We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value Top location”
Review of Bumi Muwa Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Ranked #51 of 638 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This is a modern modest friendly personal hotel with an inexpensive price tag.
The grounds are full of luscious tropical plants and set off the main road away from the noise.
The location is within walking distance to everything or the hotel can arrange scooter hire for those of you who are game to face the Balinese traffic - looks more hectic than it actually is.
The free breakfast of fresh fruit, pancakes or eggs with tea or coffee was made to order and taken in a lovely outdoor gazebo.
Thank you Wayan & Koman

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms seem to have more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We needed to place to stay for the night without having to rip our pockets and settled on Bumi Muwa. Finding the place was quite a challenge as we got in around 1am and there was no formal sign board to point out the hotel location. Our driver made two rounds before we had to call one of the hotel's staff for directions. The signboard was precariously fitted to a side of a wall that was barely noticeable and to get to the hotel, you have to go through a narrow but short alley.

Honestly, I was prepping for the worse - soiled sheets or a leaking toilet that needs working on, etc. So, I was pleasantly surprised when we checked into clean, decent and spacious room. The bed was comfortable, TV had a couple of English channels and the room was spacious. The toilet is basic as what you see on their website - no frills and more importantly, it works. They had provided some toiletries but we used our own.

We stayed on the ground floor so it was nice to waking up to the green and flourishing landscaping around the place. Breakfast was not too bad, and we enjoyed the special order of cheese and banana pancakes in the outdoor pavilion. Next to our room there was some construction going on and we learnt that they are building a pool for the hotel. I also liked the fact that there are not many rooms so it feels almost like having the hotel grounds to yourself.

The hotel is right in the heart of ubud so you dont have to travel far to do shopping and its a stone's throw from the monkey forest. For the price you pay for, this is a gem.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachboi2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Quiet & lovely small hotel with nice tropical garden. Excellent location, very close to the main street with all restaurants, bars, shopping and massages parlours and 10 minutes walk from Monkey Forest. Bedroom is comfortable with a large firm double bed, and an excellent bathroom with a “rain” shower. International satellite TV. Free but slow internet in the rooms. Mini bar. Below par breakfast with pancakes or local dishes or eggs & toasts, plus fresh juices or fresh fruit platter. Very friendly staff. Kadek (driver/tour guide) is a gem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osito22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Our room had alot of wow factor when we arrived, until we had a shower & it flooded the bathroom ;( The air con was awesome worked a treat if anything too well Greeted with a smile all the time Great location, close to the hustle & bustle but quiet enough at night for a good nights rest.

We couldnt work out the tv ;( bathroom flooded every time we had a shower, bugs & ants in the bathroom all the time. Woke up to a lizard in our room made the weirdest sound, thought it was a bird but we were mistaken. A fluke we even found where the hotel, if u were walking the opposite way of traffic on jalan monkey forest u would miss it completely!!. Pool was good but u have to walk thru this passage was & under stinky stairs to get to it. So it is shared!! With next door hotel, which is very disappointing since the next door hotel is pretty ordinary look wise from this hotel. The free brekky is lame!! & the area in which u have to dine is tiny!!!! Why alot of the grassy area they have cant be improved by adding more space to dine & a actual pool that isnt shared with a neighboring hotel. If they were to do this it would of been a much more enjoyable experience. My tip for absolutely everyone going to the market 10 min walk from here, start super low!! Everywhere we went they start at 200idr + joke!! We looked at this elephant ivory necklace ( not real fake ) the guy started at 690,000 idr ( which is roughly $69aud, we got him down to 30,00 idr ( $3 aud ) a absolute joke hey & these peeps are still making $$. Name ur price, hover, then start to walk away usually we got our way lol

Room Tip: ask for newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gems3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

I quite enjoyed my stay there.
Stayed there for a week.
Lovely environment - surrounding by greens and sometimes there is few monkeys in front the gardens.

Staff is willing to assist you. Wifi is provided.
Just beware of spiders and big mosquito. I encounter it few times. Creep me!

This place is ideal to stay. Near to Hanuman Street (shopping place & dine in like cafe or restaurant).
If want can drop by monkey forest (3 min walk)

Beside BumiMuwa 2 shops away. there is a Massage & Spa called SangSpa(voted the best in Trip Advisor)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChesterJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The room is nice with a view to the beautiful garden. Some of the linens and curtains need to be washed though. Breakfast menu is great for the price. Minibar is cheap (same price with the mini markets)! Staffs are friendly. They have a car which is available to pick you up. Prime location! Swimming pool is located at the next hotel (there is a connecting pathway). Wifi is available.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhapsoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

at the first time i reach the place i doubt this place since we have to walk trough small street to the hotel, but when i reach the hotel im quiet suprise because the garden is very nice. i stay in 2nd floor and the room have a terrace facing the garden, the room is very clean and quiet spacious.

the staff very nice, the best staff in my trip in bali, very nice and welcoming compared to other hotel i stay. Location also perfect, when i going out its already in the middle of mongkey forest and shopping place, all the butique and resto is on walking distance, very perfect location for shopping.

for me this is the best value hotel to stay in ubud, the price is quiet good but you get more then you pay, very reccomended.

Room Tip: room on the corner have bigger space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vedri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Garden View Cottage
Garden View Cottage
#141 of 199 in Ubud
106 reviews
0 mi away
Ubud Inn Cottages
Ubud Inn Cottages
#146 of 199 in Ubud
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indira Cottage
Indira Cottage
#62 of 638 in Ubud
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Padma Ubud Retreat
Padma Ubud Retreat
#63 of 638 in Ubud
120 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ujung Ubud Guest House
Ujung Ubud Guest House
#26 of 638 in Ubud
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#29 of 638 in Ubud
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Muwa Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Muwa Ubud

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 638 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £18 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bumi Muwa Ubud 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Muwa is a perfect Balinese hideaway accommodation for romantic couples, families alike, and for those who appreciate informality, but to be close to Ubud’s tourist interest and culture centre. Considering Bumi Muwa ubud located in the heart of Ubud, Bumi Muwa serves as a tranquil and comfortable place. Bumi Muwa is build as a simple accommodation with traditional and modern architecture. The space and facilities are set in a surrounded tropical garden with swimming pool and nearby from Monkey forest and Ubud Palace, also just a door step to find many tourist activities, shop, and restaurant at the main road. In front of the accommodation a few minute walk to rice field, there will represents an outstanding value offer. Bumi Muwa is not just accommodation but also unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bumi Muwa Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Muwa Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing