We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but to expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #13 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Nice and spaceous rooms, modern and clean bathroom, Pool with forestview, complimentary afternoontea including Snacks. All together: a nice Hotel, but with Rates Above 300 usd its TO expansive Even if you relate it TO the Crazy Price Level in Ubud.

Room Tip: Groundfloor rooms have a nice private Terrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reisebein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at Komaneka in Ubud and it was a perfect place for our honeymoon. The only reason I haven't rated the stay as excellent is the tariff is very costly. In fact we payed almost double of what we were paid for our stay at The Stones (a Marriott property) in Bali. We did get a private pool villa of course so the experience was outstanding and it may not be fair to compare it with a room in a 5 star property. I would advise all guests to bargain hard, sometimes as much as 50% as most of the Hotels easily drop their prices. The place has a very local Balinese feel and the spa was completely out of this world.You can just walk all around the place and the restaurants around serve a lot of local food though they all shut quite early in the night. All in all a wonderful experience though if we ever go next time we will try get a much better deal on the tariff. The main restaurant was under renovation so the breakfast was served in a very small poolside restaurant which was very okay. Also the breakfast is Ala cart and there was no buffet breakfast which we expected for the price we were paying..

Room Tip: I don't think they had a fitness center but I cannot undo the click on the rating..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floyd_Furtado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have stayed at this resort before and again it hasn't disappointed. Komeneka at mockery forest is quite intimate with a very Balinise feel. You get looked after here like you were royalty, the service was excellent and the staff always friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. I have no trouble recommending this establishment to others. It is at the upper end cost wise but the experience of the place and their staff is worth it. They really do make you feel like one of their family.

Room Tip: We stayed in a pool villa and enjoyed this option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I have stayed here multiple times. Each time we have been treated like cherished family. The setting is right off the main street but once you get to reception you will forget where you are. The most amazing and attentive (yet unobtrusive) staff you will ever come across. And the spa? OMG, pampering overload.

Room Tip: Variety of different rooms. Keep going back to experience them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was our second stay at this gorgeous little resort close to the centre of busy Ubud - and it was just as good as we had remembered. Quite apart from the restful surrounds and comfortable villas, the staff here are absolutely amazing - friendly, helpful, generous and so welcoming. On our final day we were supposed to check out at midday but our driver wasn't coming until 5pm and we were happy to spend a little more to be able to have use of our room until that time. Well, we were given the whole day with full use of the room and all facilities, were driven to Bisma and back, and offered afternoon tea before departure (they are very keen for guests to eat, eat, eat!) AND were given a farewell gift for no extra charge. Exceptional service.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably quiet as they are set well back from Monkey Forest Road. Choose a suite over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raeh255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My partner and I recently spent several days in Ubud and stayed at Komaneka at Monkey Forest. We had the good fortune of being upgraded on arrival to a suite - very spacious and overlooking rice paddies. This resort was almost perfect - it provided a much-appreciated refuge from the hurly-burly that Ubud, and Bali, has become. The resort is well-placed - central and close to many cafes and restaurants, and close to the Monkey Forest, if that's of interest. We only have praise for the staff - unfailingly pleasant and professional - personified by the lovely Yuli and her comrades at reception, and the sensitive Wayan in the restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble. We would thoroughly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This place is amazing. I didn't want to leave! It's so quiet with views of rice fields but close to Ubud town, restaurants, shops and bars. The staff like Juni were absolutely welcoming, kind and caring. I travelled alone & was lucky enough to get an upgrade to a 1br pool villa which I will book next time. The spa services were also amazing. I had the best Balinese massage for a reasonable price. I loved the breakfasts & afternoon tea by the main pool.
Although I didn't have time to explore other activities they do offer woodcarving to cooking classes.
A rare gem of a place! I will be back!

Room Tip: Go for a pool villa as plenty of room or ask for a room with a view of rice fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 199 in Ubud
1,937 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#42 of 199 in Ubud
2,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.4 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 199 in Ubud
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £127 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing