We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little surprise in the heart of Ubud”
Review of Bumi Muwa Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Ranked #58 of 654 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Last year I went to Ubud with my eldest daughter, and since she insisted to split the costs, she was the one looking for a hotel. She found this tiny hotel on Monkey Forest Road, near the Monkey Forest (so, smack in the middle of Ubud), at only 500 thousand rupiahs per night, nett. That's less than 50 US dollars, although maybe by now the price may be higher. You cannot even see the hotel from the road, but once you're there you'll get a nice surprise.

To my delight the room we got (on the second floor) was new, clean, nice and cozy, GOOD LIGHTING (in cheap hotels lighting is so often horrible), good bed, and the bathroom was also very nice and clean. AND there was a large balcony! with two chairs and a table and lighting that allowed me to read there even at night. Perfect for a smoker like me.

They provided tea, coffee and a water cooker; there was TV (limited channels, but who needs to watch TV while in Bali except to check the news?) and a small fridge. Breakfast was in a "pendopo" - a bulding with no walls- in the garden, and was pretty basic. One could order fried rice, noodles, waffles or toast, cofee/tea and fruit or a fresh fruit drink. Personally I would recommend the fried rice. (Breakfast was included in the price).

At that time they were still "building" their own swimming pool; guests could use the pool of the hotel next-door, but I'm sure their own pool must be completed by now.

The hotel is indeed too small to be a place where one could just lounge the whole day, but it's perfect if you just need it to sleep, explore Ubud during the day, come back to in the afternoon to freshen up and/or take a dip in the pool, go out again etc. All rooms face the garden.

All in all, we really enjoyed our 5-nights stay at Bumi Muwa. I just hope this review will not drive the price up too much... :)

Room Tip: The hotel has two floors. If you're too old to climb tairs, you should ask for a room on the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

freindly and multi-function staff!!
nice and clean room that really value for your money.
good spot, close to many must see in ubud. Even the plc located the ubud town but the hotel environtment still provide you the peace and calm vibe.
A bit got mothball smell and low water pressure for the bathroom but it's not a big deal.
Fine breakfast!
love it!

Room Tip: Second floor please~~~ :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwang_Bake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very nice hotel. Very cozy. Very quiet. With added attraction of visiting monkeys from the nearby monkey forest. We had a wonderful breakfast in the middle of the garden - good thing the monkeys did not thought of coming for a visit then. A really pleasurable experience for a very low price. One day, i will go back to Bali but this time I will stay in Ubud.. . In Bumi Muwa particularly.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LanceMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Got picked up at the airport for 250K, despite immigration taking 2 hours and driver having to wait for 3 hours for us! Service with a smile!

Room was big & clean, aircon good. Breakfast was excellent. Banana pancake and fruit platter was wonderful. The only comment i'd have is if management could serve guests coffee/tea in a pot rather than just one cup on the table. Im sure you would have given us a second cup if we asked but we didnt because we were so full!

Pool was great too.

Alot better than Ubud Inn where we had to stay for our last 2 nights becuase Bumi Muwa was booked up!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms would offer more privacy when you open the doors for chillouts in the late afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VHRCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

There's not much to this place. The rooms and bathrooms are very average and the entire accommodation is difficult to find as it's located down an alleyway and behind several shops and is only marked by a small sign on a store wall. It's location is excellent though, in the middle of town and so close to the monkey forest that monkeys wander around the garden. The continental breakfast is pretty good and the hotel staff is kind and helpful. Scooters are available for rent as well, though it's easy enough to walk everywhere you need to go. Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Overall is a decent place to stay, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mindythelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here mainly because it was close to the Monkey Forest. As others have stated, the hotel was very difficult to find. There is only a small placard on the side of a wall that shows the name of the hotel. It is on top of the hill on Monkey Forest Rd, on the right, and next to a store called Oleh-Oleh.

Positives:
-The grounds were very impressive upon entering. The plants and trees appeared to be well kept.
-The staff were friendly and helpful.
-Nice pool
-Good location. There are many shops and restaurants along the street.
-A/C worked great

Negatives:
-Upstairs room was dirty
-The ceiling and curtains are covered in mold and other unidentifiable stains.
-The detergent used on the towels and sheets smelled like bad after-shave.
-Towels are old and ratty
-Shower-head covered in limescale.
-No safe

For the price we paid to stay here, we only expected to have a basic room. But the smell of the sheets and mold on the ceiling did not make our stay comfortable. Perhaps the other rooms are in better condition. I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were very pleased with this accommodation and really had a very pleasant stay at Bumi Muwa. The location is central (although a little bit difficult to find in the beginning because it is down a small alley behind the shops that face the front on Jl Monkey Forest - most of the accommodation is situated like this, because of the rice paddies and infra structure of the city). But once you know where it is, it is actually so central and a good walking distance to most of the main tourist sites as well as the big Coco Supermarket. The garden and swimming pool area are so beautiful and they clean the area on a regular basis. Every day we ordered our choice of breakfast for the next morning in advance. The food was always very tasty and freshly made. We just loved the fresh fruit, smoothies and pancakes. Our double bedroom and en suite were spacious, comfortable and very clean. Our little veranda stoep had a beautiful view over the garden. Very good AC in the bedroom. The staff members were all very friendly and helpful. They even arranged a private driver for us for our next trip to Sanur. We will definitely recommend Bumi Muwa to every tourist visiting Ubud. Without any doubt, we will stay here again on a future visit to Ubud. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful. Our best wishes accompany the young and friendly staff members of this excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElmarieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#95 of 197 in Ubud
786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mawa House
Mawa House
#11 of 654 in Ubud
363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Padma Ubud Retreat
Padma Ubud Retreat
#50 of 654 in Ubud
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chili Cottage
Chili Cottage
#53 of 615 in Ubud
150 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ujung Ubud Guest House
Ujung Ubud Guest House
#27 of 654 in Ubud
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indira Cottage
Indira Cottage
#64 of 654 in Ubud
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Muwa Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Muwa Ubud

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 654 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £19 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bumi Muwa Ubud 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Muwa is a perfect Balinese hideaway accommodation for romantic couples, families alike, and for those who appreciate informality, but to be close to Ubud’s tourist interest and culture centre. Considering Bumi Muwa ubud located in the heart of Ubud, Bumi Muwa serves as a tranquil and comfortable place. Bumi Muwa is build as a simple accommodation with traditional and modern architecture. The space and facilities are set in a surrounded tropical garden with swimming pool and nearby from Monkey forest and Ubud Palace, also just a door step to find many tourist activities, shop, and restaurant at the main road. In front of the accommodation a few minute walk to rice field, there will represents an outstanding value offer. Bumi Muwa is not just accommodation but also unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Bumi Muwa Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumi Muwa Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing