We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful experience”
Review of Kamandalu Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kamandalu Ubud
Ranked #43 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We loved our four nights at the Kamandalu. The staff were so polite and helpful, I would definitely recommend this to any traveller going to Ubud. The grounds were beautiful and perfectly maintained. Loved the choice of two pools.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Ms Gail H,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese village getaway.

Thank you for your stay in June for 4 nights at Kamandalu Ubud. We really appreciate your positive comment on the service from our team, which we will certainly maintain and improve. Thank you for experience the two of our pools, as well as enjoying the surrounding of the ground at Kamandalu Ubud.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Kamandalu Ubud.

Blissfully yours,


The management and staff of Kamandalu Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    165
    45
    12
    7
See reviews for
183
562
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were sadly only at Kamandalu for just one night. The hotel and the setting is amazing. We were upgraded to a pool villa, the garden with the pool was beautiful.....the scenery would be hard to top. Loved the yoga class, again amazing setting and also had a lovely spa treatment. The next day we did a morning cycle tour through local villages and rice fields organised by the hotel, it was one of the best things I have ever done and a highlight of my Bali holiday . Overall can't fault it and would love to return, certainly wish we were there for a second night.
Thank you

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are stunning but the pool suit was amazing and if you can afford it I am sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Klmitch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Mr Klmitch10,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese village getaway.

Thank you for sharing your short holiday at Kamandalu Ubud in July 2014. Even though your stay only 1 night, we appreciate your active participation on joining our Yoga program, experience the Spa treatment, as well as the cycling through the natural rice field near Kamandalu.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to Kamandalu Ubud for more than 1 night stay....

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing, very peaceful , the people here is a good example of Ubud people and culture. I love the service.
It is close of the down town and you can use the shuttle.
The villas area amazing, there is a yoga class, some nights are special shows.
The hotel is in the middle of the jungle... Amazing.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chiokp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Ms Chiokp,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese village getaway.

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on your stay in June 2014. We really pleased to read your positive comment on our staff, which representing local friendliness and culture of Ubud.

Our location, which is not too far from Ubud town, is the uniqueness of the peaceful and tranquil stay. Beside, you can still catch our shuttle bus to go to 5 minutes drive to town.

Thank you for experience the Yoga Class as a part of our service, also Cultural Show at the restaurant as one of the program to introduce the culture of Bali.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Kamandalu Ubud

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent 5 days at the resort, beautiful hotel and location is great.
The shuttle provides a few drives downtown and of course pick ups even though I would recommend they increase the number of rotations as you otherwise have to pay rph50,000 for a drive down to the village which is only 5min away.
Amazing setting and adorable staff!
Would highly recommend it for those that are looking for a quiet and well maintained resort!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ccresp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Mr Ccresp,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese village getaway.

Thank you for sharing your experience stay for 5 days at Kamandalu Ubud. We have notice on your suggestion to increase schedule of shuttle bus, which we will review later on the stage.

We really appreciate your positive comment and suggestion to choose Kamandalu Ubud for quite and well maintain accommodation, as well as level of service deliver from our team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

From our initial internet reservation, check inn, spa, food and transport the Resort and staff were a delight.
Our 2bed pool villa was perfect for our family of 4. Clean comfortable and very relaxing
Particular thanks to Asti who was on top of every detail and Wish for our 3 hr bike ride

We are definitely coming back
One of the best we have ever stayed at!

The Trainor Family

Room Tip: 201 pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear The Family of Trainor,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese village getaway.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at villa #201. We are thrilled to read your satisfaction comment on your stay this July 2014. We will ensure to maintain our level of service, spa, food, transport and rest of facilities so all guest will also experience the same as you and the family.

We will pass your comment as well to Asti, our receptionist in handling your 3 hours bike experience.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Kamandalu Ubud

Blissfully yours,


The management and staff of Kamandalu Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed there for our engagement trip, oh what a lovely romantic place to stay, we couldn't have chosen a better resort for out trip!
pros
1 atmosohere-it is set up as a balenese village, with one main building and a lot of villas scattered around a beautiful territory, look like small balinese streets, with villas-houses on them.
2 staff-the best that you don't notice, right? so I haven't really "noticed" staff, but everything was done. we went to have breakfast, came back to the room and it was clean, flowers on the bad and bathroom, weather report for the day printed out-little touches that matter:) at night they set up the room for the night, good night note on a leaf, flowers again, curtains down, ambient light on… lovely just lovely:)
3 breakfast was good, in general I'm a light eater and I'm very simple with my food preferences, so I thought that it was waaaay more than enough! great choice at the buffet, good service, clean and tasty:)
4 accommodation, I think we had a garden villa, the one with an outdoor shower and a gazebo up the steps, very nice, quirky but nice! spacious, clean and secluded-didn't see anybody at all if we didn;t wanted to:) may be the security person that is walking the grounds(which is a good thing)
very quite, no noise from anybody or anything not during the day or at night.
5 pools-large clean and nobody there:)

cons
1 a little far from the city centre, but free shuttle is very convenient, coming back was a small fee like 50 000 or so. I don't remember any shops nearby, but we didn't want anything or when coming back from Ubud we'd buy extra cigarettes, water or whatever, its not an issue
2 well to be honest room are a little dated, not that it matters to me, but in general bathrooms and some furniture might be updated:) I'm not too picky, however if you are picky and want uber luxury-you won't get it here, here everything is a little rustic, little dated but lovely anyway

overall it is a very special place, quite, romantic and quirky-charming would go back in a heartbeat!
highly recommended!

Room Tip: garden villas are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lunohodik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Mr Lunohodik,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese village getaway.

Thank you for your stay in January 2014 at one of our Garden Villa. Many thanks indeed for detail feedback, which will be very helpful to reader who will choose to stay at Kamandalu Ubud.

Thank you for giving a brief explanation on garden and surrounding, our seamless staff service, the positive feedback on our continuous development in breakfast area,

Indeed the concept of our accommodation is to introduce the Balinese Village concept, so you will experience the Balinese living as our tagline " Balinese Village getaway"

Once again, thank you very much for your positive comment. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to Kamandalu Ubud in the near future.

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

From the moment we arrived till we left the staff, the resort and facilities was like a dream come true.
Food was excellent.
Spa treatments amazing!
The infinity pool overlooking the hills and trees will take your breathe away!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliboobali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Ms Aliboobali,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese village getaway.

Thank you very much for your positive comment at tripadvisor.

Noted that your stay in June at Kamandalu Ubud was excellence. Thank you for enjoying the facilities, experience the food and spa treatment as well.

We will maintain our level of service and facilities to ensure the satisfaction of each guest

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 198 in Ubud
1,873 reviews
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,112 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#14 of 198 in Ubud
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#8 of 198 in Ubud
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamandalu Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamandalu Ubud

Property: Kamandalu Ubud
Address: Jl. Andong, Banjar Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#32 Family Hotel in Ubud
#36 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#37 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamandalu Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamandalu Ubud is a 5-star boutique resort and spa located conveniently in a serene area of Ubud, Bali, a place long famed for its rice terraces and Balinese traditional arts.The resort's compound of 58 luxurious villas is a resemblance of an enchanting Balinese village. Individually designed with thatched roof, each villa features a spacious bedroom complete with modern amenities and outdoor showers. For the ultimate in privacy, some villas have their own private swimming pools. The resort is beautifully nestled between the green rice paddies and the tropical valley, just a 10 minute drive from the center of Ubud with complimentary scheduled shuttle service to center of Ubud. The resort is an hour comfortable drive from Ngurah Rai international airport on well paved roads. Airport pick-ups and limousines services can be arranged by the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kamandalu Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamandalu Resort And Spa, Ubud, Bali Hotel Ubud
Kamandalu Resort Ubud
Kamandalu Hotel Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing