We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for able bodied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Ranked #91 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here and found it to be well run by very pleasant staff. The pool is lovely has a bar. The rooms are well equipped and spacious and have room service at no extra cost. Breakfast was served to your table and cooked to order - very tasty. The only draw back to the hotel is the number of steps as it is built on a hillside. That however means there is a lovely river at the bottom and the sound of running water. The hotel is outside the centre but walkable alongside the monkey forest. The hotel shuttle is free so location is not an issue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoneleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel is set in well maintained tropical grounds with lots of fountains and water features, all built into a terraced hillside which slopes down towards the jungle and a stream below. The pool location is gorgeous and was always deserted by 6:30pm. I had an evening swim to cool off everyday and always had the pool to myself. The staff were all friendly & helpful. The rooms were always kept clean, and staff came and turned on an electric mosquito repeller at 5pm every night. (Not that there were that many mosquitos anyway!)

There were lots of stairs but worth it for the lovely views. This hotel is not suitable for wheeelchairs or people with poor mobility.

Room Tip: I stayed in an Emerald suite on the upper floor - this was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Lovely hotel built down the side of a cliff with the river below. We were unfortunate to be overbooked on the first night but the management and staff did all, successfully, to sort the problem out. We, 2 adults and 3 children, stayed higher up the cliffside in 2 rooms for 1 night, magnificent rooms, and moved to a river view villa after that. The villa's are obviously older but still very good. All the rooms, the lush tropical gardens and the pool are all well maintained and clean.
I recommend the short walk from the hotel to the monkey temple. The road is one of the loveliest streetscapes in Bali.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TassiePat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel is very well maintained and clean - great room for a reasonable price. Service was great. Gorgeous jungle views from rooms, pool area, restaurant, etc. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk through the Sacred Monkey Forrest to the main part of town. The hotel also offers a free shuttle bus back and forth at various times of the day.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We needed this hotel for a complete rest and it was perfect. Having arrived at 1am it was only as we opened the curtains that we saw the beautiful position the hotel was set in. Lush well kept tropical gardens (but as on side of a hill not suitable to those with problems climbing steps) . The hotels rooms where in blocks of four the top two with small balcony the bottom two with patios. All buildings were built in Bali style..and very elegant. If you want modern glass and steel this is not for you. Beautiful wooden patio doors and heavy wooden furniture...I kept thinking Poirot would walk in! The bathroom needed updating but was clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. As the hotel is small the restaurant was also small but set by the river and so peaceful ..only the sound of water and birds. Breakfast was served to you at the elegant tables. Yes Poirot would approve! The d'waroeng restaurant just to the right of the hotel entrance should be tried... don't be put off by the look of the place. At the back is a small seating area. The owner is a cook who uses her grans recipes and the food is good..and much cheaper than hotel food. We would return to the Bali Spirit. They run a free shuttle to Ubud. Perfect for a relaxing trouble free holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edwina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our second stay at this Hotel, we have tried both river villas. It is a great hotel for the price, the location is excellent not far out of Ubud, the staff attentive and the pool area is large. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony watching the river surrounded by lash gardens and jungle. The American breakfast was okay and the location of the restaurant was perfect surrounded by greenery and close to the river. It was a very relaxing stay and we will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acepfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Bali spirit is, as the name suggests, a hotel with a real feel of Bali. Beautiful terraced gardens wind their way between the living areas, restaurant and pool down to the river whose sounds you can hear all night. We stayed in the rama and Sita Presidents suite this time, as the river villas we stayed at last time were booked. It is an enormous area of 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a huge outdoor gazebo and balcony where I could work while listening to the children paly in the pool below. This hotel is not perfect, the showers need better heads and the flow was poor, and ceiling fans would have been a great addition, it won't suit those who want a brand name hotel experience, but if you want to feel like you have travelled to somewhere special, then this is the spot for you. For a couple the Legong suites are beautiful with comfortable verandahs overlooking the river but if you want an obscene amount of space for a reasonable price, do the president's suite. 10-15 minutes walk into the main street or $5 in a car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
0.8 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#72 of 199 in Ubud
325 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#90 of 199 in Ubud
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#57 of 199 in Ubud
651 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#50 of 199 in Ubud
384 reviews
9.0 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#37 of 199 in Ubud
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#77 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £47 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil place to return to at day's end, where traditional Balinese architecture, rich in natural materials, in enhanced by the luxurious appointments and services expected of a fine hotel. 30 Private suites and villas, all with views, air-conditioning, fan, hot water garden showers, cotton sheets and towels, breezy terraces, and discreet service. Restaurant, bar, reception pavilions, massage and spa treatments, cultural programs and more. Now there is a unique facility in Bali to nurture the Self-a place to restore both body and soul. Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa brings together the traditional healing arts and ritual life of Bali in a serene, intimate setting of total comfort and top quality design. We are in close walking distance of Ubud-the island's cultural hub. Overlooking whitewater river and off-the-beaten-path, Bali Spirit feels more like a private estate than a hotel. Natural springs flow into a large swimming pool. And the Bali Spirit Spa provides a complete program of body massages, beauty treatments, and healing tools from traditional Balinese healers & Western practices. Come, feel the gentle touch of Bali Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Spirit Hotel Ubud
Bali Spirit Ubud
Bali Spirit Hotel And Spa Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing