We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Saraswati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Saraswati
Ranked #8 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Villa Saraswati was perfect, we could not have asked for a better place to stay. It's was my first time at the villa and Cyn's 2nd time. Komang and the staff were so obliging, friendly and courteous. Nothing was ever a problem. Thank you Dean and Robyn for your hospitality. I loved my birthday surprise - Thank you. The villa is well presented and spotless, the beds are comfortable and the atmosphere is just pure relaxation. It was definitely the best part of our holiday I wish we had stayed there longer. The breakfast is nothing short of perfect, the banana pancake was delicious and so was the burger. Thank you very much for making our holiday one to remember. I hope we have an opportunity to return to Bali as I love Ebud and Villa Saraswati. Best wishes to you all from Cyn & Kym xx

Room Tip: The frangipani room, was away from the others, a little smaller but was more private and close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
218
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Image an open floor plan with beautiful decorations, gentle breezes, and lovely views looking out over the pool, and you will see what greeted us when we first arrived at the Villa. We knew we were in for a fabulous experience. We were welcomed by Komang, the attentive manager, and several members of the helpful staff. Later Robyn and Dean, the owners, introduced themselves and made us feel right at home. The Villa is gorgeous!

We spent our first 4 nights in the Lotus room, an amazing spacious room, walk-in closet, large bathroom with outdoor and indoor showers. We left Ubud to tour around Bali and came back to spend an additional 5 nights in the Swan room, also a lovely room but smaller. Both were beautifully decorated, but the Lotus was special. The bedroom was surrounded by windows on three sides, so when the drapes were opened, you could enjoy tropical foliage all around. Komang set us up with a kettle, coffee, and milk in our fridge so we could have coffee in our room. Having coffee on the balcony was a great way to start the day. At night, we were serenaded by the geckos, roosters, critters and an occasional pig.

A generous breakfast was included and offered an American breakfast or Indonesian--and the best banana pancakes in all of Bali. Fresh fruit, juice and smoothies were available. A few choices for snacks and dinner were available, very reasonably priced. The Villa is located outside of town so having this food avalable was convenient so we didn't have to go back into town for dinner if we had had a late lunch.

A shuttle was availble to take guests into town running on a regular schedule, but exceptions could be made. If necessary taking a taxi back to the Villa was only $6. The Villa also provided sarongs for visits to the temples and offered advice on what to see and do. They could also set you up with a driver.

We felt so pampered. The staff was always available and eager to make our stay enjoyable. Our last night at the Villa was my daughter's birthday. Knowing how much we loved the Lotus Room--and the fact that it was empty--Komang, Robyn, and Dean offered to let us spend our last night there. They decorated the bed with balloons, and the next morning at breakfast, they had a strawberry tart with candle for my daughter. She was pleasantly surprised and appreciated the extra effort to recognize her birthday. Komang also helped us by wrapping several wood paintings to carry on the plane. He went above and beyond providing service.

We were sad to leave the Villa and would make it our home again the next time we're in Bali. Thank you Komang, Robyn, Dean and the wonderful staff for making our days at the Villa so comfortable and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Loved the Lotus Room, but it's one of the more expensive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoSunnyvale_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in the Frangipani room in July 2013 for 5 nights. From the moment we arrived we knew we made the right choice. Our stay was trully amazing thanks to the wonderful staff and the recommandations of Komang. This stay was really special for us since we were celebrating my birthday. Komang made sure every booking (spa and restaurant) made for that day knew it was a special day. While we were staying at the villa we attended a ceremony which was really nice, all dressed up balinese style. Anything is possible if you ask Komang, he will find something special for you. Robin and Dean were also there to wish me a happy birthday which was really thoughful. We also had in house massage 2 or 3 times by the amazing Ketut a lady from the village. We had lots of fun chatting with the staff and also the other guests during breakfast. It was so fantastic that we're planning to come back next July. Serioulsly, don't waste your time looking for other places in Ubud, Villa Saraswati is simply the best and will make your stay unique.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misst23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I was traveling alone and Villa Saraswati was my first stop. First I was picked up at the airport by Sutarya my driver tour guide and now friend. if you need a driver please ask for him. desutaryaubd@hotmail.com. Sutarya was a unplanned amazing part of my trip. He is a kind man and will do anything to help with your driving needs around the island. I know you will enjoy his services. Now the hotel. Komang who runs the hotel is amazing he and all of the staff made me feel so welcomed and comfortable. Especially traveling alone as a woman I never worried about a thing. I think it goes beyond service they are just amazing people that make your stay even more special. Villa Saraswati is so beautiful and peaceful. I enjoyed my morning breakfast with all of the other guests. Still thinking about how good the banana pancakes were. I cant recommend Villa Saraswati and my driver Sutarya enough. They helped make my trip to Bali even more special. It was a magical experience. Thank you all for an unforgettable time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bali
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

we have just left villa saraswati - i never write comments but in this instance just have to say our stay was absolute heaven. This is my 7th trip to bali over many years - but i have never has such a wonderful experience. Robyn, Dean, Kamong and staff are without exception wonderful; the facility is beautiful; breakfast superb; i feel wonderfully and absolutely indulged whilst also feeling the warmth and peacefulness of ubud that for so many years i've simply heard about. thank -you - we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fyncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The only bad thing about Villa Saraswati is that it set the standard so high that our next hotel in Sanur was a big disappointment... :)

Everything about our stay here was wonderful, the staff, accommodation, service, surrounds, location, breakfast - everything. Overall it is excellent value for money.

Nothing was too much trouble & the staff were attentive without being annoying. And always smiling and just lovely people.

There probably isn't much else to add but thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms would be great - we went for the Frangipani room on the ground next to the pool which is h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myboyfriendsanerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed six nights at Villa Saraswati. From the moment we stepped inside we were made to feel welcome and special. Robyn and Dean are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Komang and all the staff are cheerful, so willing to please and very courteous. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean with high quality furnishings. Villa Saraswati is located approximately 3 kilometres from Ubud centre which certainly adds to its charm, in our opinion. There is a shuttle service and drivers or taxis are readily available. We really liked our driver l Made who we used several times as we were visiting the Ubud area for our daughter's wedding. He was always happy, informative and he and his car immaculately presented. We have travelled extensively over the past 10 years and this is our first time in Bali. Living at Villa Saraswati is a "must do" if you are holidaying on this island - it is simply gorgeous, serene and very special.

Room Tip: We loved the Lotus room. Outdoor and indoor shower, delightful outlook and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
2.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
2.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#17 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Saraswati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saraswati

Property: Villa Saraswati
Address: Jl. Rsi Markandya, Jl. Mpu Beradah, Banjar Payogan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Saraswati 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Multi Award Winning Adults Only Boutique Hotel only 4 km from Ubud. The intimacy and serenity of this Hotel offering 5 beautifully decorated bedrooms is truly what makes it a special part of your Bali holiday and why many guests return again and again. Maximum occupancy 2 Guests per room and minimum age of 17. Popular with all travelers and particularly Honeymoon Couples and Solo Travelers, this will be the highlight of your Bali Holiday. Our family of staff specialise in giving all guests personalised attention. Come as our guest At Villa Saraswati and leave as our new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Saraswati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Saraswati Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing