We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and relaxing at the Komaneka in Ubud.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #9 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing at the Komaneka in Ubud.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

The staff at the Komaneka are very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are clean and are a good size.
At the Komaneka they seem to go that little bit further to make your stay special.
The breakfast was very tasty,so much to choose from with fresh juices and fruit.
They even supplied your own night gown and a turn down service.

Room Tip: All rooms where ideal but we where in a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macka2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    107
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
214
671
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights after much research on where to stay in Ubud and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with great courtesy and kindness. We were lucky as it was low season, we were offered a complimentary upgrade from a room to a luxurious suite! We were thrilled with the suite, amazing four poster bed and view overlooking the paddy field. The bathroom was great too, with a sunken bath. We also had our own terrace where we enjoyed breakfast (go for the 'komaneka' breakfast - delicious!) and private pool. The reception staff, in particular Yoga, catered to our every need. The great thing about this particular Komaneka is the location. It is in the middle of monkey forest road, so you only need to walk a few minutes to areas such as the Water Palace, yet once you're inside, it is pure tranquility. Perfect for seeing Ubud and relaxing when you return by night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayjunkie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

5 Star Balinese hospitality - warm, classy, understated, friendly. The location was central, on Monkey Forest Road, between the Monkey Forest and the Market. The staff were friendly, efficient and warm. We stayed in a luxurious room overlooking a rice paddy which was beautiful, near the swimming pool. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed here three nights in late April. Myself, partner and one child.
Sensational staff. So considerate and lovely. Always looking out for you and tending to your every need. Never experienced anything like it. My 9 year old got a tummy ache one day. They rearranged our day trip for us. He got better and we went out that afternoon. On return was a hand written card to get well and a bowl of fruit. Villa was clean and luxurious. Architecture and gardens simple but absolutely beautifully Asian. Breakfast good. It's not a top notch 5 star grand experience however, a perfect "Ubud" luxury experience right in the cut and thrust of the centre of Ubud - with exceptionally friendly staff. Great for couples and the thinking family. Too quiet for multiple high energy kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We spent 3 nights in a suite for our honeymoon during low season and came back for another a couple of days after leaving. The atmosphere is peaceful and the service is simply incredible.
The staff is extremely professional and helpful.
The room was very clean and large. The afternoon tea by the swimming pool is always nice and renewed everyday. The breakfast's salmon poached eggs are very good though we would have preferred a buffet for the breakfast.
The hotel is located rather high up in the monkey forest street and is close to shops, restaurants and cultural centers such as the Ubud Palace.
The massages were astounding and extremely reinvigorating, well worth the extra buck compared to say the Nur Salon Spa.

We would come back for sure, if not for another nearby Komaneka hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
322 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed here after recommendations from Tripadvisor. We originally booked into the Komaneka Rasa Sayang but realised we had made a mistake as we wanted the one at Monkey Forest which although only 200m away had villas rather than hotel rooms. We mentioned this to management and they had us moved straight away which was great.
Service is fantastic. The complimentary afternoon tea and use of all 3 hotel facilities in the area is a nice idea.Breakfast choice is very varied and the quality is good. The hotel is very central and very good restaurants are located close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecheria, Venezuela
Level Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I researched the hotels in Ubud to great extent before deciding on Komaneka Monkey Forest, and we were very happy with this choice.

The staff at the front desk were very welcoming, and we loved our villa that included a small pool at the edge of a small valley with a stream/river down below. It was such a pretty area with the lounge chairs on a small raised platform next to the pool, with a tree above for shade. Loved this space! The staff would come and put sheets on over the pullows on the lounge chairs, making you feel so special. The water in the pool was sooo cold, would only get in basically when I was pushed in, then for photos. There was a table and chairs outside in a covered area by the pool, where we had our breakfast a few days.

The room itself was on the rustic side but in a good way, with lots of charm. The room wasn't too big, and seemed a little dark. The bathroom was outdoors (bali style) with a shower and separate large tub that we used. The room was very private with the outer doors (bali style) made our space feel exclusive. The place was very quiet and at night the path was lit up with torches...took so many photos...

In terms of location, you walked out of the hotel and you were right on the main street, with all sorts of restaurants, shops, and massage parlours, art galleries etc to choose from. At night there was live music...and nearby were balinese dancing venues. Such a great spot, no need to worry about a taxi- as you are right in the middle of the action. I was especially impressed by a band that played some latin music (Mana) down the street.

The staff were great, and very coordinated. The main hotel pool was very pretty, but we didn't need it. Breakfast was good.

Felt like we were the only people there, but we did see others when we had breakfast in the restaurant. Boyfriend walked down to the monkey forest.

We each got a free massage at the hotel, and they were excellent...we took them on the last day, and they were better than most that we had in town (which were already good), and the technique was a little different.

I love Ubud and really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Recommended.

Room Tip: Pool villa
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Expat_Chiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#7 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Property: Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#8 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing