We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, we checked out immediately”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Ranked #93 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Although we knew it wasn't going to be a 5 star hotel, we didn't expect a small wooden cabin with bugs crawling in the bed and flying around the room. The bathroom, was outside, which I know some people like, but the toilet was really dirty, in fact the entire place made me itch. The blanket looked like it hadn't been washed ever, there was barely enough room for me, my husband and our luggage in the room. The entire hotel was run down, with peeling paint, and mold everywhere. I don't understand all the great reviews about this "charming" hotel. I think there are some other rooms that must be better then what we got. But still, I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JRA222NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

What a great little hotel every thing about it was great. The location, staff and food were all great. Would definately recommend, we will be back. Stayed in the River view rooms, could not fault.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acepfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We were amazed by this hotel. The view is to die for and the staff very friendly. We walked into Ubud everyday, (a 25 minute scenic walk) which we really enjoyed. We got transport back 35,000 rupiah. The grounds are beautiful and the pool very clean. Swim up bar was really nice and staff very attentative. Pleasantly surprised to have American breakfast served to us at our table. We stayed in the old Trantra Suite, which was a little dated, but very comfortable, the bathroom was really nice and the furnishings very Bali. We loved the experience and we are taking our friends back with us in October (this time we have booked the emerald suites) to share the atmosphere. Lots of steps (because the hotel is on a hillside) but this only adds to the charm.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brumpys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We started our Bali holiday with 3 nights at Bali spirit hotel which was a good idea. Room 212 and 210 are redecorated and very clean and spacious. Both have a nice terrace and a open bathroom.
The gardens are lush and well maintained. At the pool there is enough shade to hide from the tropical sun, at this site however the main road is quite close and the traffic noise is apparent although not really annoying. If your room faces the main road, traffic could be troublesome, in our rooms it was very quiet.
The free shuttle service to downtown Ubud is a 10 minute drive and is running smoothly. Walking to Ubud just crossing the road and passing Monkey forrest is a nice 30 minute stroll to downtown Ubud.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oldenhaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The property at Bali Spirit is spread out over a lush hillside overlooking the river. Because of this there are a lot of stairs, but we didnt mind it. We liked how quiet and natural the property is. The room was very large and comfortable, other than that the bed was too firm. But this seems to be the case with most Asia hotels.

It is quite a walk to get to the center of town, but if you go through Monkey Forest the walk is at least scenic and mostly shaded. Because the hotel is farther from town than many others, this was one of the few peaceful pockets in Ubud.

The restaurant was decent and has a fantastic setting and service was pretty good throughout the hotel and restaurant. In all this was a good relaxing choice.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jdivemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Yes the rooms are large and nice enough (we stayed in a honeymoon suite). The pool looks good too. But I think there are so many down sides to this hotel:

* The hotel is tired and worn out. It is well past its heyday.
* You have to walk up and down stairs all the time to get any where.
* The hotel itself is a maze. It was very difficult to find our room, especially at night as there was very little lighting.
* The breakfast was abysmal. Horrible coffee and one slice of toast OR fruit. If you wanted both (or anything else) you had to pay extra.
* The staff seem unhappy and demotivated - probably because they are underpaid.
* The location is not good. You need to take a shuttle into town, which only runs at a few intervals during the day. On one occasion, the shuttle did not turn up at the specified time.
* Much too expensive for what it was.
* They charge you for internet access - at a very high rate.

Overall, I would not say this is a luxurious hotel. There are much better ones in Bali for your money. You just have to look for them.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We selected the Bali Spirt as recommended by a work friend. Not a budget hotel, but good value. The grounds are lovely, very green and there was 20 of the 27 rooms occupied when we were there, but found that you did not regularly bump into other guests. Rooms large with an outdoor bathroom, very nice. Our room 210 was surrounded by glass on two sides and you could enjoy laying on the bed and looking out the windows at the gardens. Rooms serviced everyday with fresh sheets and mosquito coils lit each night, that we saw any. Restaurant overlooks the river flowing past hotel. a nice pool. Hotel provides a courier service into Ubud, but can be walked. Only downsides were that drinks were expensive compared to everywhere else, quite a few steps which could be difficult for some and not an easy walking distance from main township. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#82 of 199 in Ubud
335 reviews
1.5 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#99 of 199 in Ubud
159 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni
KajaNe Yangloni
#79 of 199 in Ubud
258 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#58 of 199 in Ubud
667 reviews
9.5 mi away
Suarapura Resort & Spa
Suarapura Resort & Spa
#59 of 199 in Ubud
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#80 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £48 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil place to return to at day's end, where traditional Balinese architecture, rich in natural materials, in enhanced by the luxurious appointments and services expected of a fine hotel. 30 Private suites and villas, all with views, air-conditioning, fan, hot water garden showers, cotton sheets and towels, breezy terraces, and discreet service. Restaurant, bar, reception pavilions, massage and spa treatments, cultural programs and more. Now there is a unique facility in Bali to nurture the Self-a place to restore both body and soul. Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa brings together the traditional healing arts and ritual life of Bali in a serene, intimate setting of total comfort and top quality design. We are in close walking distance of Ubud-the island's cultural hub. Overlooking whitewater river and off-the-beaten-path, Bali Spirit feels more like a private estate than a hotel. Natural springs flow into a large swimming pool. And the Bali Spirit Spa provides a complete program of body massages, beauty treatments, and healing tools from traditional Balinese healers & Western practices. Come, feel the gentle touch of Bali Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Spirit Hotel Ubud
Bali Spirit Ubud
Bali Spirit Hotel And Spa Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing