We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, beautiful villas, soggy toast...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Ranked #30 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great people, beautiful villas, soggy toast...”
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Yes, the Pool Villa was gorgeous and spacious. Yes, the views are lovely. Yes, our bathroom was decadent. Even the location is just far enough outside of town for it to be quiet yet convenient. But the big thing here at the Pita Maha is the staff. There was nothing that was too much of an effort and they actually enjoyed conversing and laughing with you. We have been to Bali many times before and stayed lots of places but these people were that extra helpful. We dropped into the sister property for yoga by the river, (The Royal Pita Maha) and although the property itself was absolutely incredible, the staff were not half as friendly.
One peice of negative feedback I would give to the Pita Maha is more about Food and Beverage than anything. It just misses the mark. Breakfast is Ok...little things like soggy, cold toast and cold eggs kind of dampen your enthusiasm. At dinner, main courses that came out cold really arent up to par when everything else is.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imaginelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    118
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
125
440
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Like many others we stayed here for a portion of our honeymoon. It was sheer bliss. The rooms were gorgeous-immaculate, spacious, and fit into the surrounding natural environment. I do not feel that the website accurately portrays how amazing the actual property is. Additionally we were treated like gold by every staff member we came in contact with. We made a mini video of our villa and our friends and family cannot even believe that a paradise like that exists! If you are staying in the Ubud area Pita Maha is the ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Having traveled all over Indonesia we let our guard down due to the opulence in this place. We hadn't eaten all day so know when we were served a lukewarm chicken dinner that was the source of infectious diarrhea. We both felt a bit off within a few hours of the meal. My husband refused to eat anything else from the restaurant . Shortly after breakfast, I was in so much pain I could barely walk and make it back to the room in the nick of time; I suspect I the food was contaminated by Clostridium perfringens. I couldn't leave the room or eat anything for the next 3.5 days. A huge waste of money as this was our most expensive hotel stay during this trip. The management wouldn't call a doctor, didn't offer soda for us to have any calories, or seemed concerned that 2 guests had been poisoned by their restaurant. What infuriated me the most was the total lack of concern by the management and failure to offer any palliative service. We were about to use our emergency travel insurance to evacuate home, when I found my Cipro. Only this saved me. The food handling in the tropics is so important and one expects high standards at a high end hotel. I've worked in food service so understand the importance of safe food handling. We completely missed out on using the facilities of the hotel, much less seeing the sights of Ubud. If the hotel had at least expressed concern or offered soda or soup, but they just didn't care. So... the hotel is beautiful, villas luxurious with gorgeous landscaping, great AC and beautiful views, however if the kitchen cannot provide hot/safe food the guests suffer. Our entire stay at this hotel was ruined due to poor kitchen sanitation.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Astrid_Avia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

When my husband and I booked Pita Maha for our honeymoon, we were just crossing our fingers that the place would look as nice as the pictures on the website.
The truth is, when we stepped foot in Pita Maha, we were stunned. We were so at awe at the beauty of the whole architecture and how well it was maintained. Pictures did not do justice to this place! Pita Maha’s staffs were all very warm, polite and extremely attentive. We loved the welcome drinks, the rice vine that was waiting for us in our Pool garden villa and the beautifully set villa with rose petals and flowers on the bed and in the bath. Yes, we took the honeymoon package. Which also came with a candle light dinner at our villa accompanied by live Balinese music. The whole ambiance was perfect and I must say, the food was really yummy too.
And oh..their private Spa Villa was heavenly…since we had the spa package inclusive in our honeymoon package, we had 1hr of Balinese massage and another 1hr we had their spa facilities all for ourselves – steam room, sauna, hot Jacuzzi, cold Jacuzzi, infinity pool and spring water. What a memorable time we had there.

The fact that, Pita Maha was so close to Ubud town made it really convenient. And their shuttle service was very efficient as well. Ubud town itself was very pleasant for light shopping. In fact, one of the best Mexican food we had was in Ubud, a Mexican restaurants called Mama something which was just a few meters down Pita Maha.
I don’t know if its because we were on our honeymoon or what, but we were showered with welcome gifts, spa gifts and a honeymoon gift on the day we left. All in all, it was a really nice stay. The rooms were really clean. The soft drinks and beers were replenished generously. The service excellent. We had only one complaint, the TV set was pretty crappy one. Too small for this era. But then again, who’s watching tv eh? ;)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful hotel. The most delicious breakfasts, lovely clean rooms and very sweet staff. At Pita Maha you are part of the beautiful surrounds - not just an observer. If you are looking for somewhere to totally unwind and recharge your senses then the Pita Maha is the best place in the world to do just that. The gardens are luscious and the swimming pool is heaven on earth. I can't wait to visit Pita Maha again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We stayed at the Pita Maha the last 4 nights of our honeymoon and had an amazing time there. First, we were upgraded to a family pool villa (for only the 2 of us) which was great! Then everything from staff, service, spa, cleanness, food was a real enjoyment. We also loved the live cooking afternoon tea and the free champagne!
If you are looking for an amazing, clean, beautiful hotel very near to the centre of Ubud, that's the one! They also offer free shuttle to the centre of town.
Will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elodbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, Ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We stayed for almost a month. Our villa was spacious and lovely, with a wonderful view and its own plunge pool. It is serviced twice per day, and the housekeeping is excellent. The restaurant is 5 star--the breakfasts superb. The best compliment is reserved for the staff. From reception to dining to housekeeping, the staff is the best we have encountered on our travels to the seven continents.

The location of the property is good. You can walk to many nearly restaurants, or shuttle into the main town of Ubud in no more than five minutes. One can also relax on the property in the villa, by the infinity pool, or with a delightful massage.

I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.6 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
1.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pita Maha Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pita Maha Resort and Spa

Property: Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#26 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#26 Family Hotel in Ubud
#28 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pita Maha Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etched into the hillside that overlooks the Tjampuhan valley in Ubud, Pita Maha Resort & Spa encompasses 24 villas in a style reminiscent of an intimate Balinese village composed of private compounds. Named after the artistic association that nurtured creative talents during the 1930’s, Pita Maha means ‘great shining’ and today this boutique resort is an icon that showcases local artistry and design elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pita Maha Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pita Maha Hotel Ubud
Pita Maha Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing