We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but lacked a little atmosphere...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #12 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
morzine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good but lacked a little atmosphere...”
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at monkey forest on the back of a lot of great reviews on trip advisor for our honeymoon. It's a lovely hotel, very private despite being in centre of monkey forest rd. Location is great. Hotel itself is traditional with a modern twist in part but not cutting edge style as offered by the bisma komenaka. Lovely staff and some nice finishing touches like the hand bottled toiltries and welcome gifts and drinks. We booked one of the Pool villas which are great-Lots of space and good sized plunge pool overlooking the paddy fields and good aircon. There were a few things that let it down a bit-beds were very soft and uncomfortable although this was rectified by the ever efficient staff and there were a lot of animal noises to keep you awake, however this is to be expected in a forest location! No crawlies though in our room which was good. The hotel was good at making sure the rooms were bug free on turn down. A few geckos but that is normal. The roosters cock a doodle doo does become annoying though throughout all hours! What I did find disappointing was the communal areas lacked any real atmosphere. There is no bar at this hotel and only a small restaurant so as a result no real hub of life to the complex which is a shame as it has a lovely candlelit ambiance at night that can only be enjoyed from your own room. Such a waste! The pool is lovely set in lush green forest but again lacks any atmosphere. The pool bar is a small kitchen and it was difficult to even get a glass of water sometimes. There is very little to keep you there during the day. The clientele is slightly more mature and as a honeymoon hotel I think we expected a few more thirty somethings. All in all though, it was a pleasant stay. Not 5 star, but a worthy 4 star. I think bisma may have been more up our street and we are going back to bisma next time round. Komenaka have good staff, if not sometimes lacking in charm and banter, but very efficient and excellent service plus good standards of accommodation and cleanliness. I think I just expected a bit more of a 'wow' factor with monkey forest. I'd stay again but for 3 days max.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moremountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    111
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
218
686
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The thing about hotels in Bali is that there are MANY to pick from. So your experience is limited to what else you experience while you are in a place.

We checked in to Komaneka at Monkey Forest and i had read the reviews so expected it to be great. i was shocked that it was NOT. I hadnt been to Ubud before so i thought it was a good thing to be in the center of things. If you are in Bali for a peaceful and relaxing experience, the main crossroads of Ubud are not the place to be. mobbed during the afternoons as all the buses bring people in for the daytours with tons of cars and motorbikes. Overall the Ubud area is great, but its important to stay away from the main streets at a place that provides peace and easy access to the culture and stores that you are there for.

I was so deflated after checking in here. Our room, the pool villa 101 mentioned by another reviewer (i apologize for the direct disagreement), was not amazing compared to other places we had stayed and we had many issues. the hotel overall lacked character.i felt like i could have been anywhere, nothing special, and this carried over to the room. This small cabana with very little usable relaxation space and a pool that was hardly worth the bother (i actually didnt even bother and instead went over to the main pool). Our loungers faced a view that was only okay -- in fact there was a large flock of roosters (who were very very loud in the morning -- i'm not talking 1 or 2 but like 20! 5am wake up on your honeymoon? no thanks). There was also some other issue with things across our view, but i'll give them the benefit of the doubt that it was one off and not include it here, but it was very disagreeable. Service here wasnt good either. The front desk and welcome people were warm and kind, but we had dishes from tea service left in our room until the morning, no one did turndown service even though we told them to please go in, i sat at the hot pool for 3 hours without any water put out or anyone asking if i want anything etc. Just really lacking esp if you are looking for a special stay.

So, as a HUGE positive to the Komaneka staff, they very kindly transferred us to their new hotel Komaneka at Bisma (i was so disappointed with monkey forest that we transferred not even seeing Bisma beforehand). this hotel is far and away the better option. Yes it is slightly more expensive, but you will get a much better experience there in a lower tiered room than you would a higher tiered room at monkey forest. Trust me! Bisma is one of the finest hotels I've been to, period, and our pool villa there was far and away our best room in Bali (even better than the Aman we stayed at). The views here are insane (from lobby, pool and rooms), its so peaceful and yet you can very easily walk to town if you want to, or take their shuttle.

So this is definitely an instance where you should do your comparison shopping. If you dont, you may find at Monkey Forest a good stay. But if you do, you will find that Komaneka at Bisma is where you will find the perfect combination of peace, beauty, out of control beautiful rooms, and excellent service. Even if Bisma was booked, i personally would still opt to stay at another hotel.

Room Tip: Komaneka at Bisma
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmm303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Our stay at Komaneka in April was absolutely wonderful.The hotel is located on the main shopping street ,less than 10 min walk to Monkey Forest, yet was very quiet and relaxing!

Breakfast was excellent,We had an American Breakfast on the first day and an Indonesian one for the second ,it's very very nice and the villa was romantic, spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable.

The staff are what really makes this a great place to stay.

Thanks all staff :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojames10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Great location in the middle of Ubud, five minute walk to temples and the marketplace, rooms facing rice paddies or lush ravine (if you do it right), good restaurant on premises, complimentary tea every afternoon, free wi-fi, free hotel car as available, and friendly, smiling service.

The service, although friendly and eager to please, is uneven. Ask for anything outside their normal routine and it might not happen. Their English is OK but not great. On a major blessing day we asked about local temple ceremonies, but they really didn’t know. The torn mosquito netting was never replaced as promised. Complimentary tea was served on our terrace, but the dishes were still there the next morning. On the other hand, everything routine - like use of the hotel car, restaurant reservations, and meal service on your private terrace - is fast and friendly.

Choice of room is important here. Our deluxe room in the 300 block (the lowest level – hotels never seem to have standard rooms) was large, but had no view from the terrace. The bathroom had a glass roof facing frosted windows at the spa, with an open space at the top shared with adjoining rooms, so you and your neighbor hear each other clearly, a definite deterrent to certain uses of the sunken tub. We saw another deluxe room with a nice rice paddy view, so make sure you like yours when you check in.

On the last night we hugely improved our experience by upgrading to pool villa Room 101, probably the best in the place, with complete privacy, a terrace overlooking the lushly overgrown ravine and a rice farm beyond, a private pool, and a separate dining and lounging gazebo that was a perfect place for our last breakfast in Bali (no additional charge for room service). This room costs only a third more than the deluxe rooms, so my advice is to spend the money and request Room 101.

After that experience, I not only recommend this hotel, but dream of returning for an entire stay in that room

(P.S.: Not just for me, but if you find a review useful, please give a click. Some of us spend a lot of time doing these.)

Room Tip: Pool Villa - Room 101 - no question.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank toolworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The grounds were unbelievable.... with views of rice fields. The rooms are fabulous....bathrooms large enough to host a party of ten! There are only 20 rooms......so it NEVER felt crowded.....we felt extremely pampered! The best thing about this boutique resort is the amazing staff.....Wayan Budiarta made us feel at home with his warm greeting and smile. He remembered our names.....even though ours is quite difficult to pronounce!

The spa was sensational. This was a perfect, relaxing, pampering vacation!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnandjudy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

What a wonderful, relaxing stay we had at Komaneka Monkey Forrest. Stayed in a deluxe room, and from the moment we arrived we were thrilled.

Room was spacious, well appointed and clean. Gardens are magnificent and the pool area is fantastic. Sipping Bintang looking over the view - what a great way to unwind!

Ubud is very peaceful compared to the coastal strip, and we found this such a pleasant experience.

We'll be back :)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madcap66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed at Komaneka for one night in July 2010 while we stopped into Ubud. The place is absolutely gorgeous, perfectly manicured. The rooms are fantastic and the service is some of the best i have ever experienced, EVER in any country. Food is also wonderful. Its located in a great place, lots of vibrance and activity on the streets; and Monkey Forrest if your interested, down the road.

However, i do emphasise DO NOT take in food to feed the monkeys.. We learnt the hard way.. We bought bananas from the people selling them out the front of the entrance, and as soon as we walked into the forrest a monkey came running up to my partner and bit him on the hand to get the whole bunch of bananas.. Trip ruined.. almost..

We went back to the hotel and asked them to call a dr to find out what we should do (rabies outbreak at the time), and the lovely man at the desk did this for us and advised us that the dr had recommended my partner get the rabies vaccination. So.. the man at the desk called for a van, and drove us to the only hospital in Ubud at which no-one spoke any english.. he stayed with us the WHOLE time to translate everything and to drive us back to the hotel.. it took about 6hr or so in total.

We would never have found this hospital on our own let alone been able to communicate with anyone there. The staff at Komaneka were an absolute GOD SEND. and they never even asked for a cent, of course we insisted and left them enough to know how much we appreciated their help. They were so concern with my partners health and although we had a bad experience at the forrest, it could not have been more kindly handled.

We will def go back to komaneka, and thankyou so much to all the staff. It is an absolute oasis amongst a busy backdrop and we have recommended the hotel to all of our friends.

And if anyone is interested, my partner is fine, we flew home a few days later and he received the full course of injections plus the immunoglobulin (might be spelt wrong) which they dont even have in most countries, we were very lucky. Be safe and dont feed the monkeys ;)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank musica84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.7 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Property: Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing