We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICEST EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Ranked #86 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Santander, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NICEST EVER”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

a good value for money hotel, really special landscape by the river. any luxury at all, any way its facilities makes you feel good. It is budget option if you want to discover with out wasting a big amount.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    158
    42
    16
    12
See reviews for
105
201
22
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, PA, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I won't stay anywhere else in Bali! This was my third stay at Bali Spirit. This boutique gem of a hotel is a Five Star cultural experience at a fabulous price. If you want a western chain hotel, go elsewhere. If you want to wake up with the sound of birds and monkeys, beautifully appointed rooms and grounds with traditional Balinese art, in a quiet oasis away from crowded hot Ubud, this is your place. You are centrally located for day trips to all the major sites in Bali. It is much cooler here than staying in Ubud or at the beach, and you have a pool for afternoon sun and relaxation.

The hotel is built into the hill overlooking a river where local village children play and mothers do their laundry. Each room has a lovely terrace or balcony, and you can sip your coffee while working on your laptop. The pool is just lovely. The rooms are well appointed in Balinese style art and furniture, and the bathrooms are gorgeous Balinese style bathrooms with a privacy wall but open to the outside air.

This hotel is the perfect combination of nature + culture at a great price. If you choose to spend $500 USD a night at the Maya Ubud that is super. The linens will probably be nicer than the good quality linens at the Bali Spirit - but the staff cannot possibly be nicer. The breakfast food and menu choices may be broader - but the experience could not be as broadening as staying in this hotel built into the hills above Nyuh Kuning Village and the river below.

I have stayed here as a solo female business traveler and also on a girls' trip with a girlfriend. On this trip, I brought my 84 year old Mum-in-law. She is very spry and active, but the hotel manager upgraded us to the amazing 2 story Tantra Suite so that my Mum-in-law would not have so many steps to walk to the restaurant and pool.

So to recap:

If you are a family with kids and want lots of other kids around, this might not be the place. However, several families were there, with the kids playing cards and reading (gasp) rather than running around screaming. If I had toddlers / small children, this would not be a relaxing place due to the steep steps and potential for falls.

If money is no object and you prefer 5 star everything at a 5 star price, maybe spend a little more money. If on the other hand you want a 5 star cultural experience in a Balinese boutique hotel, with wonderful staff and helpful concierge, stay here. I will not stay anywhere else. I live in the USA and my only regret is the time it takes to fly to this part of the world. Thanks again to Bali Spirt staff!! Sincerely, Amy C

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and have nice porches (ground floor) or balcony (2nd floor). Choose the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyCHershey_PA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights in 2 different rooms and loved them both. As soon as you enter the hotel you leave all the noise and hubbub behind to enter this wonderfully tranquil and romantic little oasis that feels like you're far off in a jungle refuge. The hotel is setup in cleverly designed series of tiers with lots of foliage, art and privacy. The restaurant, bar and pools are conveniently situated at the bottom and all are nice.I thought the food was very good although certainly not the cheapest in town. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and comfortable with tastefully appointed local art and furnishings. The only disappointment was the spa facility which felt oddly out of place and not of the same standard. The spa staff were terrific, just not the facility itself. We enjoyed walking to town through the Monkey Forest each day and exploring the nooks and crannies in the neighborhood surrounding the hotel. I would definitely return to this hotel in future visits to Ubud.

Room Tip: I think most rooms are probably pretty quiet, clean and comfortable. You can find wonderful rooms vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalec02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Bali spirit hotel is a charming and quiet place in Ubud, where the main area can be quiet noisy and crowded. Its a kind of place you want to return to after having spent some time in a crowded market area.
Rooms are good sized and well kept, providing the necessary privacy to everyone. The restaurant, by the river side, is in a very good location for having meals. But as it is at the lowest point of the hotel, it could be quite a steep climb for someone with a back condition.

The staff is very helpful and regular shuttle service to the main market from the hotel is very helpful. The promised wifi in all locations was a disappointment though- one had to come to the lobby to get a good signal and then too, it would function very slow.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prabhat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice gardens, very nice staff, but food very hit and miss. Bar was never open, nor was the pool. Just boring really... No view from emerald, lots of Mosquitos and not much for kids to do. Unfortunate because a friend recommended, I must have had a bad experience.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammymg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in the River villa for 10 days. An experience of the essence of the place, tucked away on the river Wos this hotel is only for people who really want to experience a real aspect of real Bali; if you want western style in Bali probably not for you.
The river from the balcony offers a range of changing scenes from people bathing and washing, children swimming and playing to uninterrupted vistas of the flowing river and sounds of water birds, frogs and if you’re lucky maybe monkeys.
We had two monkeys, numerous frogs visit us, bats fly through the coconut palms near the balcony, and a resident Tokay that ensued we had a special time. We discovered that the Tokay, a large and colourful gecko, is plentiful in Bali and throughout Southeast Asia, you hear them much more often than you see them. They make the most fantastically unlizard-like sound and they are very good luck, ours kept us company at night living in the ceiling, busying itself during the night.
The gardens and grounds at Bali Spirit are beautiful and very serene, great pool, fine restaurant with many other great food spots nearby. The shuttle service runs a few times during the day and is very inexpensive if you want to use it in your own time. Staff are caring and generous spirited, always ready to help.
My only minor criticism would be the massage, expensive compared to others around the area.
We will definitely stay again in Bali Spirit, the spirit of Bali. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The Ubud city as it self is a place were to stay during vacation to Bali. The Ubud city and the region around is real Bali. I loved the most stay in Ubud city, the people abd atmosfere.

The hotel is perfect, very good location- just 7min walk from Monkey forest. 15 min walk from center of Ubud.

The staff is very nice and helpfull. Pool and view amazing.

We stayed in suite- it is a bungalo type house just for two, with private garden & terace. Nice.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
0.6 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#57 of 198 in Ubud
895 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#90 of 198 in Ubud
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#53 of 198 in Ubud
624 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 198 in Ubud
459 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa

Property: Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#73 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil place to return to at day's end, where traditional Balinese architecture, rich in natural materials, in enhanced by the luxurious appointments and services expected of a fine hotel. 30 Private suites and villas, all with views, air-conditioning, fan, hot water garden showers, cotton sheets and towels, breezy terraces, and discreet service. Restaurant, bar, reception pavilions, massage and spa treatments, cultural programs and more. Now there is a unique facility in Bali to nurture the Self-a place to restore both body and soul. Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa brings together the traditional healing arts and ritual life of Bali in a serene, intimate setting of total comfort and top quality design. We are in close walking distance of Ubud-the island's cultural hub. Overlooking whitewater river and off-the-beaten-path, Bali Spirit feels more like a private estate than a hotel. Natural springs flow into a large swimming pool. And the Bali Spirit Spa provides a complete program of body massages, beauty treatments, and healing tools from traditional Balinese healers & Western practices. Come, feel the gentle touch of Bali Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Spirit Hotel Ubud
Bali Spirit Ubud
Bali Spirit Hotel And Spa Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing