We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location; Comfortable Budget Hotel "hidden" Charm”
Review of Bumi Muwa Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Ranked #58 of 654 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Overall very comfortable, the room was very clean and a nice view of the swimming pool. I was happy with the quiet and quality of service. I liked the room design too. It's not a luxury hotel, but that's not what you expect. I like the simple furnishings, and tiled floor (much cleaner than some Bali-style over-elaboration.

It was very clean, and I was happy here.

Room Tip: Second floor; Pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marknorth_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

I would say I will not recommend for this hotel unless you are a backpackers or you are looking for something real budget hotel, in fact the hotel is not that cheap compared with other boutique hotel.
I would say this hotel is really sooooo out from our expectation. It is located at the busy Monkey Forrest road and no one would actually realised it's entrance if you are not becareful enough. When my driver dropped us there, we were like almost fainting. You can't imagine how small is the entrance at the main road. it is only fit for two normal size person.
The moment once you stepped in the room, it looks old and it was filled with the fragrance air freshener.However, later on when the fragrance of the air freshener went off, you will experience the bad smell of the wet weather. And the bed is so noisy whenever you move your body.
There are leakage on the ceiling in the bathroom. My hubby even claim uncomfortable inside the bathroom .

Overall, we put a cross to this hotel!!!Although the staffs are very helpful enough and the breakfast was normal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwenchew32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel is located near the south end of the busy Monkey Forest street, but I actually passed it by several timed as the only street sign (placed on an opposite wall, so visible only if you walk in the north direction) is unnoticeable.
Once in, the place looks like a true oasis with lush garden and calm atmosphere. I stayed 3 nights in a ground floor room and have overall positive feedback : the room was spacy, air con, big bathroom, comfy bed. A bit too dark for my taste and if you open the sliding door it feels like exposing all your room to other guests passing by, so it does not give the sense of security (however the door looks cute). The biggest downside is the smell of mold which cannot be aired away even with the aircon!
The staff are very friendly and always greet you with a smile. Ask for a free map of Ubud at the reception! The hotel location is strategic and close to everything you may wish to visit in Ubud. If you want to go further , ask them to book a driver for you (price slightly cheaper than if hired from the street). And they also serve one of the best breakfasts in Bali!
I did not use the pool as I was out all days long exploring the region with so many things to do: temples, museums, market, wood carving villages, cocoa plantations, charming legong dances and vast rice paddies.
Really loved this hotel and would stay there again!

Room Tip: ask for second floor rooms for security reasons and to avoid the mold smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princess_pea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We spent 3 nights here in 2 rooms downstairs and 1 upstairs for our family of six. The rooms downstairs had sliding glass panels which left a gap even when locked. The room upstairs was much better (had a wooden lockable door and a safe, but it was movable) although the railing at the balcony was shaky (not safe if travelling with young children).
The rooms had no telephones and limited TV channels.There was also no coffee/tea making facility.
The plus points about this place is the tranquil setting despite being located on a shopping street, freshly cooked hot breakfasts (thankfully NOT buffet), clean linen sheets and towels, rooms and bathrooms. Staff were polite and smiley.
Hence this place is more suitable for couples looking for a quiet getaway (no phones, no TV) on a shoestring budget.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have safes, balconies and secure wooden doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank art-seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Beautiful clean place, lovely gardens, large rooms, nice pool, good price, great location on Monkey Forest Road just at the top of the hill. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom was modern with good hot water and decent water pressure. The bed was comfortable, a/c cold, fridge in room, nice balcony. Best quality breakfast in Bali, not huge, but really tasty- great banana and pineapple pancakes. I stayed in a second floor room in the building nearest the pool. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room 4 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baskaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I am have found this place great for my needs. Very nice rooms overlooking a beautiful garden, quiet location but close to many great restaurants. Rooms include a desk if you're unlucky enough to need to work! Staff are very efficient and friendly, and breakfast is included and served in a beautiful little pagoda. Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Morts-viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed here for a few nights. I had an upstairs room, which was clean, airy and bright. I had the fresh fruit breakfast everyday, which was a joy to eat in the open air every morning amongst the beautiful tropical plants. The pool area was tranquil, clean and very relaxing. I found all the staff incredibly polite, helpful and attentive. The location excellent for what I wanted - 2 mins to the Monkey Forest, 10 mins to Yoga Barn, shops/eateries everywhere! They provided me with a driver to take me to Sanur for the second part of my holiday at a very reasonable price.

After the hustle and bustle of Ubud I enjoyed returning to this peaceful hotel everyday. Beautiful place and great value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Hashbrown70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#95 of 197 in Ubud
786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mawa House
Mawa House
#11 of 654 in Ubud
363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Padma Ubud Retreat
Padma Ubud Retreat
#50 of 654 in Ubud
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chili Cottage
Chili Cottage
#53 of 615 in Ubud
150 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ujung Ubud Guest House
Ujung Ubud Guest House
#27 of 654 in Ubud
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indira Cottage
Indira Cottage
#64 of 654 in Ubud
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Muwa Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Muwa Ubud

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 654 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £19 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bumi Muwa Ubud 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Muwa is a perfect Balinese hideaway accommodation for romantic couples, families alike, and for those who appreciate informality, but to be close to Ubud’s tourist interest and culture centre. Considering Bumi Muwa ubud located in the heart of Ubud, Bumi Muwa serves as a tranquil and comfortable place. Bumi Muwa is build as a simple accommodation with traditional and modern architecture. The space and facilities are set in a surrounded tropical garden with swimming pool and nearby from Monkey forest and Ubud Palace, also just a door step to find many tourist activities, shop, and restaurant at the main road. In front of the accommodation a few minute walk to rice field, there will represents an outstanding value offer. Bumi Muwa is not just accommodation but also unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Bumi Muwa Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Muwa Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing