We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality private spaces!!”
Review of Kamandalu Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kamandalu Ubud
Ranked #40 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Beautiful low stress place to stay, perfect for a recharge
Extremely helpful and friendly staff and we shall be returning
Don't go there to party - go there to stay behind the wall and recharge !!
Loved to buildings clean and very private

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Paul L in Queensland,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese Village getaway,

Thank you very much for giving a comment of your stay at Kamandalu Ubud, as a place for relax and recharge.

Indeed the place is surrounding by natural which creating feeling of calm and relax, far from the hustle and bustle of party. Howevery, we do provide the shuttle service to Ubud town to catch the crowd to complete your holiday in Ubud as destination.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Kamandalu Ubud, your preferred home of relax and recharge in Ubud

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

So glad we chose to stay at the Kamandalu. We had a wonderful experience and couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. The grounds are stunning and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. It has an excellent location, being far enough outside of central Ubud to provide peace and tranquility, but is only a short 5-10 minute journey into the centre, with the resort running a regular free shuttle bus service.

The rooms are very impressive, and are kept immaculately. We stayed in a garden villa which was very spacious with a large 4 poster bed. There was also another 4 poster bed in the private garden area to relax on. I particularly liked the outdoor shower area. Our friends were upgraded to a Pool villa which was superb, with a fantastic view across the lush green valley.

The breakfast spread was excellent, and I highly recommend doing the cooking course that the resort offers. We were taken to the morning market, coffee plantation and rice paddies before being guided through cooking a 3 course meal back at the resort by the poolside, which was wonderful and delicious.

I also highly recommend partaking in one of the free yoga classes at the resort. If you're going to try yoga, then this is the perfect place to do it. We went to one of the morning sessions, and as the sunshine was burning off the morning mist, we watched the monkeys clambering the trees just outside the yoga hut, whilst we were being guided through the session. A truly magical experience.

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in and we would love to stay here again if we return to Bali. This exceptional resort really was one of the highlights of our trip, so if you are looking for somewhere special, then this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: If you are willing to spend a little more, then stay in one of the Private pool villas. Our friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Clarky8515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Mr Clarly8515 in UK,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, the enchanting Balinese Village getaway,

We really thrilled to read your detail comment of your special holiday in Kamandalu Ubud, back in July 2014! Thank you very much indeed for many recommendation you've made during your stay.

Particularly in our breakfast service, your favourite outdoor shower in Garden Villa, the unique location of Kamandalu which creating peaceful surrounding yet very close to reach Ubud town using our shuttle service.

Thank you for experiencing the cooking class with wet market. Also the Yoga class which also very unique and charming surrounding of jungle.

Last but not least, thank you for recommending our service from the heart deliver by our family here in Kamandalu Ubud

Look forward to welcoming you back to Kamandalu Ubud !

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

What a lovely place to stay. The grounds are immaculate and the staff are friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the facilities of the day spa and the yoga class was a highlight. We ended up having the instructor to ourself and practised yoga in Kamandalu's beautiful yoga house overlooking the jungle views.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Champagneandlaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Ms Champagneandlaughter from Brisbane,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, the enchanting Balinese Village getaway,

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience at Kamandalu Ubud. We appreciate your complement of our surrounding, ground and service from the heart of the staff here.

Particularly in Yoga and Spa, thank you very much for utilizing our private class of Yoga. We hope that every experience in Kamandalu Ubud will rejuvinate your body and soul.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Kamandalu Ubud

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Sadly we did not stay here, but did visit the spa for the day. Though expensive by central Ubud standards, it was a bargain by US. The hotel was located outside of town in a very tranquil setting. The spa was nothing short of fabulous. My husband and I had our own private suite of rooms for our 3 hour treatment, which even included an outdoor shower. The therapists were professional and we felt completely pampered the entire time we were there. Our only criticism would be the size of the bathtub. My husband is six feet tall, and when it was time for us to take our flower bath, the tub was just not large enough for the two of us to soak comfortably.
The spa offered free pick-up and drop off service, and on the way back to our hotel, as we were driving through a village, when we noticed ceremonies were taking place, the driver stopped several times, even going out of his way, and explained to us everything that was going on. It was an unexpected treat which allowed us even greater insight into the Balinese way of life.
Even if you are not staying here, definitely treat yourself to a visit to their spa. You will not be sorry.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank werhappy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Ms Werhappy2travel in New York,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, the enchanting Balinese village getaway,

It was very nice to read your excellence comment on our spa experience. We have notice that you and your husband taking 3 hours treatment at our spa and enjoy the moment of experience.

We will look into the feedback that you have with regards to the bath up size and we will see what we can do.

Thank you for complementing the additional experience of little tour back to the hotel, with the Balinese Ceremony. I hope you enjoy seeing the unique live of Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the future

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Spent our honeymoon trip at Kamandalu...we quickly realised that 3 nights are not enough as we did not want to leave. the resort is beautiful it has 3 swimming pools and the rice-terrace arrangement is enchanting. staff is overly kind,, which adds on to the sense of peace and relaxation the overall setting conveys. it is also very easy to get to Ubud from Kamandalu as the resort has its own shuttle buses running back and forth. Our villa with private pool and garden was simply stunning and when we arrived in the villa we found complimentary sweets and decorations for our honeymoon. Overall the staff and management were highly professional in how they run this beautiful resort. Very happy with it. I would highy recommend staying in this facility for visiting Ubud and will be ooking forward to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank clauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Mr Clauz from Rome - Italy,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese village getaway,

First of all, congratulation on your honeymoon trip to Kamandalu Ubud back in July 2014. We are thrilled to hear your satisfaction to our people, surrounding and facilities.

Thank you for staying at Private Pool Villa, and utilizing our facilities such as shuttle service to experience Ubud town to complete your holiday in Ubud as destination.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Kamandalu Ubud

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Kamandalu's architecture and hotel overall garden design are excellent.
Service is impecable, people are very friendy.
Masage and SPA treatment were the best, very professional massage. The only problem was with pool food it was very disappointing

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank EceEnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Mr EceEnder,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese village getaway,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Kamandalu Ubud in last August 2014.

We appreciate your compliments on garden and our architectural, which is following the concept of Balinese architectural. We sincerely appreciate your satisfaction of our people and the service.

Unfortunately we did not meet the expectation on food service in pool area. We will certainly have this as our lesson to improve for the future

Many thanks for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Kamandalu Ubud in the future

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a great time at Kamandalu. The place is so quiet and peaceful. It is a bit outside Ubud but it only takes 5-10 min by taxi or hotel car. We stayed at one of the pool villas and the villa, the view, the pool everything was really nice. Also the hotel staff was very helpful. The only thing missing was a gym - however there is jogging tracks in the rice fields just outside the hotel and you can rent bikes very cheap.

We were also having our wedding ceremony at Kamandalu, which the hotel had arranged for us - they did a wonderful job - it was so beautiful! A great experience we will always remember.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Martedal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamandalu, Residence Manager at Kamandalu Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Ms Martedal,

Warm greetings from Kamandalu Ubud, your enchanting Balinese village getaway,

First of all, congratulation on your wedding ceremony at Kamandalu Ubud!

We were thrilled to have an honor to arrange your wedding ceremony in July 2014. Thank you so much for choosing Kamandalu Ubud for your memorable event in your life. We did receive your photograph and thank you very much for sharing the moment with us.

We are pleased to inform you that we are in the middle of making the gym area for our guests! We will get back to you once the gym are is finish and look forward to welcoming you back with the family perhaps!

Blissfully yours,


The management and family of Kamandalu Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 199 in Ubud
1,086 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 199 in Ubud
1,942 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamandalu Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamandalu Ubud

Address: Jl. Andong, Banjar Nagi, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#32 Family Hotel in Ubud
#34 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#35 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £161 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamandalu Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamandalu Ubud is a 5-star boutique resort and spa located conveniently in a serene area of Ubud, Bali, a place long famed for its rice terraces and Balinese traditional arts. The resort's compound of 58 luxurious villas is a resemblance of an enchanting Balinese village. Individually designed with thatched roof, each villa features a spacious bedroom complete with modern amenities and outdoor showers. For the ultimate in privacy, some villas have their own private swimming pools. The resort is beautifully nestled between the green rice paddies and the tropical valley, just a 10 minute drive from the center of Ubud with complimentary scheduled shuttle service to center of Ubud. The resort is an hour comfortable drive from Ngurah Rai international airport on well paved roads. Airport pick-ups and limousines services can be arranged by the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kamandalu Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamandalu Resort And Spa, Ubud, Bali Hotel Ubud
Kamandalu Resort Ubud
Kamandalu Hotel Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing