We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Ranked #93 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Bali Spirit is tucked in off the main streets and noise of central Ubud. It sits high on the hilltop and overlooks a fast moving river(and the occasional nude bather). The steps to the coffee shop and breakfast area are many but a nice stroll through the gardens.

We stayed in the Rama Site rooms 8&9. This is a suite set up that consists of 2 very large rooms and an adjoining outdoor living area. This has been recently refurbished to a very good standard. The hotel in general is clean and well kept.

Room Tip: Our suite set up was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oilmanlkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

I just stayed here for 4 nights in a river villa, loved it, and am already planning my next trip back. Bali spirit truly is a feast for the senses, it's a luscious paradise tucked into a steep hillside leading down to a river, which to our surprise was very well used by the locals for fishing, naked bathing and toileting (if you are prudish or easily offended this may not suit). The grounds are amazing, filled with tropical plants and mossy statues. As the terrain is so steep there are many steps to negotiate, so absolutely not suitable for those with walking difficulties or anyone unfit. The staff are beautiful, friendly and accommodating, particularly our driver Agung.The food was excellent with a good mix of balinese and western style dishes, I'd recommend the spanish omelette for breakfast and the fish fillet in banana leaves with Balinese spices. The spa treatments are more expensive than out of hotel, but you pay for the convenience. A few people have mentioned the geckos, some are quite big and they can be noisy, but they are harmless and have a certain charm, remember you are in the middle of the tropics in ubud, be prepared for lots of wildlife, insect repellent is your friend! The whole experience was very rustic and real and so pleasurable, and for the price incredible value. Don't come here expecting luxury, but if you have a sense of adventure and an open heart, you will love it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onedaylikethis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We had 2 great nights at the Bali Spirit.
The hotel is laid out on a hilly riverside location, we had a river villa on two floors which was clean, huge and wonderful complete with outside shower room and loo!
For nature lovers this is a great place, its far removed from 5 star "posh" hotels but has a charm and laid back feel that i have not had anywhere else.
No good for people who cannot get up steps easily.
Great Pool.
Lovely Food.
Excellent Staff.
Amazing cheap prices.
TIP - Get a full body massage at the spa - Wonderful and done by trained staff, $22 for an hour - Top Quality and very cheap.
We will definitely return!

Room Tip: If you can do Steps get a river villa and sleep with nature!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mta1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

If you want to rest and relax on your trip to Bali, Ubud is the place. There are many hotels providing rest and relax environment in Ubud area, and our choice fell to this hotel.
The atmosphere is what we expected: quiet, surrounded by lush green tropical "forest" and sounds of trickling water.

The room itself is clean, though it looked old, it has a balcony with two chairs and a table where you can sit and read outside the room or just relaxing and enjoying open air.
Shower room is also clean, but the wall is not built to the top, so there is a possibility that some small "intruders" may enter. In our case, there was a big gecko invited itself to stay at the back of our bathroom door :-). We phoned a hotel staff to remove it outside, though, so that we may shower in peace :p. When it is raining, it is advisable to close all doors/windows, because there may be many more intruders (certain flying insects, for example) join you in the bed room.

Bali spirit has a pickup and drop off service to Ubud center area about 5 times a day. However, it is a good experience to walk by foot alongside the Monkey Forest. It is not that far to Ubud center, maybe only about 2-3 km.
We only stay for two nights, but it is a very nice stay. Thank you, Bali Spirit :-).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westernville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

As a family seeking more authentic experiences in quieter accommodation, we were delighted with our experience at the Bali Spirit. As arranged, a driver met us at Denpasar airport. We were pleased to be back off the road and the traffic noise. The shuttle bus made trips into town easy Our 2 storey river villa was not brand new but gave us great views of the river and pool. The king bedtime was incredibly comfortable! In true Balinese style, the staff aimed only to please. When an extremely noise gecko took up residence in the main bedroom and disturbed our sleep night after night, we were offered a delightful room upgrade to solve our wildlife challenge. We travelled with two teenage girls who loved the hotline, especially the pool. We would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Beware the stairs! if you have mobility issues, stay in the rooms closer to the reception and order...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Perfect for a quiet, relaxing holiday with excellent service. Beautiful gardens with many statues. Emerald room huge and well equipped - sitting room, king size bed, tea/coffee making area, in-room safe, new bathroom. Pleasant swimming pool, good restaurant. Some steps to negotiate between reception and all rooms. Cheap laundry service. Situated outside Ubud but free shuttle into Ubud and back. Only downside: no other restaurants or bars within walking distance. All the staff were very helpful and provided outstanding service. A clean hotel too!

Room Tip: .Emerald room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Upon arrival service was fantastic. The staff explained how everything at the hotel and in the room worked and offered us a cold drink. The porter showed us to our room which wouldn't be recommended for anyone who has difficulties with stairs. There were so many stairs to climb to get around the hotel and down to the pool. We didn't use the pool area but it looked fantastic and everything was very clean. Room service and eating in the restaurant was very expensive, as were drinks so best to avoid eating at the hotel. Room was around $90AU per night for 3 people including breakfast which was really good value however the breakfast options were very limited and food was not that great. The hotel offered a shuttle service complimentary as it was a fair way away from the main strip and too far to walk. Probably wouldn't stay here again due to location but if you are looking for a good quiet get away then this would be the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#82 of 199 in Ubud
335 reviews
1.5 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#99 of 199 in Ubud
159 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni
KajaNe Yangloni
#75 of 199 in Ubud
258 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#58 of 199 in Ubud
666 reviews
9.5 mi away
Suarapura Resort & Spa
Suarapura Resort & Spa
#60 of 199 in Ubud
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#80 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £49 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil place to return to at day's end, where traditional Balinese architecture, rich in natural materials, in enhanced by the luxurious appointments and services expected of a fine hotel. 30 Private suites and villas, all with views, air-conditioning, fan, hot water garden showers, cotton sheets and towels, breezy terraces, and discreet service. Restaurant, bar, reception pavilions, massage and spa treatments, cultural programs and more. Now there is a unique facility in Bali to nurture the Self-a place to restore both body and soul. Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa brings together the traditional healing arts and ritual life of Bali in a serene, intimate setting of total comfort and top quality design. We are in close walking distance of Ubud-the island's cultural hub. Overlooking whitewater river and off-the-beaten-path, Bali Spirit feels more like a private estate than a hotel. Natural springs flow into a large swimming pool. And the Bali Spirit Spa provides a complete program of body massages, beauty treatments, and healing tools from traditional Balinese healers & Western practices. Come, feel the gentle touch of Bali Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Spirit Hotel Ubud
Bali Spirit Ubud
Bali Spirit Hotel And Spa Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing