We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asked to Switch to Komaneka Risa Sayang by staff, great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #13 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

During my trip to UBUD, I was booked to stay at Komaneka at Monkey Forest. However, upon arrival they offered to give us a larger suite at their new hotel not even listed on TRIP ADVISOR. It was called Komaneka Risa Sayang and it was across the street about 2 minute walk in UBUD. This hotel is made up of 32 room, 30 rooms and 2 Villas on top of the building. Although we didn't stay in a villa they were very nice.

this hotel was great. IT was clean and the staff went out of their way to make sure you were happy. Like most hotels in UBUD, you have a narrow passage to the the lobby from the busy streets of UBUD. Once inside, you are in an oasis of tranquility. The pool and dining area are in the very back and overlook the river. The infinity pool is large, warm and well lit at night. During our stay, which was over Valentines Day, they had floating candles in the water to make the night even more romantic. This Hotel is as good as Monkey Forest but the over villa design at Monkey Forest gives you even more privacy. The reason why we had to swtich was they were redoing the rooms at Monkey Forest and there was a lot of noise during the day.

UBUD was fabulous and the shops and the local market are a must. I had to buy a huge suitcase just to get souvenirs back to the US.

Don't delay, come to Bali....it is FANTASTIC.

Room Tip: Any room here is great, 15 rooms on the bottom, 15 rooms in the middle and 2 villas (large villas) o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NCWorldTraveler1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed at Komaneka Monkey Forrest for 2 nights during my recent trip to Bali. FANTASTIQUE!!! It's a boutique hotel and the staff knows you by name, the room is lovely and spacious. The breakfast - I had an American buffet breakfast option included in my room rate - was a hearty 4 course menue. Complimentary afternoon tea was a killer - I loved the dessert. Free internet in the internet room near the lobby was a plus too, (I didn't want to use my mobile phone for internet surfing..). The location is fantastic, it is the middle of Ubud, only 5 minutes walk to both Moneky Forrest and Ubud Market. I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to spend a few days in Ubud!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JimmySydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at Komaneka in December 2011. We loved our time here.. the service excellent, the rooms beautiful, and the staff very friendly! we will visit Komaneka at Monkey forest again!!!
Wendy

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smoeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in January with 10 and 15 year old daughters. This is the most relaxing, quiet, beautiful hotel i have ever stayed in. The staff are simply sensational and are always available for any request. The food is to die for and whether eaten in the restaurant, by the pool or on your balcony, it is simply the best!
The rooms are very spacious and private and the decor is charming. The bathrooms are big with a shower that makes you feel like you are standing in the rain, and a walk in bath which is just divine.
The inifinity pool is beautiful and very inviting.
The massage and spa at this hotel are very relaxing and private. The view from the upstairs of the building is over working rice fields with birds, butterflies and dragon flies in abundance.
My daugther spent a lot of time catching frogs and taking pictures of the perfectly manicured gardens. There were some complimentary activities my daughters could particpate in too.
Hotel is just across the road from the famous Warung Cafe where Julia Roberts dined. Food there was great and very reasonably priced.
Definitely coming back here but next time will be with my hubby.........

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nuttyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stay their 3 (only) nights and it is simply paradise

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We not were expecting this. This property with its friendly and remarkably kind and attentive staff made our visit to Ubud a trip to remember. Mika and his staff were amazing. They could not have been more hospitable and attentive. The room (103) with its private sitting area, private pool, and view of the jungle, was amazing. The attention to detail and cleanliness was impressive. We cannot recall ever (and we travel world wide - leaving for SE Asia this weekend) being so pleasantly surprised with our accommodations and service. Thanks again, Mika. Looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: Get 103 if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BullaPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed three nights at Komaneka at Monkey Forest in Ubud, Bali Indonesia last February. We traveled for 36 days in Bali and Australia and this was the finest hotel that we have stayed at ever. We have traveled to all seven continents and this is still the finest hotel we have stayed at. The other Komanekas are wonderful but this one has the perfect location in downtown Ubud---the cultural capital of Bali. The staff are amazing (about 4 to i guest I think) and the woman who built it is a designer/architect/art collector. There is not a thing out of place and the staff make a show out of virtually everything they do and they are all very beautiful people. They went out of their way to help us before before our flight out and even let us shower in the spa just before we left. This is the experience of a lifetime----do not pass it by.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Continent8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 199 in Ubud
1,940 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#42 of 199 in Ubud
2,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.4 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 199 in Ubud
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £128 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing