We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in the midst of traffic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #13 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Monkey Forest Road is not quiet yet enter this hotel and once you pass reception with its beautiful water features and the charming staff all changes. Beautiful rooms, ours overlooks a rice paddy , great staff and peaceful gardens, yet in the centre of town. A great base for central Ubuf

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MisterGrumpyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

Reading the recent reviews of this property, we have nothing to add except our endorsement. From the welcoming drink to the (almost) tearful departure, we were pampered, soothed and relaxed.
Sorry to be a downer, but Bali Belly struck us before we arrived. The staff at Komaneka were so helpful and gee whiz, if you are going to be confined to your villa, I can't think of a nicer villa to be confined to!
I would unreservedly commend this property to travelers wanting luxury, value, beauty of surroundings, faultless staff, great food, within the buzz of Ubud, but insulated from it.
Fabulous place!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 103. Views of rice paddies, infinity pool, quiet yet near main pool, just gorgeo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiWithWings80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My partner and I recently spent a week at Komaneka monkey Forest and were astounded by the level of warm professional service from the staff who were attentive but also relaxed. This place allows you to really feel as though you are in a blissful secluded paradise with only 20 rooms it has a relaxed atmosphere and then as soon as you step out the door you are in the heart of Ubud surrounded by a great choice of gallery's, shops, restaurants cultural performances and people. If you want the perfect combination of soothing relaxing tropical surroundings but located within the heart of everything this place is a great choice. Another highlight of this place is the open air restaurant set in the tropical garden serving fresh delicious food. The rooms were spacious and beautiful with unlimited bottle water and a large bath for two filled with fresh flowers. The in house massages and spa were a daily treat and worth every cent. The staff really made us feel welcome and we dream of our next return.

Room Tip: the rooms with rice field view are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The absolute tops if you want access to the buzz of Ubud yet be able to retire to the peace of the countriside in minutes. Outstanding service and attention to detail, even a scented spray in the loo and an insect spray by the personal infinity pool looking out over jungle and rice fields.

The breakfat menu seemed to stump many with its complexity but the setting was charming and tea by the pool a nice extra. Rooms spacious but you might find a resident gecko which the staff know how to deal with, I assure you. The staff seem to outnumber guests significantly and all are kern to please. Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 102 suited us but am sure other rooms were as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremyburtonReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Right in the center of town, but feeling far removed once inside, this retreat of a small hotel had great service, wonderful accomodations and a wonderful staff. Step outside to great shopping and restaurants in the middle of Ubud.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is our fourth stay with Komaneka Monkey Forest. It is our only hotel we choose to stay in Ubud. We love the cozy ambience, friendly staffs and our Suite Room is excellent with perfect paddy fields view..All the staffs are very attentive and always greet you with their big smiling faces, which make you feel so warm just like home. It's our second home and will definitely come back again!!! You will definitely not regret to stay here too.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maychew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We have been staying at Komaneka in Monkey Forest Road, Ubud, for our mid-year holiday for nearly twenty years now. It suits us perfectly and we seem to have found a home away from home.
From the moment you are met by the smiling Komaneka driver at Denpasar airport, until the day you return, you are made to feel welcome, at home, and looked after in the most unobtrusive and thoughtful manner possible. We have come to know the staff and they know us, while new staff are undoubtedly trained to know our likes and dislikes and some quirks too. Everything is doen to make our stay more than enjoyable. When, several years ago, the staff discovered that we liked mangosteens, the daily fresh fruit in our room was mangosteens. Knowing how much we enjoy the Bali coffee at breakfast ours cups are kept full of that delicious tasting brew.
A small number of rooms, set in a beautiful tropical garden, many, and our favourite, overlooking a rice paddy, and with a pool from which you can watch the ducks in a rice paddy and look down to a small stream, the quiet and sense of calm is entrancing.
And, perhaps, best of all, we can walk out into Monkey Forest Road and mix with the people on the street and visit the shops, watch the children playing soccer or flying kites, and bargain for vanilla beans in the market. It is not a compound cut off from the real world, nor an anonymous international style hotel. Every moment you know that you are in Bali and could not be anywhere else in the world.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 199 in Ubud
1,938 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#42 of 199 in Ubud
2,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.4 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 199 in Ubud
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £127 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing