We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wondeful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Ranked #31 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wondeful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had a wonderful time in Pita Maha, from the moment that we arrived from the pick up at the airport. The location is a dream in truly Balinese style, the villas are superb.
They have a shuttle for the convenience of their guests free of charge. The gardens are sublime with a wonderful infinity pool and al fresco spa.
The staff is extremely friendly and ready to help in any way possible.
We did not eat there every night as there is so much variety in town which we guessed made for a compact menu. That said the food was of good quality when we did.
Would definitely stay there again next time we are in Bali.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an excellent location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaDoha_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    118
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
122
430
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We have stayed at Pita Maha several times during the past ten years and every time it has confirmed the feeling we felt the very first time we walked into this place: peace and serenity at its best. The property is bult in a truly balinese style with plenty of stone work inside and outside the 24 villas it is made of, with each villa perfectly secluded from the others so to guarantee absolute privacy, some of the villas have also a private plunge pool though there is an infinity pool for everyone to share, an outdoor bath and shower in each villa make the stay absolutely wonderful. As the resort is just outside Ubud, and so away from the madding crowd, a free shuttle service is available and running every hour. Breakfast is served on a terrace facing an idilliac panorama made of a vulcano and a forest of trees housing several squirrels running up and down amongst the branches. The staff is very friendly and helpful making you feel at home from the very first moment you step in. A newspaper is provided to each villa every day free of charge and so are, on request and at quite convenient costs, a range of tours to the most significant places around the area.

Room Tip: Not the best place if you have troubles with your legs as there are several steps connecting the var...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tipitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Pita Maha is a bit outside of Ubud proper (a regular shuttle service is available, or you can walk down the hill), so privacy and calm are "au render-vous"! Magnificent villas dotted along the hill, very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast. Infinity pool is a must! Nothing to add - a little paradise in a wonderful town!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EwaiYann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in a villa with a private pool. The service and amenities were absolutely fantastic. The villa has high walls around the perimeter which gives absolute privacy to the rest of the resort. The outdoor bath and shower make for the most romantic stay. The food was delicious but very expensive relative the rest of Bali and other resorts we stayed at. The alcohol was even more expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank bryde_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Pita Maha is a property built in true Balinese style. The stone work everywhere was amazing. It is very well maintained. Not the best if you have trouble with steps as there are many all over the property. We only stayed for one night so didn't experience the restaurant. We had breakfast and complimentary afternoon tea which were good. The staff were very friendly and very obliging. We stayed in a 2 storey 2 bedroom villa with its own pool. The rooms and bathroom are very large, comfortable and clean with everything in them that you would need including mosquito spray. The location is good with lots of art galleries and restaurants near by. The main town is a long walk but the hotel offers a shuttle service every hour there and back which I thought was a really big plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SET59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wollongong sydney nsw
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We loved staying here - it was a bit of heaven! Staff were all very friendly & happy. They offer a free afternoon tea and have wifi (not the speediest in the world but good for Bali) plus a few computers for guests use. The rooms are comfy & have great views. Nice breakfast, choice of American, Balinese & Continental, but since we`d been there and tried a few different types of eggs etc, we just asked for eggs benedict & it was beautiful!

Definitely do the free walking tour!! A highlight! And helped us get oriented with Ubud. (offered Tues and Fri 730am)!
Note: if you have some health (knee) issues - it is quite a walk over an hour and a bit up and down hills, amazing, we walked fairly slow, but it`s quite long.
Actually some of the rooms can be quite a way to walk to and although they are more exclusive (ie further away) it can be painful and awkward if your legs are not up to scratch.

You might want to just stay in your hotel all day (like an older couple we met, they just pretty much stay at the hotel the whole time) you can borrow a DVD from the small library or bring some favourites from home if you don't feel like going out on a hot day. You can stay in the air-con comfort and go out later in the afternoon.

The only thing with this hotel is that I feel they need to perhaps look at doing some maintenance. Small things like the toilet constantly blocking and constantly rattling air-con, plus our mossie net was a little too small for the bed & had holes in it anyways. But these are just minor things. Overall a most AMAZIng WONDERFUL HOTEL!

Location; perfectly located out of the hustle and bustle of the main drag, but just walk out of the hotel and there is generally someone offering a taxi where you can negotiate the price (otherwise you might wait a little while for the hotel to call a cab). Otherwise there is a free shuttle every hour to and from the main part of town until 9pm and once to the monkey forest per day 10am. Otherwise, taxi charge is around $3-5 (they are all complaining about the petrol price increase to like 50c per Litre) the price depends on how much you want to bargain or how generous you feel. From the hotel you will pay $5 for the hotel car to go to the monkey forest.

Didn`t try the spa but thought we`d save something for next time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a four night stay & enjoyed this as a base. There are lots of steps, but it is built into the side of a jungle ravine, hard to work around that. The rooms/villas are 8yrs old, by bali standards they are excellent, but they are beginning to tire and could do with a refresh if they want to retain the ratings. Location is a little out of town, not a bad thing, best to get a cab, about 20k rupiah for the trip.

Room Tip: Garden villas don't have a pool but the main pool is a huge infinity with a kids section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoopySheepyWellsly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.6 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#39 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
1.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pita Maha Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pita Maha Resort and Spa

Property: Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#26 Family Hotel in Ubud
#26 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#28 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pita Maha Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etched into the hillside that overlooks the Tjampuhan valley in Ubud, Pita Maha Resort & Spa encompasses 24 villas in a style reminiscent of an intimate Balinese village composed of private compounds. Named after the artistic association that nurtured creative talents during the 1930’s, Pita Maha means ‘great shining’ and today this boutique resort is an icon that showcases local artistry and design elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pita Maha Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pita Maha Hotel Ubud
Pita Maha Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing