We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Biyukukung Suites and Spa
Ranked #99 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
729 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Beyond Amazing!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Biyukukung is beyond an amazing experience. We spent seven nights here on our recent trip to Bali and loved every second.

From the moment your car pulls into the driveway you know it will be special. That is confirmed when you enter reception and are greeted with a welcome drink and a view of the infinity pool overlooking the rice paddy. As an added bonus, we even got an upgrade! As you are escorted to your room and walk the path over stepping stones through koi ponds, the experience just kept getting better.

We were in a two-story room, with the entryway and bathroom downstairs and the bedroom upstairs. We had a front patio with a table and chairs as well as a giant lounger for relaxing and also had an upstairs balcony with a couple stools.

The room is directly next to a beautiful terraced rice paddy, which gives amazing views right outside the window (or right off the balcony/porch, if you're outside). There are flocks of ducks constantly swimming in the paddy providing amusement, too! You also get to watch the workers and see what it actually takes to maintain a rice paddy.

In addition to the infinity pool at reception, there's a second swimming pool located at the bottom of the terraces near the spa. That pool was great in the afternoons after the sun had warmed it up, and was a good place to watch sunset.

The porch could get a little buggy because of the rice paddy, but luckily every evening at sunset the hotel comes around and lights mosquito coils on everyone's patio.

When you wake up in the morning you can watch the sun rise over the rice paddy, and then get an amazing breakfast. They have choices of either Indonesian or Western food, and everything we tried was delicious.

The hotel is located outside of the center of Ubud, which means it's a much quieter and more relaxed environment around the hotel. There are plenty of dining options nearby, and the hotel is in close walking distance both to Monkey Forest and to ARMA.

If you want a top-notch experience that feels like you just walked into the photographs of a travel magazine, definitely check out Biyukukung!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlnAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    175
    69
    22
    20
See reviews for
62
190
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I'll start with the positives!!
This hotel is well located close to Hanoman St and a short walk to the Monkey Forest.
The hotel rooms overlook a beautiful rice paddy field, as do two pristine pools.
The room was clean and the staff are friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately, the workers in the rice field burn off each afternoon. This makes sitting outside or by the pool very unpleasant.
There was a hole in the roof of the bathroom which was no problem until it rained. Debris from the roof was all over the bathroom and blocked the drain.
I requested to be called a taxi to be transported to my next hotel. I was charged twice as much by the hotel as I would have been if I had hailed a taxi on the street.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I booked the room via Agoda app, and the price is much cheaper than the published rate. The location is very convenient, just a short walk to the famous dirty duck restaurant and COCO supermarket. The Indonesia breakfast is delicious, which is freshly made. The standard room is clean and well maintained, and the view of rice field from the balcony is excellent. The water in the shower is strong and hot enough. Only one downside is there are some insects as the hotel is located next to the field. The hotel provides free transport to Ubud downtown.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenchoi_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed the experience. A lovely welcome where we immediately found out we had been upgraded, perfect!

Staff were super friendly and efficient, really liked that they cleaned your room whilst you ate breakfast. The grounds were very well kept also, nice touches with the little streams, ponds and variety of greenery that helped merge in with the rice fields. Swimming pools were both great with the infinity idea overlooking the fields but watch out for the chlorine, a little OTT.

Our room was of a nice design with great views, had a downstairs deck with lounger, chair and table, a little entrance hall with big sink, mirror, wardrobe, safe, fridge and kettle, a big outdoor bathroom with separate shower and bath, stairs leading to the master bedroom with good AC, big bed and plasma TV plus a good balcony. A big place for the price!

Noticeable ageing here and there but clean and comfortable. Bugs, lizards and frogs galore but you are on the edge of a rice field so honestly what do you expect?! It provides a great experience with excellent views, especially watching the farmers and ducks working away daily.

Well situated about 5-10 minutes from the monkey forest and 10-15 minutes from the market. A big coco supermarket just round the corner for supplies.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I originally booked into Biyukukung for 7 nights at the start of my three week stay in Ubud. After two nights I extended for my whole stay. So why did I love Bikukukung? The location is amazing. It's a very short walk to shops and restaurants along Hanoman street as well as a short walk to the Yoga barn. (Note: On Google maps it is shown in the wrong location. See my photos for actual location). The great thing about the location, is that once you enter the hotel, you feel like you are miles away from the hustle and bustle. It's set amongst the rice paddies, of which every room has a view. You go to the sleep to the sound of frogs chirping and wake up to birds chirping and roosters crowing. So lovely. There are also two beautiful pools and the grounds are kept immaculately.

I got upgraded to a Deluxe room on the second floor. It was spacious, clean and had a big balcony that looked over the rice paddies. I would wake up and open the curtains and look out at the beautiful view form my bed. When I asked to stay longer, they gave me the upgrade for my whole stay. I did get to see one of the standard rooms and it was fine. The bathroom a little old, but it looks like they are slowly upgrading all the rooms at the moment anyway.

The staff were so lovely. Nothing was any trouble and it was great having the complementary shuttle. They would only take you so far and then after that you would have to pay extra, but I found it was pretty reasonable. Although I think comparatively with Australia, shorter distances in a taxi in Bali are quite expensive. You only get good value for longer distances.

Breakfast was just ok, but fine considering the price I was paying (got the bet price through Agoda).

One of the best things for me too, as a solo female traveller, was that I felt incredibly safe there. Also met quite a few other single travellers. This may or may not be something that makes you comfortable, but there are security cameras around the grounds, leading down the paths to rooms etc. I actually quite liked this as it made me feel very secure. Don't worry, they aren't in your rooms.

I would highly recommend Biyukukung and will definitely stay again when I'm back in Ubud.

Room Tip: The Beo rooms are the best in my opinion. I was in Beo 3. Beo 1 is ground floor if you don't lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This place seemed nice, staff was friendly enough. Stayed in pipit 3 room which is duplex style. Poor construction and layout, way too many insects and geckos in the room to be worth what they are charging. Cockroach and frog in the shower, I'm an out doorsy guy but just couldn't get comfortable here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed in Biyukukung for a night in Feburary.

The view of the padi field is just gorgeous. Rooms are facing the padi field which gives you a great view from your room balcony. I stayed in a standard room which is like a duplex. The bedroom is upstairs and the bathroom is located downstairs. The surrounding of the hotel is really serene, a perfect getaway from the busy city.

Staff are welcoming and helpful. Welcome drinks are served upon checking in. There are 2 pools in the hotel. One infinity pool located near the reception and breakfast area and another pool near the spa. Breakfast was alright, It's a la carte instead of buffet style. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to where you want to go.

Definitely worth staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherryalexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#103 of 198 in Ubud
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#67 of 198 in Ubud
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#112 of 198 in Ubud
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
3.3 mi away
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
Alam Sembuwuk Resort
#94 of 198 in Ubud
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biyukukung Suites and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biyukukung Suites and Spa

Property: Biyukukung Suites and Spa
Address: Jl. Sugriwa no. 89, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#66 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#82 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Biyukukung Suites and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Biyukukung Suites and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biyukukung Hotel Ubud
Biyukukung Resort Ubud
Biyukukung Suites And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing