswati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saraswati

Property: Villa Saraswati
Address: Jl. Rsi Markandya, Jl. Mpu Beradah, Banjar Payogan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Saraswati 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Multi Award Winning ADULT ONLY Boutique Hotel only 4 km from central Ubud in what was once a private home named Villa Saraswati. The intimacy and serenity of this Boutique Hotel offering 5 beautifully decorated bedrooms is truly what makes it a special part of your Bali holiday and why many guests return again and again. Maximum occupancy 2 Guests per room and minimum age of 17. Popular with all travelers, particularly Honeymoon Couples and Solo Travelers, this will be the highlight of your Bali Holiday. Our family of staff specialise in giving all guests personalised attention. Come as our guest At Villa Saraswati and leave as our new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Saraswati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Saraswati Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing