We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Felt The Serenity Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Ranked #35 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Quite amazing to think Pita Maha is so close to the main centre of Ubud, but it seems like a million miles away from any-one. The beautiful views from anywhere in the resort and the quietness make you feel you are the only souls around.
Villas are huge and although a little dated, spotlessly clean. We loved the outdoor shower and our gorgeous plunge pool. Food in the restaurant was a bit hit and miss, but as there are endless choices nearby didn't matter. Didn't think the steps were too much of an issue and if you felt a bit lazy you can always go the long way where there is few steps.
I have stayed at Kuppu Kuppu Barong previously, a much more expensive resort than Pita Maha, but there is no comparison, would return to Pita Maha in a flash.

Room Tip: Rooms with plunge pool defintiely worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pita Maha Ubud for 13 nights.... It was GREAT... the staff and management were all wonderful people.We had booked a Garden Pool Villa and were upgraded to a Garden Villa no extra charge .. It had it's own swimming pool, plus,plus, plus. Check their Web site, it's all true.WE had free breakfast delivered very morning and had a wonderful refreshing time.. We chose the location as it was very quiet and close to the two Zoos and bird park. The only problem we had was our fridge was not as cold as we expected... They promptly sent a repair man but it did not improve by much.... Guess what, we had ice delivered to our room at least 3 times per day and no one moaned or complained to us ... they were very happy to give us great service.. I highly recommend them...22/06/2012 Art& Julie

Room Tip: Ask for what you expect and want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We loved the place and have sent many others there who shared the same experience. Quiet resort with massive private villas - couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We were in Ubud for the last part of our honeymoon at the end of August and what an amazing end! This hotel is the pinnacle of tranquillity, relaxation and nature. We can't fault the staff at all either, there was always a friendly face and helpful staff on hand.

We had a private villa on a top floor with a private pool which was just extraordinary. The room is very spacious, well decorated and loved the outdoor shower and bathroom. It's incredibly private and we felt a million miles from everyone else, like time stopped.

Breakfast was served to us consisting of pastries and fruit and then a cooked breakfast, it was delicious and more than enough. The breakfast room overlooks the nature and completely peaceful.

The hotel had a bike hire service free of charge and we took advantage of this one day which was great just to explore the nearby city ourselves instead of an arranged tour. They also treated us with a honeymoon cake which was a wonderful surprise and departing gifts. There is also a free bus going to the centre, but otherwise it's quite well located and about a good 15 mins or so to walk.

The icing on the cake would've been if the swimming pool was heated or warmed slightly as Ubud is known for being colder than other parts of Bali. We did ask for our private pool to be heated but they said it wasn't possible, that was the only drawback, not being able to enjoy the private pool to its fullest everyday of our stay. But otherwise, a total 5 star, unique experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

Have just had the best time here. We absolutely love it here. The rooms are great and I love the outside bathroom. Never had a problem with insect while bathing under the stars. Love love love this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Though a bit late in writing this , we were 3 couples & stayed at Pita Maha Resort and Spa for our Silver Jubilee wedding annv .Oh !! we all had such a wonderful time and earnestly felt that we should have stayed here for a week of bliss and sheer tranquility . The staff right from the time we checked in till we left after 4 days stay were very courteous ,ever friendly , ever smiling ........ in short a wonderful place and wonderful people .They made our stay a real memorable one .
Thank you Pita Maha we look forward to coming yet again whenever we visit Bali .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maish-u64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had a lovely time here. You DO share your time with the insects but its not a huge problem and the rooms and bathrooms are spotless. This is because you're pretty much in the bush, just above a river valley where the landscape is rich in wildlife. Embrace it!
The spa here is worth every penny. I had a treatment every day (pregnant) and it was glorious. We ate exceptionally well here too - most evenings (visit Mozac nearby one evening for a change) and the shuttle service into Ubud itself was perfect. Never any problems. We loved our little pool outside in the garden but there is a larger infinity pool for those who like to swim strokes or dive in. Its perfect for kids too. The walk around the complex comprises of some steep staircases and hills so if you do find strenuous walking a problem then this might not be the place for you otherwise we saw it as an opportunity to keep us fit and walk off all the delicious food we had been eating!! We took independent tours around the island (A MUST!!) rather than through the hotel as we'd arranged this before our trip. We used Hotel Beds for our transfers and tours and thought they were excellent. Our tour guide in Bali was KADEK (ask for him) as we learnt SOOOO much from him and he was a real sweetie!!
Turn down in the hotel was great. The mozzie nets are over the bed, there are mozzie plugs and spray cans available. I only got bitten once on the whole trip which is amazing (I usually get eaten alive!!!). Ubud is great. Just get into its own rhythm and enjoy the experience!!

Room Tip: We had the villa NEXT to the large pool and we also stayed a night in the SPA VILLA which is like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiredbunny2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#42 of 199 in Ubud
1,046 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#2 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,435 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.5 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
2.9 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pita Maha Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pita Maha Resort and Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Ubud
#28 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#30 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#30 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £166 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pita Maha Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etched into the hillside that overlooks the Tjampuhan valley in Ubud, Pita Maha Resort & Spa encompasses 24 villas in a style reminiscent of an intimate Balinese village composed of private compounds. Named after the artistic association that nurtured creative talents during the 1930’s, Pita Maha means ‘great shining’ and today this boutique resort is an icon that showcases local artistry and design elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pita Maha Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pita Maha Hotel Ubud
Pita Maha Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing