We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel - beautiful, quiet and ultra convenient location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #9 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - beautiful, quiet and ultra convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel is beautiful. We had a pool villa which was really special. The lady - Dewy - who showed us to our Villa was the sweetest. As were all the staff. We went there for three days as part of our honeymoon and loved this hotel. It's right in the hub of things and yet, set back a little off the street, the further you walk into the grounds the quieter it gets. Most of the accommodation is set towards the back facing out onto the jungle, which was really gorgeous and a great change from nusa dua.

We took advantage of the cookery class they offered which was really good fun. We also did a downhill cycle tour with Eco Bali tours, which the hotel helped us arrange, which i would really recommend. We saw a lot and had some amazing views - of the volcano and the paddy fields.

The only slight downside of this hotel was the breaskfast. It was very tasty but there was a slightly odd system where you had a choice of several four-course options. All of these came at once so you had cooked breakfast served with pastries and a fruit salad. While it was a generous amount, sometimes you didn't necessarily want all those four courses. Or not in that combination. It would make more sense to have a list of foods and ask people to pick 3 or 4. This is a very picky grumble though as everything was pretty spot on for a hotel in the hub.

If we went back i would try Mosaic restaurant. We had a bit of a tummy bug so had to cancel our reservations.

Great trip. Many thanks Komaneka.

Room Tip: Pool villas are lovely although you get a bit of jungle noise at night - which i liked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soph1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    107
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
214
670
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Best service and help when my mate was sick. Runs to retrieve panadol and also doctor when required.

Staff are friendly and fun. Provide privacy yet always available and attentive.

Breakfast was healthy and scrumptious. Beautiful balinese coffee.

Upgrade to private pool villa. Use the pick up service.

looks into the forest from the villa and on your right, rice fields.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank titanzdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel and had a great time.

Our room was amazing, very large with a lounge area, huge bathroom, bedroom area and outside seating area. I was disappointed in the location of our room which was virtually underground and as such did not have very much natural light. The hotel was only 60% occupied and as such I would have expected to have a room with a bit of natural light.

The room was spotless and very comfortable.

The pool area was quite nice as it overlooked a rice field and river.

Breakfast was really tasty and afternoon tea was pretty good.

The location of the hotel is great, close to lots of nice restaurants and shops.

The owners / staff were very friendly and helpful and were always very keen to help with any travel plans.

Overall, we had a great stay at the hotel and I would highly recommend it. I would probably request a room on the ground floor or upper floors though!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millymini88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
149 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here for a week to unwind after a hectic trip over Sumatra, Java and Bali.

Splurged on a pool villa which is expensive but so very much worth it with your own plunge pool, outdoor sitting area and veranda, not to mention the luxury of a sunken bathtub in the bathroom (with, incidentally, the best hotel-provided shampoo / conditioner / gels ever).

Loved the place, staff will go out of their way to please you with anything you could possibly want, the spa provides very nice relaxing massages, restaurant has not only good food but you can take cooking classes if so inclined, and the hotel even has its own art gallery. There is a complimentary afternoon tea at poolside each day.

Wish I was still there.

Room Tip: Take a pool villa if your budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The noise of Monkey Forest road disappears as soon as you walk through the reception. The grounds were stunning, and our room looked straight on to a paddy field. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and even offered to move a rather loud frog that had taken up residence in the paddy field outside our room! The breakfasts were of a very high quality and the afternoon tea by the pool was a lovely touch.

If I could do my holiday again, I would have extended the amount of time we spent in Ubud, both for the place and for the amazing hotel.

Room Tip: We had the basic room, and it was the most luxurious we've ever stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Only checked out yesterday but compelled to write a positive review straight away. We stayed 5 nights and are travelling throughout Bali and Lombok. Other hotels claim the 5 stars but this place earns it in every way. The staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful and genuinely great at their job. The rooms are AMAZING. The breakfast is out of this world. For a special treat, honeymoon or just any excuse this is just perfect platform to absorb ubud and also get some serious luxury too.

Also, avoid Nusa Dua, it's not the real Bali. Stay in ubud (I wish I had!)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheRozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I can't speak highly enough about this establishment. It met all our travelling needs and more. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and not a day went by without our feeling pampered and well looked after. Breakfasts were a delight, as were the afternoon teas with the specialties. The rooms were roomy, spotless and had a wonderful bathroom and courtyard. There is an excellent reading and computer room, the pool area is lovely and really relaxing and naturally, the location is first class. Because we stayed for a week, we were given a complementary dinner, which was incredible. The front gallery is also well worth visiting, sporting wonderful local art. Naturally, as this is a Komaneka establishment, the standard is high, and the look of the grounds, rooms and facilities are perfect. We were able to also visit another Komaneka establishment for afternoon tea. I would certainly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: It's quite a small property and I am certain that every room is perfect. Ours was, and it was do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Property: Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#8 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing