We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natura paradise”
Review of Kamandalu Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kamandalu Ubud
Ranked #43 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Spent our honeymoon trip at Kamandalu...we quickly realised that 3 nights are not enough as we did not want to leave. the resort is beautiful it has 3 swimming pools and the rice-terrace arrangement is enchanting. staff is overly kind,, which adds on to the sense of peace and relaxation the overall setting conveys. it is also very easy to get to Ubud from Kamandalu as the resort has its own shuttle buses running back and forth. Our villa with private pool and garden was simply stunning and when we arrived in the villa we found complimentary sweets and decorations for our honeymoon. Overall the staff and management were highly professional in how they run this beautiful resort. Very happy with it. I would highy recommend staying in this facility for visiting Ubud and will be ooking forward to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank clauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Mr Clauz from Rome - Italy,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese village getaway,

First of all, congratulation on your honeymoon trip to Kamandalu Ubud back in July 2014. We are thrilled to hear your satisfaction to our people, surrounding and facilities.

Thank you for staying at Private Pool Villa, and utilizing our facilities such as shuttle service to experience Ubud town to complete your holiday in Ubud as destination.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Kamandalu Ubud

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for Kamandalu Ubud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Kamandalu's architecture and hotel overall garden design are excellent.
Service is impecable, people are very friendy.
Masage and SPA treatment were the best, very professional massage. The only problem was with pool food it was very disappointing

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank EceEnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Mr EceEnder,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese village getaway,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Kamandalu Ubud in last August 2014.

We appreciate your compliments on garden and our architectural, which is following the concept of Balinese architectural. We sincerely appreciate your satisfaction of our people and the service.

Unfortunately we did not meet the expectation on food service in pool area. We will certainly have this as our lesson to improve for the future

Many thanks for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Kamandalu Ubud in the future

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a great time at Kamandalu. The place is so quiet and peaceful. It is a bit outside Ubud but it only takes 5-10 min by taxi or hotel car. We stayed at one of the pool villas and the villa, the view, the pool everything was really nice. Also the hotel staff was very helpful. The only thing missing was a gym - however there is jogging tracks in the rice fields just outside the hotel and you can rent bikes very cheap.

We were also having our wedding ceremony at Kamandalu, which the hotel had arranged for us - they did a wonderful job - it was so beautiful! A great experience we will always remember.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Martedal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Ms Martedal,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese village getaway,

First of all, congratulation on your wedding ceremony at Kamandalu Ubud!

We were thrilled to have an honor to arrange your wedding ceremony in July 2014. Thank you so much for choosing Kamandalu Ubud for your memorable event in your life. We did receive your photograph and thank you very much for sharing the moment with us.

We are pleased to inform you that we are in the middle of making the gym area for our guests! We will get back to you once the gym are is finish and look forward to welcoming you back with the family perhaps!

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

On arrival to Kamandalu we were greeted with lovely staff and amazing views. Our villa was lovely although did smell a bit damp at times. Outdoor shower was nice especially when the sun was shining. Complimentary massage was great and the spa atmosphere was lovely although spa prices were expensive compared to central Ubud! Pools were very nice and yoga in the arvo was lovely and relaxing in the yoga room near the infinity pool. The food in the restaurant was average and overpriced although it is resort prices. Breakfast was great and had heaps of variety and freshly cooked food.The biggest concern was the super expensive bar drinks by the pool. We ordered a gin and tonic x 2 without looking at the menu. When we signed the bill at the end it came to $35US for 2 drinks! We questioned this and were told this is the price of gin! This is absolutely outrageous! So whilst we enjoyed our stay the drink prices were through the roof and did affect our stay.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank NatalieK6985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Ms NatalieK6985,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese village getaway,

Thank you for sharing your experience stay at the property.

We have noted several comments that need to improve for better service in the future.

The spa price is something that we actively promoted through special highlights which is discounted to attract more guest, but it might not be the same price at local spa in town.

With regards to drink price, I have checked with the menu, and we hardly found the price of US$ 35 for 2 gin. Instead, the price of drinks is only quarter price you mentioned, especially during happy hours. We apologize if there were miscommunication on the bill explanation.

Other than the above, we would like to express our sincere thanks for your stay at Kamandalu Ubud. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again to Ubud!

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were disappointed with our villa on arrival and immediately offered another larger one to accommodate us. It's a small resort, very family orientated with lots of children, but only one main restaurant where breakfast and supper is served (Indonesian) and one outside pool restaurant where we have taken the children for several suppers, (a fantastic menu for kids and adults although extremely slow but unbelievably friendly service)
We did the cooking course which was fantastic, they tailored it to suit us.
The menu of free cocktails and cookies for the exclusive pool villas is very limited, and the pressing is ironing only so not really much of a selling point!
This hotel is 10 minutes drive to ubud centre and there is a free shuttle to take you in and pick you up. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful here but I think this is the Bali way!

Room Tip: Although we felt it was a bit over priced and the villas were a little tired, we had fantastic servi...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PETA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Mr/s Peta D,

Thank you for sharing your stay in Kamandalu last July 2014. We would like to express our sincere apology for the first experience, which we immediately move to the other alternative rooms.

Thank you for complimenting the level of service from our team. Indeed some of the point need to be review such as deliver of food to the guest, due to high seasons period. In the other hand, thank you for joining the cooking class. Hope the experience is adding the memorable moments in Kamandalu Ubud

Once again, thank you very much for staying at Kamandalu Ubud

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Located about 10 minutes away by free shuttle to town.
Lobby is spacious with friendly staffs.
Garden villa has even an outdoor shower. Clean room with enough amenities . The bed is quite high.There is an outdoor pagola for sun bathing.
House keeping staff is very honest. Case in point is my wallet was left in the room and yet nothing is lost.
Breakfast is full with eastern and western varieties.the chef even went an extra effort to make gluten free bread roll for me.
Restaurant staffs are very friendly
High marks for satisfaction:price ratio
Highly recommended

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Happy258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Happy258,

Thank you very much for having your holiday at Kamandalu Ubud, in July at Garden Villa.

We are very happy to learn that you were satisfy in the experience at the property. Thank you for highlighting the honesty of our housekeeping team, as well as the extra effort from our chef to create gluten free bread. We will continue our service to maintain the satisfaction of each individual guest.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Kamandalu Ubud in the future

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location--near bustling Ubud but very remote and quiet property. Lots of amenities if you even want to leave your private courtyard, villa and pool. Daily breakfast buffet is beyond belief and will hold you over until dinner. Would return in a second

Room Tip: The two room villa with private pool was awesome.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jjtravel891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear JJtravel891,

Thank you for your time to share your experience at Kamandalu Ubud. It is an honor to have your stay with us in June, in one of our two bedroom pool villa.

Thank you for highlighting the location, which is near to the downtown, yet still tranquil for getaway holiday. As well as the food presentation during breakfast, which we are focusing on to ensure guest satisfaction

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Kamandalu Ubud

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#18 of 199 in Ubud
1,919 reviews
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.5 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamandalu Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamandalu Ubud

Address: Jl. Andong, Banjar Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#32 Family Hotel in Ubud
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#37 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £146 - £1,101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamandalu Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamandalu Ubud is a 5-star boutique resort and spa located conveniently in a serene area of Ubud, Bali, a place long famed for its rice terraces and Balinese traditional arts.The resort's compound of 58 luxurious villas is a resemblance of an enchanting Balinese village. Individually designed with thatched roof, each villa features a spacious bedroom complete with modern amenities and outdoor showers. For the ultimate in privacy, some villas have their own private swimming pools. The resort is beautifully nestled between the green rice paddies and the tropical valley, just a 10 minute drive from the center of Ubud with complimentary scheduled shuttle service to center of Ubud. The resort is an hour comfortable drive from Ngurah Rai international airport on well paved roads. Airport pick-ups and limousines services can be arranged by the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kamandalu Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamandalu Resort And Spa, Ubud, Bali Hotel Ubud
Kamandalu Resort Ubud
Kamandalu Hotel Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing