We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Ranked #32 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Ubud is the cultural center of Bali, the dance and music is the most authentic and the best you will see in Bali. This hotel has been a great stay. The grounds and the Villas are spectacular. The service was good, they tried very hard to please. On thing the drivers varied from OK to crook, and was offered a black market deal behind the hotels back to under cut the buy there own driver, better to find a street taxi plenty of them and $ AU 40.00 will get you a whole day

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyChippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Pita Maha Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed at the Royal Pita maha - however they set us up at the Pita Maha Resort for our spa treatment...

unbelievably awesome... must try...

they picked us & dropped us from our hotel.... we got a nice discount too...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhruv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Amazing place. Service was great, rooms great, food great, just nothing to fault. Will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zodiax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

The Pita Maha is an amazing hotel and I would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere nice to stay in Ubud. The staff are amazingly friendly and attentive, the breakfasts are to die for and the restaurant has a beautiful outlook of the ridge. The communal pool is gorgeous but the private pools are even better. The location is a bit out of town which is good because it means it is quieter and with better views. they still have a shuttle into central Ubud but we walked it a few times also and it isn't that difficult. Our villa was huge and the outdoor bathrooms are clean and beautiful. I would change nothing about our stay at Pita Maha, everything was just right!
Hot tip: next door to the hotel is a restaurant called Indus. The food is delicious, with mountain views and the prices are good.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILoveTravel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We are a family from China, with 2 kids, one grown-up boy and a 2 year-old girl. Before checking in at Pita Maha, We stayed in Nusa Dua for 3 nights, simply because it is closor to Denpasa Airport, and offers an easier adaptation to Bali climate, and with no risks of bad surprises. However Nusa Dua is no comparison to Ubud when it comes to tradition, culture, achitecture, farming and local arts, and certainly the natural beauty of tropical landscapes. Pita Maha is at the centre of all these, exclusive but not total isolated far away like other high-end villa resorts in Ubud area.
We stayed in villa 303, a duplx villa which can host 4 people. Even far from the rececption(many steps down), it is one of the best locations in the resort. We are simplly stunned by the view of the villa, what a jungle paradise! The color of the pool is deep blue/green, which matchs the rusty garden feeling very well. The only problem is our pool is too deep for my little daughter. The villa is big, settings are homy, aircon works well. The room certainly is not new(some leaking stains on window, curtain), but in acceptable condition. Also, as a jungle resort, you can't expect something 100% clean without insects.
The food in pita maha is fantastic. Our set dinner in villa is the best meal we had in Bali. The villa spa is the must try, great view from the spa villa, really worth the price(much higher than those day spas in Ubud).

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YveeHou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

I stayed in the Pita Maha five years ago already with a friend and remembered the place as very cosy, relaxed and beautiful. That is exactly what I experienced this time when I went there with my fiancée.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The Villas are already a little bit „outdated“ but still exciting beautiful. Most of them with their own little pool. They are spacious, have outside showers, large terraces with various beds to relax, a nice table on the terrace which we used for dining (dinner and breakfast).
The only thing which was terrible was the fleas we had in our bed (Room 209). But we were told later in Seminyak that most beds, sofas and other textiles in Bali keep fleas from the animals or the weather as such. Anyway in Pita Maha it was really annoying: My back looked like having rubella. Apart from that you’d have to tolerate all the small animals you will find in a jungle: spiders, geckos, small birds, frogs, etc. all can be found in your room or at least outdoor bathroom but you will understand that this is normal in a place in the middle of the jungle. And I have to admit, the staff does its best to keep them away from the villas.
The place is as quite as it can be. You can enjoy a maximum of privacy combined with a fantastic view over the alley into the jungle. If you enjoy „listening“ to the sounds of nature – it’s your place to go.

We also visited „the Royal Pita Maha“ which is the same, just bigger, more expensive and less personal. We would recommend to choose the Pita Maha. In addition it is closer to Ubud town.

The Pita Maha offers a restaurant (average quality I have to admit although the breakfast was very nice) a small quiet spa a large infinity main pool (most of the time we were there alone) and free WiFi as well as 24hours room service.

If you need a break from your stressed out daily life have a break out to Pita Maha in Ubud – only an hour from Denpasar Airport. The hotel offers a complimentary return shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobias P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

This review is way overdue but I doubt the hotel changed much. My husband and I stayed here last May. The view when you enter the lobby is absolutely breathtaking. The lobby itself opens up to a view of rice paddies...I felt like I left earth and went to paradise. The decor is traditional SE Asian which perfectly suited us.

They gave us a 2 storied villa facing the paddies. Our private villa had a little dipping pool and a good sized balcony where you can sit outside to watch the scenery, the sunset or the stars at night. (The hotel provides insect repellents too and that really helps to let you enjoy what the hotel has to offer.) The first floor was the master BR. Bed was ok, can be more comfortable. The bathroom is big, has a large tub set into the ground, lovely shower area. We didn't buy the honeymoon package but they gave us gifts on arrival and also decorated the bed and bathtub with flower petals anyway, which were all delightful. The second floor is 2 BR with another bathroom, and a sitting balcony that has a lovely view. We had no use for the additional BR, but I loved the way it was decorated too. The only drawback is that the ceiling is low, but that's nitpicking.

The pool was beyond my expectations since I did not know that they had an infinity pool that faces the rice paddies. It was a big pool and was wonderful for when you get back all hot from hiking.

For breakfast they offer western and Balinese. The Balinese is a vegetable porridge with various accompaniment and great for vegetarians and even meat eaters. The restaurant offering for vegetarians is practically non-existent, and I would recommend heading out for dinner because there are so many good vegetarian dishes in Indonesian restaurants in Ubud.

They don't have a business center per se but there are computers in the bar and you can get online for a fee. Be sure to put on bug spray first though.

We did pass through the Royal Pita Maha while rafting and it did look more grand. But we really enjoyed the Pita Maha, which has such a romantic and intimate atmosphere. Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank probativev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
1,384 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,009 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
1.3 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pita Maha Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pita Maha Resort and Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#26 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#26 Family Hotel in Ubud
#28 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £155 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pita Maha Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etched into the hillside that overlooks the Tjampuhan valley in Ubud, Pita Maha Resort & Spa encompasses 24 villas in a style reminiscent of an intimate Balinese village composed of private compounds. Named after the artistic association that nurtured creative talents during the 1930’s, Pita Maha means ‘great shining’ and today this boutique resort is an icon that showcases local artistry and design elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pita Maha Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pita Maha Hotel Ubud
Pita Maha Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing