We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jenny from New Zealand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Ranked #81 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Wanaka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Jenny from New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed here for four nights at the end of August 2012 , a beautiful setting, lush tropical gardens , a lovely retreat a wee bit out of town , but if you want a bit of peace and quiet this is the place to be , A regular shuttle runs from the hotel to the town centre.Our room was perfect, with its own private balcony, room service was excellent with really friendly staff.One thing to bear in mind if you are not very fit there are lots of steps to the accomadation .Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    156
    42
    16
    12
See reviews for
104
198
22
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at the Bali Spirit recently and chose it because it was reasonably priced in the travel agent's brochure. When we got there we knew we were on to a winner :-)

The staff are amazing - nothing is too much trouble and they are so friendly. The hotel is 5-10 mins from Ubud so it's lovely and quiet, and they have a free shuttle service that runs in to town 3-4 times a day.

The pool area is amazing, lovely clean clear water and a swim up bar.

The restaurant is situated next to a gorgeous river, and the food is wonderful and really reasonably priced.

Our room was great, nice little balcony and the room had a DVD player in it which was great.
We will definately stay here again :-)

Room Tip: Choose a room near the lobby or on the ground floor if you can......the stairs were very draining! l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KalgoorlieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our short stay in Ubud upon the recommendation of a friend, and I would highly recommend it to all wanting a relaxing, clean and comfortable place to stay in Ubud. It was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and attention to detail for such a reasonably priced hotel (US$80/night). It is situated on the outskirts of town so you really do need a motorbike/scooter to get around on, but the hotel can organise this for you and it is only 5 minutes to town, overlooking a beautiful deep gorge and river rapids. Highly recommend staying in one of the Suites - we stayed in the Aga Suite 3 and it was beautiful, complete with a separate outdoor garden and bathroom with hot water and lovely amenities. Beds were comfy and rooms air conditioned. We would love to stay here again - it was clean, well-maintained and had beautiful gardens and a large pool with swim-up bar. Excellent friendly service. Restaurant is excellent too. Hotel staff and management were very accommodating, including arranging a personal driver for us for a day's sightseeing outside of Ubud. Perfect place to stay for a romantic getaway, and also has excellent family suites. The Spa is very basic, but the staff was incredible and I had the best ever Balinese head massage - bliss!

Room Tip: Aga Suites are beautiful and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller2481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

had 3 nights recently on a quick business trip, lovely gardens/ pool / restaurant areas, bedrooms lacking in charm and ambience .. the suite i had did not have windows that opened , therefore you had to use a/c regardless . i love having a window open, the fan gently whirring , and the magical fragrances wafting through the windows ... so much nicer than a box that has only a/c..
the staff are lovely as are the surrounds , i feel that little more attention to detail in the bedrooms
would help

Room Tip: check out the balconies first to see how private they are ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blenddesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were traveling as 2 couples and had booked the family villa with this resort as the other rooms were not available.

As we were traveling on motorbikes on our own, finding the hotel took abit of time but it was not too difficult. We were able to see other small parts of Bali while on our way to the hotel.

The hotel is located about 5 - 10 mins by shortcut and on a bike from Monkey forest. There is a nice river at the bottom of the small valley that the hotel was located. The river was abit dirty, but asides that it put a nice feel to the place. Opposite the river, there was some construction going on but it was not noisy. Information from the hotel was prompt and good. Hotel staff were very friendly and were always smiling.

The vila we had was beautiful and very cosy. Room service was quick and food was good and reasonable. Hot water ran out a bit on the second day but they were quick to fix.

Two points to take note is that, one, the main door and windows are full length glass and we were careful when we closed the door as the panels would shake even if we closed the door gently so if you are bringing kids do be weary of that. Two, if your kids love to run around the room and bounce on the bed, you may want to put them to bed first before you sleep as you can hear even the slightest movements from the bedroom downstairs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Bloodlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Really trying hard to satisfy customers - rooms renovated up to good standard, hotel restaurant has exceptionally good and tasty food. Lovely forest and river setting. Easy transport shuttle to Ubud centre, well designed pool, nice landscaping.

Only minus for the price range - if you can't manage steps easily or for health this is not your place. But for the rest of us it's a great place.

Staff all show the best side of Bali - I recommended Management to openly follow the "Communal Tips Box" - as is practiced by some other smaller hotels in Bali - Sharing is the best communal way here. And remember the lovely smiles - so show your gratitude - ask for the Communal Box on your check out. Staff have been generous to us with their culture - let's show our appreciation.

Room Tip: Ask clearly in advance to ensure you get the quality you expect and pay for. My room was excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

The pictures on the website looked nice enough, however, we arrived quite late in the evening and the duty manager decided to give us alterntive accomodate (1 or 2 categories lower than booked). The room had a four poster bed which had seen better days and a flurescent strip light.

When we complained via our agent, the manager took us to the room that we had originally booked. Much nicer, but not as the photos had suggested.

Feeling that we had been poorly treated, we booked elsewhere and left. It is possible that the other hotle ammenities may have been better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinoPetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#52 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#72 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#58 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
3.5 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa

Property: Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#69 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil place to return to at day's end, where traditional Balinese architecture, rich in natural materials, in enhanced by the luxurious appointments and services expected of a fine hotel. 30 Private suites and villas, all with views, air-conditioning, fan, hot water garden showers, cotton sheets and towels, breezy terraces, and discreet service. Restaurant, bar, reception pavilions, massage and spa treatments, cultural programs and more. Now there is a unique facility in Bali to nurture the Self-a place to restore both body and soul. Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa brings together the traditional healing arts and ritual life of Bali in a serene, intimate setting of total comfort and top quality design. We are in close walking distance of Ubud-the island's cultural hub. Overlooking whitewater river and off-the-beaten-path, Bali Spirit feels more like a private estate than a hotel. Natural springs flow into a large swimming pool. And the Bali Spirit Spa provides a complete program of body massages, beauty treatments, and healing tools from traditional Balinese healers & Western practices. Come, feel the gentle touch of Bali Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Spirit Hotel Ubud
Bali Spirit Ubud
Bali Spirit Hotel And Spa Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing