We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding stay! A++”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #13 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I can't speak highly enough about this establishment. It met all our travelling needs and more. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and not a day went by without our feeling pampered and well looked after. Breakfasts were a delight, as were the afternoon teas with the specialties. The rooms were roomy, spotless and had a wonderful bathroom and courtyard. There is an excellent reading and computer room, the pool area is lovely and really relaxing and naturally, the location is first class. Because we stayed for a week, we were given a complementary dinner, which was incredible. The front gallery is also well worth visiting, sporting wonderful local art. Naturally, as this is a Komaneka establishment, the standard is high, and the look of the grounds, rooms and facilities are perfect. We were able to also visit another Komaneka establishment for afternoon tea. I would certainly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: It's quite a small property and I am certain that every room is perfect. Ours was, and it was do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed in a villa with plunge pool that overlooked rice paddy. Very relaxing, everyone at the facility was pleasant and helpful. Also enjoyed the main infinity pool set in forest like sanctuary. Spa was very good experience. Was easy to walk out the hotel and quickly find shoppping or food.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EdD99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We tacked Ubud on for the last 2 nights of our trip to Bali, to end a mostly beach (Nusa Dua) and diving holiday. Really wished we could have had a little more time and, especially since we had so little time there, the Komaneka Monkey Forest was a perfect choice.

Location - awesome location right on Monkey Forest Road next to all the restaurants, shops and galleries. Super quiet inside but once you step out of the front gate you are right in the thick of the action.

Resort - Intimate with a lovely pool and nice grounds

Rooms - we stayed in a beautiful pool villa that felt very private, had a lovely bathroom, a nice bed and pretty pool (although quite cold to swim in). It was great to just hang out to catch a little sun in private back there or have breakfast or tea time service delivered there.

Food - We only had breakfast and the complementary tea at the resort. There are tons of options for lunch and dinner out on the main road and we like to explore so didn't stick around for any other meals. Breakfast is a la carte and can be taken at the restaurant or in your room / terrace. Felt like a more European breakfast then we're used to anywhere else in Asia.

Service - Fabulous and helpful at all times.

Having done quite a bit of research I think there are many really fabulous and similar resorts to this one in Ubud (probably a better selection then anywhere else on the island) but seeing as they take kids (many others don't) and had a superb location - it was a terrific choice!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KSJones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This place was amazing. Right in the middle of Ubud but once you walk in you could be a million miles away. The rooms are fantastic and the flower petals on the bed upon arrival just typifies the level the staff go to ensure your experience is a good one. The pool area is amazing and so peaceful it is hard to believe that only a 3 minute walk away is the centre of the Ubud region. My wife took the opportunity to be dressed up in a traditional Balinese dance costume and makeup and this was the highlight of her time here as the staff had a great time with this, and seemed to really respect her for respecting their heritage. Though this she became somewhat of a celebrity and all the staff knew her from that time on. The customer services was exceptional and the staff could not be more helpful. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danny9727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Good location! Good service, Great food..not much else I can ask for.

Not too sure if this is common in this area, but our room was full of all sorts on ants/insects. Howeever, we believe this is expected in a Villa in this sort of location. This did affect our sleep, but if you are not too fussed about this, then no problems. Otherwise, don't go for a villa type resort.

Besides that, we loved it.

Very nice infinity pool, looking out onto the rice paddies..

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Urvesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

On one of the main streets of Ubud but once you walk into the lobby, the beautiful, garden surrounds are quiet and peaceful. The hotel staff are fantastic, warm and friendly at all times of the day or night ... I arrived at 1:00 am and was greeted warmly with a fresh fruit drink and cold towel. I'm certain I said 'wow' out loud as I entered my room ... a large, canopy bed with rose petals on the bedspread! A large, sunken bath tub and a separate shower ... my bed was turned down every night with a nice, silky night shirt waiting for me on the bed ... all this plus a great, private verandah overlooking a rice field! The hotel organised a day tour for me; a private air-conditioned car with a guide who spoke excellent English ... ask for Gde ... couldn't ask for a nicer young man ... had a great day out and learnt so much about the culture ... thank you Gde!

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank NikkiBlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We are just back from 8 nights at the wonderful Komaneka at Monkey Forest. We thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful pool villa (Room 103) with the view of the jungle gorge. It was beautifully appointed and well maintained. My husband was glad to have a lounger in the shade of a tree while I enjoyed a patch of sunshine. We found the staff very friendly, efficient, and gracious. They went out of their way to make our stay a pleasure. If first level staff did not understand our question (probably due to working in another language) they quickly referred us to other staff. Although the main road is very busy, this means there are lots of stores and restaurants easily accessible. Once you walk through the lobby of the hotel you are in a peaceful garden setting. Do book some sessions at the spa- which is really lovely. Where else can you have a massage with fresh air in the room and the sound or birds or enjoy a pedicure looking over rice paddies? We also enjoyed the ample breakfast menu. Our favourite restaurant in town was the Three Monkeys - just a few doors down the street. If visiting the monkey park is on your list of activities you may want to go early in the morning before the tourist buses arrive.
the park is a quiet, shady spot for a walk at 7:00 or 8:00
Komaneka will remain in our memories as an ideal vacation destination. We hope to return again soon

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first. There was construction going on at another property at one side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wannagoVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 197 in Ubud
1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 197 in Ubud
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#43 of 197 in Ubud
2,148 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#10 Family Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £136 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing