We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem - Beautiful Boutique Style Hotel in a Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Ranked #9 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem - Beautiful Boutique Style Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed in Komaneka Monkey Forest for the first part of our honeymoon in Bali and overall it was our favourite stay, even if it was only for 2 nights. The location is excellent right in the heart of Ubud so you have easy access to the markets, restaurants and cultural attractions such as the traditional Balinese dance shows. The Hotel is small, but it has everything you need - helpful front desk, restaurant, pool, bar etc. It really feels like you have discovered a hidden gem and are experiencing the real Bali.

Couple of tips for Ubud make sure you go to the Dirty Duck restaurant - beautiful setting overlooking rice fields and great food, try and reserve a big bed rather than a table, I was a little jealous of others who got these! Also the Lotus Cafe near the Palace and market is amazing - you can see the temple from the restaurant and if you book a table around 7/ 7.30 you can see the dancing while you eat. I also wish we had done more trips from Ubud but we ran out of time before we travelled South - would have liked to have visited the Volcano, Hot Springs, Gilli Islands etc.

Back to Komeneka - the rooms are amazing, we just had a standard room but it was out of this world, four poster bed (flower arrangement every night), bedtime cultural readings left everynight, robes and slippers to use at night, hats and shopping bags to use in the day, fresh fruit and biscuits in your room, cute little terrace, the bathroom was amazing with a large sunken bath with rose petals when we arrive and an amazing outdoor shower.

Breakfast was lovely and they are happy to serve in your room - we had it on the terrace which was lovely. Complimentary afternoon tea was also a nice gesture which most hotels do. As honeymooners we also got a present each - two silk scarfs which was such a lovely thought. The hopitality is excellent and nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff.

For a romantic, quiet, relaxing stay in paradise look no further than Komeneka. When you book your stay in Ubud make sure you know the distance into the centre because some hotels are quite far out and you have to get a shuttle bus which is not as convenient. We went on to stay at the Ubud Hanging Gardens - expensive but a once in your lifetime hotel in the mountains of Ubud - loved it but overall Komeneka is better value. We then when to Nusa Dua - Laguna Spa Resort &Hotel, which again was nice but a bit soul-less after Ubud.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissAMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    107
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
214
670
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at fancier, more expensive hotels on this trip, and all were wonderful, but this one was just amazing, great price , great value, beautiful, huge rooms, great service, great location.I was nervous to stay here being that it wasn't a well known, name brand hotel, we came from the Ritz, and the Oberoi, but this was maybe the best thing about the Komaneka, it was beautiful, and unique, and comfortable, and while it didn't have the same quality restaurants, or spa's of the Ritz or Oberoi, we would stay here again in a second. The rooms were huge , and beautiful, and you get a lot for your money, The Balinese are wonderful to children,The local restaurants were amazing, and we would be lucky to return here. Amazing.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corwexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

We were 6 people, stayed in 3 rooms at Komaneka Resort, Jl.Monkey Forest.. As usual, we were very happy with services and staff were very friendly and helpful..
The rooms we stayed, Deluxe no.307 and 308 and Pool Villa 104 were absolutely paradise on earth. During our stay, we had a lovely Birthday Cake and present from the owner Koman and Mansri, which we didn't expect anyone to know it, that means the staff go very much into details of the guests...The most convenience location!! We promise to come back and stay longer soon.....
Congratulations!!!
Girawat Suthanaporn

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

We were walk in customers looking for an upscale but affordable hotel right in Ubud. We were greeted with wamr welcome, and cool towels and refreshing drinks and happily shown a nice room. The hotel is right on the main strip in Ubud, but runs all the way back to a jungly ravine, so it's very green and quiet throughout.

We asked to stay for three nights, and by the first, we were begging for more (unfortunately they were full, but helped us find a nice room at one of their sister hotels). The room was spacious, with a nice desk area, window seats, a nice patio with comfortable lounge chair, in room safe, outdoor bathroom. The only thing lacking would be CD player/sound system. We could hear the room beside us at times, but they were unusually loud with their television I think... who else stays in a room in Bali and watches movie after movie on thier TV?

The pool is located at the back of the property by the ravine, and is the most quiet, unassuming, elegant pool you ever needed. Very nice salt water system that refreshes.

Breakfast is fantastic. DO have the french toast. It has raised all my french toast standards forever more. Maybe it was the warm fruit compote, the roasted bananas or perhaps the grilled fruit that came with it....? We didn't have any other meals there, because there are so many options to walk to from the hotel.

One cannot say enough about the staff at Komeneka. Their pride and professionalism is evident in everything they do. They all seemed to know us, and even sneaked in and made up the room when we were having breakfast. Amazing. No more wondering if they would come at at inconvenient time, or if it would be made up by the time you come back for a cool siesta mid-day. Very appreciated.

I felt very happy and comfortable at Komeneka. They treat you like family, only Royal Family!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissusKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

A wonderful experience. From the moment we were picked up from the airport everything was exceptional. Arriving in the middle of the night we were shown to our pool villa where the bed and bath were decorated with flowers. The villa had a lovely big bedroom and large bathroom/dressing room with beautiful fittings also there were flower arrangements both inside and out in the bale which overlooked a rice field. Ginger tea, cookies and a swim on a warm Balinese night, heaven! Food was delicious and the masseuse at the spa is fantastic. Afternoon tea by the pool is another plus, there is a very generous feel to everything. The Hotel is in a great position to wander the streets of Ubud and is very quiet. All the staff are charming and very friendly. The manager Gungdek asked us if we would like to stay at their new property Bisma for a night WOW this is an extremely stylish hotel in an amazing location and again with the same attention to detail and wonderful staff. Bisma has the WOW factor and is stunning and Monkey Forest is gorgeous. We have stayed at quite a few hotels on our 3 trips to Ubud, Uma, Como Shambala, Alila, Maya but the Komaneka hotels are our favourite.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Only metres away from the busy main drag of Ubud the Komaneka was an oasis of calm manned by the most delightful staff we have ever come across.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annietom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We had passed this hotel several times during trips to Ubud but had never been inside. This year we fancied staying for a few nights in Ubud itself to sample the nightlife so we booked 2 rooms directly with the hotel for my husband & I and my teenage daughter & her friend.
The hotel staff were fabulous - responding to my emails promptly & answering all my questions (I am a bit of a control freak when it comes to planning holidays!! - I even looked at their site plan & asked if we could have 2 specific pool villas & sure enough, when we arrived, they gave us the exact ones I requested way back in December).

We were a little concerned as to what the hotel would be like (being directly on Monkey Forest Road) in terms of quality & safety but we were blown away - the villas were georgeous and we all felt very safe and well looked after. The staff were lovely and we all really enjoyed our stay. The one downside was that we had only booked 2 nights! I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank fabholslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Monkey Forest

Property: Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#8 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#12 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Komaneka at Monkey Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Monkey Forest began as a residence for artists behind the prestigious Komaneka Gallery, specializing in fine contemporary Indonesian and Balinese art. Now recently renovated with luxurious suites, an infinity pool, open-air restaurant, spa, and pool villas, all in a lush garden with mature shade trees, this is a very special oasis. The resort's location on the Monkey Forest Road gives immediate access to the Ubud market and all the cultural activities of the Ubud palace, Puri Ubud, residence of Ubud's ruling family. At the other end of this bustling street, lined with restaurants and boutiques, is a sacred monkey forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Komaneka at Monkey Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Monkey Forest Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing