We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Ranked #93 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were traveling as 2 couples and had booked the family villa with this resort as the other rooms were not available.

As we were traveling on motorbikes on our own, finding the hotel took abit of time but it was not too difficult. We were able to see other small parts of Bali while on our way to the hotel.

The hotel is located about 5 - 10 mins by shortcut and on a bike from Monkey forest. There is a nice river at the bottom of the small valley that the hotel was located. The river was abit dirty, but asides that it put a nice feel to the place. Opposite the river, there was some construction going on but it was not noisy. Information from the hotel was prompt and good. Hotel staff were very friendly and were always smiling.

The vila we had was beautiful and very cosy. Room service was quick and food was good and reasonable. Hot water ran out a bit on the second day but they were quick to fix.

Two points to take note is that, one, the main door and windows are full length glass and we were careful when we closed the door as the panels would shake even if we closed the door gently so if you are bringing kids do be weary of that. Two, if your kids love to run around the room and bounce on the bed, you may want to put them to bed first before you sleep as you can hear even the slightest movements from the bedroom downstairs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Bloodlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

Really trying hard to satisfy customers - rooms renovated up to good standard, hotel restaurant has exceptionally good and tasty food. Lovely forest and river setting. Easy transport shuttle to Ubud centre, well designed pool, nice landscaping.

Only minus for the price range - if you can't manage steps easily or for health this is not your place. But for the rest of us it's a great place.

Staff all show the best side of Bali - I recommended Management to openly follow the "Communal Tips Box" - as is practiced by some other smaller hotels in Bali - Sharing is the best communal way here. And remember the lovely smiles - so show your gratitude - ask for the Communal Box on your check out. Staff have been generous to us with their culture - let's show our appreciation.

Room Tip: Ask clearly in advance to ensure you get the quality you expect and pay for. My room was excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The pictures on the website looked nice enough, however, we arrived quite late in the evening and the duty manager decided to give us alterntive accomodate (1 or 2 categories lower than booked). The room had a four poster bed which had seen better days and a flurescent strip light.

When we complained via our agent, the manager took us to the room that we had originally booked. Much nicer, but not as the photos had suggested.

Feeling that we had been poorly treated, we booked elsewhere and left. It is possible that the other hotle ammenities may have been better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinoPetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Lovely setting, attention to detail, great venue, yummy breakfast, attentive staff, would definitely return. Shuttle service was useful. Thoroughly enjoyed our time there!

Room Tip: All rooms are in a tranquil setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

What a nice way to start ones holiday on bali!
A very warm welcome with helpful staff, refreshing towel and cool drink with Balinees music in the background. This hotel is just georgeous! The fact that it has been built against the slope of a riverbank (actualy, it's more of a creek), adds to its attractiveness. But the beautifull and tasteful gardens and ornaments are a treat as well.
The room was lovely. Big, tastefully decorated and with a very nice view over the river valley.
The pool is really pretty as well as is the restaurant with its views. Food is good, too.
The location just out of Ubud is a big bonus. Ubud is very busy and therefore noisy. This hotel feels like paradise after visiting Ubud. Although the hotel offers a shuttle service which we used a couple of times, we also walked to town a few times. It's about half an hours walk to Ubud's main junction which is more or less the town centre.
Rooms prices are perhaps a bit on high side, but I still think it's worth it. Anyway, at the end of our holiday we returned here to spend the last few days. We liked it that much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renevdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

On arrival to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised with a room upgrade, as it was my partners birthday. The hotel itself was beautifully located in the forest and we had a gorgeous view from our balcony to the stream below.

There is a hotel being constructed across the river, which detracts from the view of the forest, but was luckily hidden from sight from our room, but undoubtedly not from others.

We had dinner and cocktails at the hotel our first night and were the only ones at the restaurant, which we later realized was to good reason; the food was pretty average to say the least. Cocktails took a long time to arrive.

It was easy to get transport from the hotel into the centre of Ubud, however it was a bit of a walk if you went by foot.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back, provided we had the same room.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosylosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband and I were delighted with our entire five day stay here. From the lobby to the grounds to the restaurant (good breakfasts---included), pool and helpful staff, everything was a cut above.

The hotel is a bit out of town but it runs a free shuttle to and from the hotel several times a day. Although the hotel could probably stand to add a couple more daily runs, it was fine for our purposes. Do buy a ticket to the Legong dance at the palace from one of the many ticket sellers when you get off the shuttle in town; it's wonderful.

Two things to note: I got an infected toe from a pedi I scheduled with the very sweet mani-pedi staff (Indonesian sanitary standards are nothing like American) so I wouldn't recommend a mani-pedi, and (we found out upon departure) that we got a more reliable (no stopping at "my friend's coffee plantation") and somewhat less expensive car and driver if you book through the hotel rather than contract with one of the many "taxi drivers" (men on the streets with a vehicle willing to drive you anywhere for slightly inflated prices).

We'd go back to the Bali Spirit anytime and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Emerald 108 is a bigger than average and quiet room. Don't worry: the hotel staff turns off th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJS-Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 197 in Ubud
1,090 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#62 of 197 in Ubud
675 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#83 of 197 in Ubud
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 197 in Ubud
368 reviews
9.5 mi away
Suarapura Resort & Spa
Suarapura Resort & Spa
#65 of 197 in Ubud
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#80 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £43 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil place to return to at day's end, where traditional Balinese architecture, rich in natural materials, in enhanced by the luxurious appointments and services expected of a fine hotel. 30 Private suites and villas, all with views, air-conditioning, fan, hot water garden showers, cotton sheets and towels, breezy terraces, and discreet service. Restaurant, bar, reception pavilions, massage and spa treatments, cultural programs and more. Now there is a unique facility in Bali to nurture the Self-a place to restore both body and soul. Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa brings together the traditional healing arts and ritual life of Bali in a serene, intimate setting of total comfort and top quality design. We are in close walking distance of Ubud-the island's cultural hub. Overlooking whitewater river and off-the-beaten-path, Bali Spirit feels more like a private estate than a hotel. Natural springs flow into a large swimming pool. And the Bali Spirit Spa provides a complete program of body massages, beauty treatments, and healing tools from traditional Balinese healers & Western practices. Come, feel the gentle touch of Bali Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Spirit Hotel Ubud
Bali Spirit Ubud
Bali Spirit Hotel And Spa Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing